Chevron Left
Voltar para Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.7
estrelas
966 classificações
331 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course offers a well-researched and broad-ranging primer to the United Nations system. Consisting of an introduction to the complex UN family and its history, and a series of ‘snapshots’ of key UN functions, which are used to explore important UN themes and help learners develop important analysis, communication, and policy-based skills. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about the United Nations system, assuming a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge, whilst also offering offering sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives that it will also be of interest to people with more expertise or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss UN affairs, and potentially lay the groundwork for greater engagement in future – either in civil society or in further study....

Melhores avaliações

RR
29 de Jul de 2020

Really enjoyed the course. Some of the recommended reading was no longer accessible and the material was not up to date to 2020. However, it gave a good introduction to the UN and the issues involved.

AF
6 de Dez de 2018

It was very interesting to get to know better about the UN structure and concepts, and it helped me a lot to get my first opportunity in an UN mission! Starting a new career. Thank you so much.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 327 Avaliações para o Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

por Muhammad S D

6 de Set de 2019

Great

por Abdullah S

4 de Ago de 2020

Good

por Jean d S S

6 de Jan de 2021

Top

por Elzbieta K

15 de Jan de 2021

The resources provided on the course are very helpful, albeit outdated by a few years. Would have been great to see more recent articles, although the course does create a really good foundation of what the UN is, especially if you have little prior knowledge of it. The peer-graded system could be improved - the level of engagement is really varied across the course candidates. Overall, how much you will get out of the course is highly dependent on the individual's commitment to the course. As long as you stay committed you will learn plenty, as did I. Thank you!

por Branislav T T

25 de Dez de 2019

This course provides all necessary material and methods for gaining moderate level knowledge on the UN. The thing i especially like is diverse references and literature offered and peer-review process of the tasks. The thing i recommend for improvement is more different methods of learning to be involved, like quizes with peers, some interactive games etc. Also, i recommend to develop advanced online course on UN and partnering agencies for us who successfully finished this basic one. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

por Jose B

21 de Set de 2020

Very informative and good reflections. Two things to improve: Some of the videos and articles were no longer available on the link provided, perhapos needs to be updated. On the last Week there was a video of a pannel about the future of the UN whrre there were all 4 pannelists men, and all the people who put a question from the public were men as well. No a single women took the floor in 1 hour long video. These kind of old fasion presentations should be replaced by more diverse pannesls

por Alina K

21 de Dez de 2020

It's a great course with a lot of interactions between students (which is definitely an advantage). Another one is a possibility to hear many different opinions on stated topics. But I would notice also some flaws. Some of the given links need to be checked (they are inactive). Also it would be nice to add some more recent pieces of reading. Thank you very much for this opportunity to study with you!

por P S N S

30 de Mai de 2020

The course was well designed and incorporates a well structured journey of the UN evolution to what it is in its present day scenario. Enables the users to think critically and draft their opinions objectively through assignments. Gives a wide knowledge about the UN's role in upholding human rights, managing crises, role of Security Council, relevance of the UN and a way forward. Highly recommended.

por Joshua E

29 de Jun de 2019

Great course, my only qualms are that it is a few years outdated on some geopolitical issues, several readings are unavailable or behind a subscription, and the emergency section for week 6 I didn't feel had the right assigned readings. I nonetheless gained a lot from the course and learned about differing perspectives on how the UN works and should be fixed.

por Rishikesh P

27 de Jan de 2018

Good course for those who are interested about the working of the UN and its future. Its duties in the maintaining peace in the world along with help people against human rights violations, hunger, poverty, illiteracy and global warming.

A Course for those who want to gain some knowledge for future education in Diplomacy or International Relations.

por Ana M R C

6 de Set de 2017

I can assure that after accomplishing this course I have more knowledge regarding the way United Nations work. The reason why it was created and I got to know the UN principles. In addition I got more knowledgeable about the current situation of the world in general and get to watch some videos of experts envolved with this matter subjects.

por Emily U

16 de Fev de 2020

The course was an awesome way to better understand the origins, components, achievements, and critiques of the U.N. This was especially helpful as a former and possibly again future employee of the U.N. My only issue was that a lot of the links for the readings were dead, I hope they update those links for future students!

por Fernando J B

4 de Out de 2020

This is a great introduction to the UN. Some of the links for readings are outdated. The course is nice, you end it with a general overview of the UN and will have the opportunity to create your own opinion about the organization. This is a short course so do not expect to go beyond the very basics of the UN system.

por Brian M

27 de Fev de 2021

Es un gran curso, los expositores tienen un dominio claro de la materia y los materiales son de gran ayuda para profundizar en las materias, sin embargo considero que abonaría mucho a la retroalimentación del curso adicional a los ensayos integrar cuestionarios aleatorios para robustecer el conocimiento adquirido.

por SORAIA D M F

7 de Set de 2020

This course is perfect for those who want to know what is happening nowadays at the UN and also understand how it works. Moreover, it gives you a clear view of the constant role that is having in our lives. Besides that, the opinions given by representatives who worked there and professors were an excellent input.

por Belen L C

4 de Fev de 2021

I really like the course. One of the things I like the most of the course was the different speakers, their opinions towards the different questions posted was really useful and interesting.

My overall feedback of the course is very positive; I found it very usefull, enriching and interesting.

Thank you!

por ben n

24 de Mai de 2020

It is an excellent course if you want to become a policy analyst like myself for your career. This course helps to you to have a better understanding regarding the principle of the United Nations such as their policy in humanitarian, international laws, NGO, UN agencies, and UN security council.

por Marwahadil16

8 de Jun de 2020

SUCH AN AMAZING AND USEFUL COURSE. I HAVE LEARNED LOTS OF INFORMATION WHICH I DISCOVERED IT FOR THE FIRST TIME. THANK YOU SO MUCH ABOUT THIS CHANCE OF LEARNING DURING COURSERA PROGRAM WHICH OF COURSE WILL HELP ME TO GO AHEAD ON MY CAREER PATH.

BEST REGARDS

MARWAH ADIL

IRAQ COUNTRY

por Juliana

22 de Mar de 2019

Creo que el curso está muy bien pero le faltarían algunas precisiones importantes y mayores explicaciones sobre la estructura de las Naciones Unidas (tanto en su funcionamiento en NY como en Viena y en Ginebra) para ser más completo.

por Pierre-Olivier S

17 de Set de 2017

Very interesting maerials and perspectiveto analyze history, present and future being of the UN. I would have let more time for subject matter experts to expose their viewson each topic, but overall, good and intesting content.

por Meghana

20 de Mai de 2020

i loved the course. the suggested readings were very interesting and helpful. although i wish there were more of those 'talking sessions' as i really liked hearing the opinions of those very intelligent and scholarly people.

por María A D L G V

24 de Jul de 2020

I've learned a lot! But have some suggestions: FIrst, it would be great if the videos would last a little bit longer. Second, someone needs to fix all the broken links on each week's session. Thanks for the information!

por Enos W

21 de Out de 2018

The course was helpful. It expanded my understanding of United Nations in the context of global diplomacy while also highlighting the challenges it faces and and in them, the opportunities for reforms.

por Raul C

13 de Fev de 2021

This course is very comprehensive and it is useful not only for Sociology professors like myself, but also for anyone who wants to know more about the history of the United Nations and its roles.

por Edward C

7 de Nov de 2019

I very much enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. I thought the mixture of different media (videos, readings, etc) was good and the level of work required was well-judged. Thanks.