Chevron Left
Voltar para Global Financial Markets and Instruments

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Global Financial Markets and Instruments da instituição Universidade Rice

4.6
estrelas
1,735 classificações
343 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Get a running start in the high-stakes world of financial investment! This first course is designed to help you become an informed investor by providing you with the essential concepts for long-term success in managing money. You’ll start by learning the role of financial markets and financial assets in a well-functioning economy. From there, you’ll learn about the wide range of financial instruments available in major asset classes, their features and valuations. You’ll explore how financial markets actually operate in the real world, focusing on how and where securities are traded and how various market types differ from one another in practice. You will also learn the basics of algorithmic trading, dark pools, buying on margin and short selling. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: • List and distinguish the different financial instruments available to an investor • Compare global financial markets • Explain the features of equity, debt, and derivative instruments • Define traditional and alternative asset classes • Discuss different trading venues and mechanics of securities trading • Discuss the current trends affecting today’s financial markets This course is designed to be accessible for students of all knowledge levels and gives you the actionable foundation needed to manage money in a post-crisis world. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction & Review of Elementary Finance Tools This module introduces the Investment and Portfolio Management Specialization, which is made up of four courses. This module discusses how the first course, Global Financial Markets and Assets, is organized. It outlines the different stages of the investment management process, which guides the focus of the Specialization. It also reviews basic finance concepts and tools such as time value of money, computing returns, discounting and compounding. Topics covered include: • Familiarize with the organization of the class • Meet the professor and your peers • Explain the investment management process • Review elementary concepts in finance • Compute present value or future value of a single cash flow • Compute present value of future value of a stream of cash flows • Define an annuity or perpetuity • Apply time value of money tools to solve basic mortgage, loan or retirement problems ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Financial system & financial assets: fixed income securities In this and the next two modules, we cover the key institutional features of financial markets and instruments. We ask the following questions: Why do financial markets exist? What role do they play? What are financial assets and how are they different than real assets? How does it all come together? Basically, this is where I hope you will get to see the big picture of the entire financial system and how it comes together. Module 2 focuses on fixed income securities. We'll get started with a review of basics of bond valuation. You will learn about short-term money market instruments, U.S. Treasury securities as well as corporate bonds. After module 2, you will be able to describe fixed income securities, be familiar with their institutional features, and identify their cash flows. Finally, you will learn how to value fixed income securities such as Treasury bills, zero-coupon or coupon-bonds and compute yields. Topics covered include: • Explain the roles of financial markets • Distinguish between real and financial assets • Define and explain money market instruments, zero-coupon and coupon- bonds and features • Identify the cash flows associated with fixed-income securities • Define and explain bond market features • List the different types of Treasury securities and explain pricing and quoting conventions • List and define other long-term debt instruments such as corporate bonds, mortgage-backed securities, sovereign debt • Find the value of a zero-coupon or coupon-bonds ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Financial system & financial assets: equity securities and derivatives In Module 3, we continue our overview of financial markets and instruments. We next focus on two other major asset classes: equity securities and derivative instruments. You will learn about how equity differs from fixed income securities, the cash flows associated with stock and preferred stock and how to find the value of a share. You will also learn about option strategies. After completing module 3, you will be able to describe all major asset classes, including derivative instruments such as options, forwards and futures. You will be able to explain how these differ from each other and their payoffs. Topics covered include: • Distinguish between equities and fixed income securities • Define and explain the features of equity securities • Identify the cash flows associated with equity securities • Explain dividend discount model • Find the value of a share of common stock or preferred stock • Define and list different types of derivative securities • Explain option payoffs • Distinguish between a forward and futures contract • Explain forward and futures payoffs • Identify traditional and alternative asset classes ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Organization of financial markets and securities trading In this module, we discuss how financial markets actually work. We will talk about different trading venues and the mechanics of securities trading. I will emphasize a lot of terminology and the latest trends in securities trading to familiarize you with the institutional workings of financial markets. After this module, you will be able to compare different trading venues, trading mechanisms, and be able to explain different types of orders, including transactions like margin buying and short- selling; you will be familiar with the language and terminology you need in order to become an informed practitioner of investments. Topics covered include • Explain the roles of corporations, households, government, and financial intermediaries in the financial system • Explain price discovery process • Define different type of orders • Distinguish between dealer vs. auction markets; different trading platforms • Explain margin buying and short-selling transactions • Understand the current trading environment such as algorithmic or high frequency trading, dark pools etc....

Melhores avaliações

AI
17 de Jun de 2020

Global Financial Markets and Instruments is a MUST. Excellent instruction! I truly appreciate the opportunity to receive this course from such a prestigious University - Rice University.

FA
14 de Jan de 2018

Good and succinct introduction to financial markets and instruments. Clear valuation formulas and intuitive explanation of treatment of cash-flows to define future and present values.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 341 Avaliações para o Global Financial Markets and Instruments

por Fabrizzio D Q d F

29 de Mai de 2019

I would like to rate 5 stars but the math is a problem, some people has no time to learn math formulas and spend so much time calculating things, maybe some alternatives like excel would fix that issue.

Thank you, for this beaultiful course <3

por Esteban J R

18 de Jul de 2018

The teaching staff should pay more attention to discussion forums. They appear to be abandoned.

por Roy M S

1 de Mar de 2019

Good for a refresher course for me

por Marta L

25 de Mar de 2018

Good basics with not overwhelming details, yet giving an understanding of major mathematical mechanism connected with financial instruments. I was missing a more structured content and path and the mistakes in some excercises/practice quizes or their answers were disturbing - it should not be the case

por Mike T C

23 de Abr de 2018

Practice quizzes a little difficult relative to the materials and examples presented

por Michael H

19 de Mai de 2020

Honestly, there is a lot wrong with this course. The professors glass over a host of very important explanations that are needed to understand the basics of the formulas they are trying to teach. A lot of the time they will fill the formula in and just say "so when you solve for that" which leaves a lot of people at a loss for how to actually solve the formula. The tests are poorly worded and put together, many times the questions will say "state your answer as a percentage rate" and when stated as a percentage rate the answer is wrong because "what you submitted is not a number". I am a person with very little financial background looking to expand my financial knowledge and I have struggled to persist with this course because time and time again a basic formula is taught in the lessons and on the test other more complicated formulae are needed to obtain the right answer.

In summary, the tests are poorly worded and often include material more advanced than what is being taught in the lessons themselves, the professors don't seem like they know what they are talking about, merely reading off of an auto-cue telling them what to say. The professors skip a lot of material needed to understand what they are talking about and what is being asked on the exams. In order to complete this course you will need to spend a lot more time utilizing resources from other parts of the internet to gain an understanding about the financial instruments and how to calculate them.

DO NOT SPEND MONEY ON THIS COURSE. I ended up paying for the course only because I have A LOT of time on my hands and did not manage to cancel my subscription before the free trial ended. From such a prestigious university such a Rice it is disappointing to see the amount of half-assed effort gone into this course.

At the end of the day, this course will give you a better understanding of the financial world than you had previously and if you stick with it, it is quite educational. However be prepared to do a lot of figuring sh*t out yourself.

por Shannon S

25 de Ago de 2018

Cancelled... Lecture videos did not give nearly enough info or examples to be properly set up to understand quiz questions and pass. Lecture videos gave A, when quizzes and tests want A, B, and C.

por Johnny R

9 de Dez de 2020

A week in and there have already been several mistakes in the lectures. Very uninspiring.

por TAPAN S

13 de Ago de 2017

This is an excellent course. Dr Arzu O is one of the best instructors. She designed the course in a very thoughtful manner. Her explanation style is very accurate and simple. I am an active investor in equity market, but don't have strong financial base. I have taken this course to learn more about financial markets and the course content very well satisfied my expectation. Practice Quiz and Examples helped me to understand the course content in a better way and encouraged me to read more through some online material. Taking online course in Coursera also was a very positive experience. I have got mroe than what I expected from this course. 5/5 from Me.

-Tapan Shah

por Mohd. F M

29 de Abr de 2020

An immensely informative 4 - 5-week crash course into the world of Financial Markets and Instruments. Kudos to Professor Arzu for keeping it engaging, providing real-world examples and for the overall course design. This course has some algebra thrown in (one has solve for 'x' multiple times) and gets the participant to really work on solving questions in the practice quizzes and graded assessments. If you are new to the world of Financial Markets and investing and want to dive in - this is your start!

por Daniel A

28 de Mai de 2017

Very good overview with basic quantitative methods and analysis. Good for beginners. Although many of the methods are calculated automatically in brokers like Schwab, they are still useful in brushing up quantitative skills. The theory and more humanities oriented side of the course is also informative. I did retail forex trading and was familiar with many terms, but I was also introduced to new processes that I was unaware of. Overall the course was very good and worth a look.

por Kumar A

28 de Out de 2017

Truly amazing... comprehensive and exhaustive study material with unparalleled teaching expertise of Prof. Arzu. I am really thankful to the creators of this course and to the Rice university as well for bringing quality education at our door steps. At last I would say this is really helpful for those looking to make a career in Investment banking because for me I'll be pursuing CFA by feb of 2018 thus this course will go a long way.

por Unal K

4 de Fev de 2021

Impressive Professor Arzu Ozoguz (*****), one of the best I have seen in the online courses that I have taken. She is engaging, knowledgable, clear communicator with impressive use of visuals . The course is also very well structured and gives a great grounding to start understanding the ever complicated world of finance. Looking forward to next lectures from Rice University and Professor Arzu Ozoguz

por John P C

2 de Fev de 2020

I appreciate Dr. O for her enthusiasm and for being bubbly in her instructions. Her insights and teaching style makes a difficult course like this ( in terms of heaviness of concepts ) feel so bearable. Her warmth and passion in her teaching can really be felt even on this video. Thanks for sharing your wisdom. I now feel more confident compare to myself before undergoing this course.

por Sushant D

6 de Fev de 2021

Great course which covers the Basics of all the Financial Instruments and also with practical examples. Displays the roles of Market Players in the Financial Market with new trends in Securities Trading and also good to understand the Trading and Investment mechanism with emphasis on Margin Transactions. Overall a great course to get knowledge and certification.

por Andrea B

25 de Jul de 2018

Very nice introduction, I advice the new student to make some extra research to understand better the topic. And I advice the admin of the course to take out the quiz in the middle of the video, for me where difficult to follow the lesson with them. As an overall I would advice it, because make me understand better the financial market.

por Aditya G

22 de Mar de 2017

Very well conducted course that helped me answer a lot of my own questions. Like why do bond prices fall when yield increases. Or what do they mean by having a long call position.

Would recommend this course to anyone seriously interested in understanding how the components of a modern portfolio works. Thank you! for this course.

por Ryan B

4 de Dez de 2016

I have no background in this subject but am highly motivated to learn. Dr. O was super informative and provided links to additional resources on complicated/controversial material. I have learned a lot, and I am very thankful! If you are interested in learning this subject, I strongly recmomend this course

por Susan H

28 de Jan de 2018

It's a useful introductory course to financial markets. The many examples, supplementary reading materials and forum discussions are very helpful to understand the topics at a deeper or more extensive level. Thank you Dr. O and the teaching staff who help to answer the many questions in the forum:)

por Подлипалин Р Ю

4 de Mar de 2021

This is my third investment oriented course. And the best of all the courses I've taken. The Professor explained all I need to immediate action on the market. No other sources needed. I thank Dr.Arzu Ozoguz for her excellent course and do recommend it to all interested in the subject of investing!

por Kristofer P

2 de Fev de 2017

Great overview of financial markets and tools. There is some basic investment math in the first part of the class that can become tedious but is good to at least see in action. The more complex investment topics are only defined and summarized, which was exactly what I was looking for.

por Tariq k

13 de Jul de 2017

I have already achieved an accomplishment through Coursera, and after being enrolled in this course i have switched to new sessions for a nunber of times. Coursera provides flexible and diverging means of obtaining certificates from highly recognised institutes, internationally.

por JOSE M Q V

13 de Ago de 2018

Un muy buen curso, cubre aspectos basicos sobre el mundo de las finanzas y las inversiones. Pero es un inicio muy recomendado para cualquier persona interesada en estos temas y que no tenga una educacion formal directa en la materia.

por Fannie G B

13 de Fev de 2017

Excellent!

Completely practical and objective, this course provides the mathematical basis for obtaining the data necessary to implement a financial plan or strategy. Understanding the numbers, nothing is clearer and more convincing.

por Prasham

22 de Out de 2020

It was a very knowledgeable experience with this course and I'd like to recommend to everyone out there who want to learn about investment instruments. This was a basic and beginners knowledge to investment and financing. Cheers!