Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of GIS

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of GIS da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
estrelas
3,581 classificações
1,057 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Melhores avaliações

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JA

May 04, 2020

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho, aprendí demasiado sobre las cosas básicas y el profesor es muy bueno !! Super recomendado si no saben nada de GIS y están empezando a comprender las herramientas

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of GIS

por Esther M

Jan 19, 2017

It would be helpful if the instructor didn't talk with his hands. The lectures and materials are well done. There are a few typos here and there. Good course.

por Adoum D D

Apr 13, 2019

Le cours est parfait, bien explique même les étudiants qui parle pas l'anglais peuvent apprendre facilement. j'ai hâte de continuer a suivre les autres modules.

por James H

Nov 29, 2016

This was an outstanding base of knowledge that I have already recommended to many coworkers to explore so they are able increase their base of knowledge in GIS.

por Arian K

Jun 10, 2018

I really like this course and coursera at all because this website helps me to improve myself. Thank you very much that you approved my financial aid request!

por Qingya W

Aug 08, 2019

The professor taught this course in a very intuitive way. And this lesson really gives us an overall understanding of GIS and the basic operations in ArcGIS.

por Todor K

Oct 18, 2018

Great Course! I am filling very empowered with a lot of very useful knowledge and I am ready to go full ahead toward the next course from the specialization!

por Vipin S

Jun 20, 2016

i did not completed this course on time because of slow internet speed in my locality. I will be obliged if they give me more time to complete this course.

por Shana

May 28, 2020

Great teacher. The only way you can learn this stuff is by doing the work, so don't take the class unless you are prepared to do the optional assignments.

por Nicholas W

Jun 18, 2019

A great introduction to GIS. This was a completely new are area of study for me and the clear layout of course materials and guidance were a great help.

por Mateo A P

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente introducción a la interfaz y funciones básicas de ArcGIS, con este curso se aprenden los lineamientos para crear mapas básicos, muy interesante.

por Nolawi T

May 01, 2020

Gives a fundamental step by step introduction to GIS. I really liked how the content built on top of the other. I really enjoyed the assignments as well.

por Shane W

Dec 04, 2019

Learned a lot quickly. I have a degree in GIS, but that was over 10 years ago, this course got me back up to speed and I hope to continue learning more.

por Dimas M I

May 08, 2020

I learned a lot from this course. The explanation from Nick Santos is very nice. And I can get a free license for ArcGIS for 1 year. Thankyou very much

por Monika M

Jul 06, 2019

Amazing course, I am doing a PhD in GIS and this basically covers all the major themes and concept, while providing knowledge in practice. Great course!

por M.Bashir K

Jul 27, 2017

With 0 experience in GIS/ArcGIS, I started this course, and after completing the course, I already feel like a GIS expert :D Thanks to the organizers :)

por Charlie M

Feb 03, 2017

Great intro for anyone with absolutely no previous introduction to GIS, or even vague familiarity with the subject but little to no hands-on experience.

por SHAMSUL A R

May 06, 2020

This course if great. It gives me the concept of GIS. I did pass a good fruitful time during this journey. Thanks to the instructors for their support.

por Ritu S

May 30, 2020

This is an excellent course. I have learned a lot from this course. Nick Santos is a great instructor. Thanks coursera for providing this opportunity.

por Muhaimen A

Jun 12, 2017

The more I leran about GIS the more I am becoming confident to employ this in my daily life. Special thanks to the instructor by guiding step by step.

por Juan L R

Sep 10, 2016

Very Good for Beginners, Everything is explained in a very understandable way, the access to the program and the additional data makes it whole round.

por Melissa P

Aug 12, 2016

Essential for anyone interested in GIS and wants to get the basics. I really learnt a lot in a short space of time at my own pace. Brilliant convenor.

por Juan D Z C

Apr 30, 2020

Este curso es un locura, práctico, sencillo, útil, didáctico. Felicitaciones a Nick, es un excelente profesor y a su equipo por tan increíble labor.

por Obed M

Dec 25, 2017

Fundamentals of GIS, very helpful and a good stepping stone towards mastering GIS software to make meaningful analysis and communication using maps.

por Firman C M

Aug 14, 2016

Excellent course with step by step instruction for beginner. However the final assignment is challenging enough to summarize whatever I have learnt.

por Jason M H

Mar 05, 2016

Nick does a great job at using lab examples, providing data that makes it easy to follow along. Looking forward to the rest of this specialization.