Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of GIS

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of GIS da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
stars
2,980 classificações
827 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Melhores avaliações

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

KF

Dec 22, 2018

Well developed course, everything leads you up to a final assignment that helps test what you've learned and gives you a great general idea of some of the cool things you can do with ArcGIS.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of GIS

por Trishna D

Aug 08, 2016

I am familiar with GIS, but am completely self taught. This course taught me many little tricks and ways to make the workflow much more efficient. Loved learning about the spatial join and was able to use it immediately in my own work.

por ruby

Oct 02, 2019

This course is really useful to learn the basics in interpreting maps, also, the tools are given, the resources and the way the classes are taught are incredible that you are looking forward to continuing learning even more about GIS.

por Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por Muntaha M

Nov 17, 2018

This course is awesome, prior to joining this course I had no idea what GIS actually is. Thanks to Sir Nick Santos for illustrating every thing meaningfully. Learners interested in learning GIS must take this course as a kick starter.

por Abubakr A

Jan 22, 2018

The course was very good and exciting, it is cover all the basic of GIS software and produce an introduction to GIS analysis.

I recommended everyone who want to learn GIS to enroll to the course and enjoy the efficient learning way.

por James F W

Oct 05, 2018

Great overview of basics of GIS. Took it as a refresher after a time away from the program. Found it helpful in getting rapidly back upto speed. Very competent instructor and good environment for interacting with fellow students.

por Mehran K

Jul 06, 2018

As a fundamental course it was great! you learn many tiny tools which are really helpful and more importantly, Nick is awesome! He teaches very carefully and basic. Thank you Nick I did all your Specialization and I learnt a lot.

por Magdalena A P

Jun 07, 2017

This is a very comprehensive introductory course suitable for learning about GIS, how to create and layout maps, as well as share them online. The coursework is user friendly and the lectures are interesting and easy to follow.

por Jose B

May 29, 2019

Overall this course provided an excellent introduction to the topic and enables the learner to begin using the most prevalent GIS software tool effectively at a basic level. Looking forward to the next course in the sequence.

por Alejandro J O

May 23, 2017

Gran curso, permite introducirse al mundo de plataformas GIS sin tener conocimiento alguno. Además, entrega las herramientas técnicas para utilización de nivel básico del software ArcGIS el cual es estándar en la industrial.

por Mathew M

Apr 04, 2017

This was a very informative and streamlined intro to GIS.

I could see the pace being too much for someone totally unfamiliar with GIS, but it's also going to touch on all the basics you should expect from some longer courses.

por Bojan C

Mar 06, 2016

This is extraordinary Course for all of us seeking GIS training. It is clear, understandable even for foreigners with limited knowledge of English. I like exercises which are well developed and lead us through the software.

por Nick L

Apr 06, 2016

Good background course and introduction to using ARCMap. Would have been nice to have materials to follow along with the lectures, but the assignments provided a second follow along at doing what was done in the lectures.

por Mohamed M G

Nov 30, 2016

Wonderfull course, the course is well structured, Course materials were helpful and the assignments were very practical and reflecting real life scenarios. Special thanks to instructor Nick Santos and coursera team.

Gees

por Mykola S

Sep 26, 2016

Great course! Very nice intro into GIS. Everything explained very thoroughly with visual examples and practical exercises. Many thanks to Nick Santos and University of California, Davis for creating this specialization.

por Tuyambaze N

Oct 10, 2018

Great way to get started in GIS. Shows you the fundamentals of the different uses, terminology, and options that you have with ArcGIS. I highly recommend to anyone that is interested or wants to pursue a career in GIS.

por Adan C

Aug 20, 2018

Great way to get started in GIS. Shows you the fundamentals of the different uses, terminology, and options that you have with ArcGIS. I highly recommend to anyone that is interested or wants to pursue a career in GIS.

por Sylvia G

Mar 14, 2017

Very good introduction to arcGIS! I would have liked to have had a short overview about using some of the open source tools, such as QGIS. Overall great teaching, my first time actually completing one of these courses!

por Hojung J

Jun 07, 2018

Nick was a great teacher, and as a beginner in GIS his course was challenging but manageable. He made sure we had all the resources needed to learn, and that there was always places to find for more help and exercise.

por Wanqing P

Feb 14, 2019

It is a marvellous course, definitely needs to be known by everyone who is interested in DataSciences and Cartography/Geography/Oceangraphy. It was a very worthwhile learning experience that opened a new door for me.

por mohammed a m

Feb 26, 2019

I recommend this thorough course to anyone who's interested in GIS, the course is constructed flawlessly in a way that ensures guiding you through each and every step towards building a solid ground on GIS learning.

por Billy G R

Dec 03, 2019

This the best course on GIS online. The learning experience encouraged to know more about the subject. It has motivated me to complete further specialization. I would like to thank Nick for such a wonderful course.

por Oksana T

May 15, 2019

Although I have taken GIS courses in college, I always felt like my knowledge was not complete.. Fundamentals of GIS helped me bridge some of my knowledge together. I look forward to completing this specialization.

por Tiffany V

Dec 27, 2018

This was my first Coursera course, and I was very pleased with the format and how I was able to adjust my deadlines as needed. I learned a lot about ArcMap, and I'm eager to continue on to get my certification.

por Deepthy S N

Mar 23, 2016

This is my First course with Coursera and I was really happy with the output. The lectures were well explained and broken into suitable bits so that it doesnt overload you. Looking forward to next week lectures.