Chevron Left
Voltar para The Global Financial Crisis

The Global Financial Crisis, Yale University

4.8
1,161 classificações
258 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Melhores avaliações

por TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

por JC

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent course on the GFC, I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to learn more about the crisis. The instructors were very good and took a complex subject and made it very understandable.

Filtrar por:

250 avaliações

por Fahad Sperinck

Dec 10, 2018

Just completed this course in a 2-week whirlwind. The structure is very conducive to watching a couple of hours to finish half a week in one sitting, or also (if you prefer) more bite-sized portions of learning.

Andrew Metrick and Tim Geithner are highly knowledgeable and engaging teachers with a lightness of touch that conceals a masterful grasp of their subject. They use apt analogies to break down what are, in some cases, quite complex financial constructions to make them comprehensible to a lay audience (while my education was in the sciences, I consider myself a novice in economics and finance - though perhaps not any more). I found myself looking up the occasional phrase or acronym but almost every specialist term was fully defined in the lectures.

One of the highlights of the course was having a direct insight from someone who was, not just there on the ground in '07-'09, but in many ways the conductor of the US response to the crisis. Having Secretary Geithner as a lecturer initially sold me on this course, and I was not disappointed. There is a messiness to the GFC that can be overwhelming in some of the deep dives, as you might expect with such a complex historical event, but in the final lectures he brings it together with some simple (and reassuring) rules about how a government might proceed in the future, in the knowledge that crises do occur and cannot be predicted. Geithner has the bearing of a financial Confucian; quiet and thoughtful, yet exacting; emphasising fiscal and financial prudence for governments and bank-like institutions, while showing compassion and concern for those citizens that bore the brunt of the crisis. I hope and expect that some of these important teachings are enshrined and elevated to the high status that they deserve.

por Amn Satija

Nov 04, 2018

i think it was a great course

por fernando carrillo

Nov 01, 2018

Great course!

por David Voyles

Oct 14, 2018

Professors are great speakers, well informed on the subject matter. The videos are broken into smaller chunks and the slides align well, which makes it easier to complete the exams. Overall, very pleased and learned quite a bit. The multiple choice questions seem to be the most difficult, as you really need to hunt for the answers within the video content.

por R L RAMA KRISHNA

Oct 08, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed being part of this course. The information and insights provided through this course into the Global Financial Crisis, has been invaluable.

por prakash kumar

Sep 19, 2018

Admire

por Steven Yearwood

Sep 07, 2018

This course covers in depth topics regarding The Global Financial Crisis of 2008-2009. The collapse of the global financial system led to a severe downtown of global economies. This course helps to understand the several key reasons as to what caused the crisis. From over-leverage in the investment banks to currency devaluation within the Euro, this course has an excellent presentation in covering these events.

por Karen Ingraham

Sep 01, 2018

This is a very interesting course with a very informative professor and instructor. I just received “The Stress Test” in the mail, but have not started reading it.

por Rashi Kedia Agrawal

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

por Simon Fan

Aug 12, 2018

Instructors have prepared and organized course materials in a way that even learners with little knowledge in the field are able to follow. Please do spend time on the recommended readings that help paint a fuller picture of the 2008 financial crisis.