Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of GIS

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of GIS da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
estrelas
4,215 classificações
1,274 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Melhores avaliações

VM
4 de Out de 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
27 de Dez de 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 1,238 Avaliações para o Fundamentals of GIS

por Sylvia G

14 de Mar de 2017

Very good introduction to arcGIS! I would have liked to have had a short overview about using some of the open source tools, such as QGIS. Overall great teaching, my first time actually completing one of these courses!

por Ishmamul H S

18 de Abr de 2020

Indeed a very good course. The course instructor was able to keep everything simple and quite enjoyable. The assignments are formulated in such a way that it will surely make the learners confident about using ArcGIS.

por Hojung J

7 de Jun de 2018

Nick was a great teacher, and as a beginner in GIS his course was challenging but manageable. He made sure we had all the resources needed to learn, and that there was always places to find for more help and exercise.

por Wanqing P

14 de Fev de 2019

It is a marvellous course, definitely needs to be known by everyone who is interested in DataSciences and Cartography/Geography/Oceangraphy. It was a very worthwhile learning experience that opened a new door for me.

por mohammed a m

26 de Fev de 2019

I recommend this thorough course to anyone who's interested in GIS, the course is constructed flawlessly in a way that ensures guiding you through each and every step towards building a solid ground on GIS learning.

por Md. M K

21 de Mar de 2020

As a newcomer in the field, I became used to the ArcGIS environment very quickly. I knew nothing about ArcGIS before; but could successfully complete the assignment due to the appropriateness of the course design.

por Billy G R

3 de Dez de 2019

This the best course on GIS online. The learning experience encouraged to know more about the subject. It has motivated me to complete further specialization. I would like to thank Nick for such a wonderful course.

por Oksana T

15 de Mai de 2019

Although I have taken GIS courses in college, I always felt like my knowledge was not complete.. Fundamentals of GIS helped me bridge some of my knowledge together. I look forward to completing this specialization.

por Job G V

19 de Jun de 2020

The instructor is really passionate about GIS and the contents are structured and his explanations are really good. The assignment really wrapped up everything he teaches in the course. I'm happy I did this course

por Tiffany V

27 de Dez de 2018

This was my first Coursera course, and I was very pleased with the format and how I was able to adjust my deadlines as needed. I learned a lot about ArcMap, and I'm eager to continue on to get my certification.

por Deepthy S N

22 de Mar de 2016

This is my First course with Coursera and I was really happy with the output. The lectures were well explained and broken into suitable bits so that it doesnt overload you. Looking forward to next week lectures.

por Yuan L

14 de Mar de 2019

The course materials are clearly structured. And the assignments guidance is sufficient for self learning. The final peer-review assignment is well-designed to wrap up the core learning goals. Excellent course!

por SWATI M

9 de Jun de 2020

Nick Santos made GIS so easy, his videos are very precise, without him, I could never learn GIS, anyone can learn from these videos made by him! Thanks to Coursera for giving outstanding knowledge to everyone.

por Carlos T H

23 de Mai de 2018

Excellent course, I'm so happy to have learned a lot of things, Nick (The instructor) is very bright and intelligent, of course and I love his personality. I recommend 100% to other people to take this course.

por Yashas V

6 de Mai de 2020

The course if well-curated, and allows the participants to thoroughly understand the concepts of ArcGIS. Nick really conveys information is the best possible manner, one of the best online courses I've taken.

por Javier R J

10 de Jul de 2016

I really enjoyed the course, Nick explains the concepts in a way that transmits his energy and good vibe. The final task was a little hard, but we got almost all the tools needed to create an appropiate map.

por Lauren F

5 de Mar de 2020

I really enjoyed this course! It was very well structured and easy to follow. I learned a lot and felt that I could handle the pace. I am looking forward to completing the other modules to become an expert!

por Joel M D

15 de Jul de 2019

Excellent beginner course. All course materials were very informative, level appropriate, and designed well to move you along towards achieving a realistic yet satisfying level of entry level proficiency.

por Gary L M

2 de Dez de 2019

Very much enjoyed the course and content and instructor. Content was fast pace and some reflection will be needed to master the skills, but I guess that's a good thing. Looking forward to the next class.

por Daria Z

17 de Out de 2020

Clear and enjoyable explanations, with a good mix of theory and practical information. The only lesson that has been less clear to me has been the one about projections, which is indeed a complex theme.

por Michael M

26 de Mar de 2016

Very smooth and fluid introduction to the basics of the GIS field and ArcGIS software. Feel like I developed good working knowledge in a very short time. Excited to go into more depth in future courses!

por Gustavo E M C

21 de Mar de 2016

Great!

Very intuitive videos, instructions quite clear, simple analysis tools and powerful data. Optimal level of proposed work. Excellent material and literature, many communities and help information.

por Samuel D S

1 de Dez de 2019

The teaching technique was very nice. The instructor clearly explained each and each step in simple and was clever enough to give all the technical details that we would require for the future courses.

por amcontrerasvera@gmail.com

23 de Ago de 2018

I took a basic course on GIS as part of my undergraduate classes. This course was an excellent way to review and great for anyone starting from zero. It's very detailed, easy to follow and so relevant.

por Brett C

24 de Jun de 2016

Excellent content, and the assignments were great as well. Even better is that now as I work through my workflows, I now have these videos to reference if I am having difficulty with anything.

Cheers!