Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of GIS

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of GIS da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
stars
2,980 classificações
827 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Melhores avaliações

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

KF

Dec 22, 2018

Well developed course, everything leads you up to a final assignment that helps test what you've learned and gives you a great general idea of some of the cool things you can do with ArcGIS.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of GIS

por Pasquale C

Mar 09, 2016

Excellent modules, excellent teaching, excellent moderation and responsiveness from the tutor. I was not expecting this quality. Really good!

por Daniel T

Sep 01, 2019

I found this course an amazing one. Start with zero knowledge about the topic and end with an important foundation in it and practice hours.

por jin c

Nov 15, 2018

Easy to learn and follow. Fun to learn all the different tools you can use to geoprocess all kinds of interesting information to build maps.

por Aditya S

Jan 04, 2018

Very well structured course for Beginners at GIS. This is a perfect start and a perfect spring board for other more advanced courses in GIS

por Enzo F

Dec 23, 2016

Nick Santos is an excellent teacher. He provides concise and clear concepts and helps to develop skills on our own, with a correct guidance

por Eliav A

Sep 20, 2019

Before taking this course I never had any knowledge about GIS and this course tought me alot, very intresting, well explained. I recommend

por Kylie M

Jul 04, 2018

Great Course, Relatively easy to understand and follow. I love the way the labs are structured. I plan to continue with the other courses.

por Apoorva K

Feb 14, 2018

I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN INTERESTED IN GIS AND COURSERA PROVIDED A GREAT PLATFORM TO MAKE IT MORE INTERESTING AND LETTING ME GAIN PROFICIENCY...

por Camilo C

Oct 24, 2016

Very good course to start with ArcGIS basics and to understand a bit about the basic theory aspects under Geographic Information Systems.

por mnavidad

Jan 30, 2017

I really enyoed this course, Nick Santos is a great professor, the work was challenging and yet relatively easy to learn, given that the

por Mbolatiana R

Aug 03, 2016

Thank you to keep me committed to GIS. I started four weeks ago from scratch but now I feel confident with GIS and want to learn more.

por Wesley B

Mar 04, 2018

Great introduction to GIS. Exactly what I was looking for, including some hands on experience that helped me realize how little I know.

por Birhane W R

Nov 14, 2017

It is a wonderful course. As a beginner in the field I am satisfied with the level of knowledge I got through this introduction course.

por Kara F

Oct 17, 2017

Useful course explaining the basics of GIS data and how to perform simple geoprocessing and cartography tasks using ArcGIS for Desktop.

por Shehzeb A

May 06, 2018

It included detailed easy to understand instructions a lot of good practice material and an active link to the GIS-Coursera community.

por Lina Z

Jan 10, 2018

Well organized, manageable course. I had lots of fun learning about GIS and making maps! I'm now considering doing the specialization!

por Jamie S

Sep 10, 2018

Great intro to GIS with well structured instruction, demos and practice assignments of foundational concepts. Nick does a great job!

por Marta S

Dec 17, 2016

An excellent course, well crafted lessons and videos. Challenging assignments, great tutorials and resources. I highly recommend it.

por Mushtaq M

Aug 13, 2018

This course really helps me understanding the basic GIS functionalities. This course is designed to teach GIS as easily as possible.

por Mohammad M I

Aug 10, 2018

This course really helps me understanding the basic GIS functionalities. This course is designed to teach GIS as easily as possible.

por Veronica A S

Jun 19, 2018

Amazing course! It requires a lot of reading and practice, but it is easy to feel like learning, it is very complete and fulfilling.

por OBBY N L

Jan 18, 2018

This Fundamental course is well structured for new learners to GIS and l therefore recommend it to everyone that wants to learn GIS.

por Eduardo D

Dec 12, 2017

Great course, perfect as a first contact with GIS. Very practical covering the basic theory around GIS as well. Definitely worth it.

por Harish S

Dec 05, 2016

Fantastic course! Require a lot more effort to complete the course than what Coursera estimates, but extremely rewarding in the end!

por David C

Jul 15, 2019

Very organized course. Material is logically and succinctly presented in manner that supports the completion of the final project.