Chevron Left
Voltar para GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design

Comentários e feedback de alunos de GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.9
estrelas
558 classificações
160 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn how to find GIS data for your own projects, and how to create a well-designed map that effectively communicates your message. The first section focuses on the basic building blocks of GIS data, so that you know what types of GIS files exist, and the implications of choosing one type over another. Next, we'll discuss metadata (which is information about a data set) so you know how to evaluate a data set before you decide to use it, as well as preparing data by merging and clipping files as needed. We'll then talk about how to take non-GIS data, such as a list of addresses, and convert it into "mappable" data using geocoding. Finally, you'll learn about how to take data that you have found and design a map using cartographic principles. In the course project, you will find your own data and create your own quantitative map. Note: software is not provided for this course....

Melhores avaliações

HG

6 de abr de 2021

Prof Don Boyes explanation on the subject is awesome. It is very easy to understand and develops a great interest in the subject. It is very rare to find such a wonderful professional in the field.

SH

3 de ago de 2020

It is one of the best course of the specialization. I learned a lot about data acquisition, map design elements and principles and exporting map. It gave me a greater knowledge of map designs.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 160 Avaliações para o GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design

por MUHAMMAD S

1 de ago de 2021

This course was organized in efficient way and explain the modules with details . I have learnt in this course map design and quantitate data acquisition. Thanks to Prof .Don Boys for his best explanations and easy conceptual teaching way.

por Dilshad R

5 de abr de 2022

Its a exquisite experience while learning from Don Boyes. He has great teaching methods and his curiousity based explanations, they are just wow. This course will help me building my skills regarding GIS. Thankyou

por Jesús E M

30 de jun de 2020

Very easy, is amazing, good material, good explanation and we can make some design with the information and videos, the most important the professor explains how you evaluate the data

por Heleen B

15 de ago de 2020

This course was very helpful to get familiar with the concepts of basic map elements and lay-out, data acquisition and import and working with tables in ArcGIS. I recommend!

por CRISTIAN A U R

31 de ago de 2020

I strongly recommend this course. The instructor is very clear, and makes all the topic easily understandable. The program of the course is also very complete and coherent.

por Milena F

15 de jul de 2021

This course is very well-structured and offers information, in a comprehensible format. I really feel like I learned a lot and gained more insight in the mapping area.

por Michelle L

8 de ago de 2020

I learned a lot about data acquisition, map design elements and principles. As a begginer in GIS it was great. Thanks Coursera for providing me with this opportunity!

por ANNE S

26 de jun de 2020

The course is presented in a built-up manner hence it is easy to follow it even if you are new to GIS. I have learnt so much and still keep learning, Thank you!

por Luis R M O

24 de ago de 2020

Every topic was well explained and in a clear way. Enjoyed every bit of it! It is very interesting how much a map can improve taking this actions into account.

por Krunal P

2 de set de 2021

Very informative syllabus and tutor is teaching with easily understandable examples. Feeling great having a booster to knowledge. Thanks a lot Coursera!!

por Clerance G

15 de ago de 2020

Prof Don Boyes has made GIS simple. His style of teaching makes it easier to grasp things, especially the puns and the sarcasm.

Thank You Prof. Don Boyes.

por mehdi a

20 de abr de 2021

Very informative, organize and well vontent course. I recomend this course for all those who want to learn GIS data acquization and map designing.

por Maisha H

9 de fev de 2021

Very much helpful course. I would like to thank my teacher Don Boyes because for the amazing lectures that help me a lot to understand map design.

por Ashiqur R

1 de jul de 2020

Great Course.It helps me to start as a beginner in the field of GIS. All the lectures are precise and full of practical examples.

por Saleem K

10 de set de 2020

Really enjoyed the Course. I learned to create standardized maps, how to fetch data and to edit them as per standard methods.

por C S P

16 de jun de 2020

Course was very informative and was very exciting in leaning the course throughout. And Don Boyes was a great facilitator

por Erick N S L

17 de jul de 2020

Muy buen curso, cumple con las necesidades del conocimiento y genera bastante ayuda para aumentar cada duda que se tiene

por Bilawal A

3 de jul de 2020

It was a good decision to learn this course, now I am able to do lot of things related GIS in different perspectives.

por Prottay M

16 de mai de 2020

Mr. Boyes lectures are really informative and how he delivers his speech is a learning lesson for me. Thank you, Sir!

por CHIRANTHA D

17 de ago de 2020

Was a real important course and helped to understand the fundamentals and theories behind the GIS and Map design

por Juan A C P

23 de nov de 2020

Abarca muchas cosas del software, dando un inicio y noción básica para desarrollar cada una de las actividades.

por Holly M

5 de ago de 2021

I learned a lot about arcGIS, and I was able to successfully make a useful map after completing this course.

por Henrique O

31 de mar de 2021

This course is excellent and very well organized!

Congratulations to the instructor Professor Don Boyes.

por Ibrahim Z

11 de mar de 2021

This is an excellent course, I have learnt a lot in terms of map data acquisition and map design .

por Daniel S O O

14 de fev de 2021

Es un excelente curso me gusto mas que el anterior aprendi demasiado de como diseñar bien los mapas