Chevron Left
Voltar para Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.7
estrelas
3,966 classificações

Sobre o curso

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Melhores avaliações

TR

1 de mai de 2020

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

MS

31 de out de 2019

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

Filtrar por:

1101 — 1125 de 1,156 Avaliações para o Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

por Francis M M

6 de jul de 2020

I believe it is too easy to pass. There were some "peers" who I reviewed who have no right to pass this course as their answers show that they have no idea what they are talking about. I wish the course was crafted better in the sense that I really have to earn the certificate. I am an actual diplomat so to me this was a bit disappointing.

If interested, I can help craft a better course than this. I'm happy to get a Certificate but I don't think I really learned or earned anything.

por Paulina H

29 de mai de 2020

The course is a good introduction and has spike in me further interest in the topics explored here. I will be taking its sister course on diplomacy and the UN. I would give it 4 stars but there was no attempt at gender balancing the speakers. I got tired of the opinions of white, British/Anglo-American males. Only 2 female speakers out of 12! Unacceptable. The readings were rather good, especially that by Harry Rudin.

por Leonardo d R R

24 de fev de 2021

Very good material and lectures but its more like a first approach. Reflections on qualities diplomats must have...I seemed a bit flat. I feel it could have gone more in depth, and explored what are the more practical aspects like how many regions and languages they nowadays need to master and also new trends in Diplomacy, like diplomats no mot analysing and shaping policies but more like running programmes.

por Weill S

7 de jun de 2017

Interesting reading materials and relevant interventions of professionals. I also appreciated the fact that we had to grade and be graded by other students in a "diplomatic" way. Nonetheless, the programme was a little too general to be really demanding and challenging I think, and I would have appreciated more actual reading materials and/or references from the presetn time in the videos.

por Gustavo Q T C

4 de abr de 2021

There is a good discussion over this course about diplomacy, it's characteristics and outcomes, but as all activities are evaluated by peers, and are based on personal opinions or perspectives, this course doesn't add much to someone interested in this subject. It's a way to discuss diplomacy in the contemporary world, but not to learn something new about it.

por Luca N

30 de nov de 2020

Interesting course, that offers the possibility to broaden the general knowledge of what is diplomacy. It offers a few topics of discussion and gives tips to think a bit more in depth about the topic. It do not see it as a career-changing course, as it does not really provide new skills, but it surely offers food for thoughts.

por Patricia R

7 de mai de 2021

The first 4 weeks of the course were great and very interesting. Unfortunately I couldn’t access the materials for week 5. The article for the UN said ‘page not found’ and the reading said you needed log in details. I was also unable to read my peer feedback for my final assignment.

por Michael O

13 de ago de 2020

The course is ok. The tasks are very easy and basic, the videos are informative enough. The first few readings seem pretty unrelated, but they get better and towards the end become more interesting and informative. You can complete the whole thing in a couple of days no problem.

por Mazigh B

24 de jun de 2016

Interesting online course as introduction with brief concepts and definitions on diplomacy, its role, influence and interaction in the modern world. Recommend others to attend this online course to gain required intro knowledge on diplomacy.

por Karen N S

16 de set de 2020

Good course that provides the basics of what diplomacy is. I suppose I was expecting something more advanced which obviously would be an advanced degree course. Nervetheless, a good start to understanding diplomacy.

por Johan d W

9 de ago de 2016

I would love to see this interesting lightweight introduction grow into a solid university level course with more reading, weekly added content, tests, academic discussions and a proactive moderator at the forum.

por Duke O

15 de jul de 2017

Very limited points and questions are being explored. However it makes use of very knowledgable people, and allows for different points of perspectives in order to formulate your own idea of what diplomacy is.

por Mirna M R A

12 de jun de 2020

It is a basic course for those who want a general idea on diplomacy, the information wasn't up to date, and there wasn't a lot of feedback in the debate area. It had low participation, at least in my cycle.

por Nathan D

6 de mai de 2020

Quite an interesting course. Some of the readings I couldn't access, and videos lacked depth in terms of subject, Overall was enjoyable and recommend for those interesting in international affairs.

por Sabina S L

15 de mai de 2020

Fruitful materials for reference, yet the structure of whole course relies on bite-size interviews of scholars, which might seem lack of systematic teaching throughout the whole subject.

por Yasmine O

9 de fev de 2021

This MOOC touches only lightly on Diplomacy. While its title states that it'll be addressing "the modern world", many requested readings are actually from the 20th century.

por Nathalie Z

3 de mar de 2021

The course was very instructive. I appreciated the readings and videos very much. The course could benefit from more videos further explaining the various readings.

por ibrahim A T

19 de nov de 2016

It is alright but several people take advantage of the lax review criteria to submit one letter reviews. Better grading system would be good. Material is all fine.

por Eva B

30 de dez de 2017

great introduction to the world of diplomacy, the videos are a bit repetitive unfortunately. But still worth my time as I started knowing nothing formal at all.

por Torawane N

4 de jul de 2021

Its overall is good course you have to one of them diplomacy in action how they happened how they negotiate n solve the problem in videos

por Zhe L

21 de mar de 2017

Yeah, this course is REALLY different from other MOOCs. I wonder if I can learn anything from a course that contains such little content.

por shakthi d s

20 de abr de 2017

More timely and relevant text material would have greatly helped in broadening our understanding. Basic and easy for beginners to grasp.

por Ranita M

18 de out de 2020

Good to know how many academics and professions think about diplomacy but very few concrete concepts and examples given by lecturers

por MABP

18 de jun de 2021

The course is easy to understand. However, it lacks practical application and just focused on concept explanation as tasks.

por Razieh M N

8 de abr de 2020

In comparison with other courses that I have passed, this course was inferior from the material and discussion perspective.