Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of GIS

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of GIS da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
estrelas
3,030 classificações
846 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Melhores avaliações

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JS

Feb 21, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The emphasis is on learning how to use the software so you can start working quickly. I highly recommend doing all the optional assignments in the textbook.

Filtrar por:

776 — 800 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of GIS

por Varun S

Dec 23, 2019

Nice, very good knowledge to gain!!

por Mohammad A

Aug 22, 2017

thank you for this wonderful course

por Lungu C

Sep 27, 2016

Great course for the beginners !

por Shikha C

Nov 22, 2018

Very nie course for beginners

por Veera H

Jul 10, 2018

Clear and easy to follow.

por İsmail S

May 16, 2017

Good introduction to GIS.

por Areck J

Jul 13, 2018

Exaclty what i needed

por Saikat T

Apr 16, 2017

Great course

por Ahmed E A G

Jul 08, 2017

GOOD COURSE

por Ageh S F

Oct 02, 2019

Excellent

por Nway O K K

Mar 13, 2019

Its good!

por Assem M A E

Nov 04, 2018

good work

por Sanchita P

Feb 20, 2017

Awesome!

por Nikolas A

Nov 06, 2016

great..

por Henry M M

Mar 01, 2017

Good

por Akram A M E

Apr 10, 2016

good

por James S

Aug 06, 2016

Very well presented. Unfortunately I think the order was a bit strange. We focused on data analysis instead of basics of data generation. In an introductory course I would have liked to see a bit more what different data looks like. Vectors, rasters, etc.

Some of us live and work in countries that don't have a lot of data (I'm a South African and I work in Malaysia... California, the Karroo, and Borneo have different amounts of information available). We're not learning GIS to analyse data because we don't have much data available. We're building the data...

We spent too much time on rivers/watersheds. I get that hydrology is Nick's field but some us will work with cities, or population, or roads, planning farmlands - a bit of variety would be nice.

The data should not be available off the Coursera page - we should have to get it off the internet so we get familiar with public data resources. The websites should have the broadest data - good regardless of what country you're in.

por Acato A

Sep 06, 2017

The assignments are very easy to cheat in. The peer review even makes it easier, upload something crappy, download a better one from someone else, edit the name and upload on your account. The man i reviewed actually forgot to change the author of the map, he uploaded it as downloaded.

The certificate is too plain, it doesn't talk of the skills gained through the course or the weight of the certificate according to the student's performance. It makes the whole thing seem like a joke. First anyone can cheat their way through and secondly even if you work hard and get straight 100%s you are no different from the the average student.

por Pierre V

Apr 03, 2017

Quiet good introduction with clear objectives.

Some step by step explanations could be shortened because they seem too detailed.

A brief introduction to creating your own data could be great and will cover more steps

By hte way, thanks for this good introduction

por Mohammed A

Jul 08, 2017

Great course also best instructor my problem is the grading by others is taking really longtime I've been waiting two days until now and no one even looked at my assignment. also I tired posting my problem in the discussion thread even begged but nothing.

por Margaret F

Oct 18, 2016

The course and the content was great, but the grading process was terrible. Will probably finish the specialization, but wish there was a better way to be graded for the money.

por Akshat J

Sep 15, 2019

Focuses mainly on ArcGIS tool whereas the objective of this course should be to explain GIS concepts.

por Kenny C

Jan 16, 2020

the software is outdated and the assignment instruction is not clear at all!

por Jacob G

Feb 14, 2018

Needs to be updated to cover the use of ArcGIS pro.

por Sean C

Feb 18, 2019

Good information. A little simple at times