Chevron Left
Voltar para Formatos, design e qualidade de dados de SIG

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Formatos, design e qualidade de dados de SIG da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.9
estrelas
1,297 classificações
252 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Melhores avaliações

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Formatos, design e qualidade de dados de SIG

por Isaiah B

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent course. I'm a current master's student and this course was essential to my understanding of Raster GIS. A must for the GIS-oriented professional!

por Harmen C M

Dec 30, 2017

I like the setup and have learned quite a lot. It's just the 2nd course, but I already feel I have learned about a series of important and powerfull tools.

por Haydar A

Oct 05, 2017

This course was formed the corner rock of GIS analyst. Therefore it was very important for me, and advice my colleagues to participation with this course.

por JCarlos P

Dec 12, 2019

In general it's a great course. Lots of useful content. I needed to review the materials in several occasions and take notes. Congrats to Nick and team.

por Erick V P A C G

May 30, 2017

In this course I learnt a essential skill for every GIS Analyst, how to check and maintain the quality of your data. Great course. it worths the effort.

por Kyle A

Dec 11, 2017

Nick Santos is a great instructor, he breaks things down in a way that is very intuitive and easy to learn. Thoroughly enjoying the course-set to date.

por heba i

Apr 29, 2018

Thank you Nick Santos and the team for the perfect presentation and the additional resources. I would definitely recommend this course to others.

por Muhammad S A A

Dec 10, 2019

It is a fun and enlightening experience. I had a chance to build upon what I learned from the last course and apply it in a practical setting.

por Mega D

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent course for GIS newbies, very good through lectures and a lot of good examples. thank you coursera, and the lecturer from UC Davis

por Shwahibu M

Jul 17, 2017

The course is great for the intermeddiate GIS learner......I encourage you guys to get enrolled and discover more about GIS data formats

por Jan S

Apr 08, 2019

Solid content. Pace is faster than in the Intro course (1st course in specialization). The final project was challenging and rewarding.

por Alexander W

Jun 09, 2018

Superb teaching techniques that really get you to know the software and tools with real life situations. Thanks Nick and colleagues!

por Mohadeseh J K

Dec 25, 2019

It was very informative but at the same time it requires to read and look at the online lessons a few times and of course practice.

por Daniel T

Nov 18, 2019

The course is really good, it extends the foundations of the first one. Can't wait to start the next course of the specialization.

por Andrés F P R

May 08, 2016

Great course, I loved all the workflows and started thinking way more like a GIS Analyst. Hope I can make my own workflows soon.

por Zoran R

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent course! A lot of useful things to learn. It helped me a lot in expanding my knowledge about GIS, and ArcGIS software.

por Manuel J C M

Oct 28, 2019

Muy buen curso para fortalecer las habilidades en procesamiento de información e interactuar mas profundamente con el programa

por David K

Oct 08, 2018

I particularly liked that the course had a strong focus on data bases and attribute tables, even if it is a quite dry topic.

por Safuwan A

Nov 16, 2016

The video lectures and the course assignments are all challenging; and that moves my urge to go on & on...

I love this course

por Daniel B

Jul 01, 2016

This course was worth doing twice. There was so much information and I learned many new skills. The tutorials were in-depth.

por Ziyi W

May 02, 2019

Once again, great course! I like all the guided tutorials and the independent assignment component. Highly recommend it :)

por Mark G

Feb 14, 2019

I especially liked the final project as a way to use the geoprocessing tools and online presentation features of ArcGIS.

por D. C

Jun 12, 2016

I enjoy this course , Excellent learning resource for Gis Data Formats, Design and Quality that teaches with examples ,

por William H

Aug 11, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the course! The lectures are well structured and organized and the assignments are very supportive.

por Solomon

Mar 05, 2018

For anybody who really wants to understand data and how to work with them in GIS, here is the point to know all that.