Chevron Left
Voltar para GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design

Comentários e feedback de alunos de GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.9
estrelas
569 classificações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn how to find GIS data for your own projects, and how to create a well-designed map that effectively communicates your message. The first section focuses on the basic building blocks of GIS data, so that you know what types of GIS files exist, and the implications of choosing one type over another. Next, we'll discuss metadata (which is information about a data set) so you know how to evaluate a data set before you decide to use it, as well as preparing data by merging and clipping files as needed. We'll then talk about how to take non-GIS data, such as a list of addresses, and convert it into "mappable" data using geocoding. Finally, you'll learn about how to take data that you have found and design a map using cartographic principles. In the course project, you will find your own data and create your own quantitative map. Note: software is not provided for this course....

Melhores avaliações

HG

6 de abr de 2021

Prof Don Boyes explanation on the subject is awesome. It is very easy to understand and develops a great interest in the subject. It is very rare to find such a wonderful professional in the field.

SH

3 de ago de 2020

It is one of the best course of the specialization. I learned a lot about data acquisition, map design elements and principles and exporting map. It gave me a greater knowledge of map designs.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 164 Avaliações para o GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design

por Praneetha T

24 de jul de 2022

very usefull.

por SOURADEEP H

14 de set de 2020

Wonderful one

por Fawaz A

2 de jun de 2020

Great lessons

por Matthew D

17 de mar de 2021

Exceptional!

por Lochan J

4 de set de 2020

nice course

por ANITHA S

26 de abr de 2020

INFORMATIVE

por kotob J

14 de jul de 2022

Very good

por Gustavo d A F

6 de jan de 2021

Excelente

por Mohammad S R

23 de jul de 2020

Excellent

por Ratan D

25 de abr de 2020

very Nice

por Agustín P

31 de mai de 2021

the best

por JHONATHAN M O

4 de nov de 2020

Awesome

por Juan C L A

22 de nov de 2020

Genial

por Diana M B

15 de out de 2020

Great!

por Miguel J G M

7 de abr de 2022

bueno

por Himal B

12 de dez de 2020

great

por kazi n a

4 de jan de 2021

nice

por MD. W I K

20 de jul de 2020

Good

por JOSEPH R

20 de mai de 2020

good

por Walid M

9 de mai de 2020

good

por EZEMA A S

18 de abr de 2020

nice

por Anthony R

6 de jul de 2020

Full points to the course tutor for being immensely knowledgeable of and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The course content itself is deeply interesting to me and it is well taught. My major issue with this course is the way the final assignment is graded. If you look through the discussion forum for the assignment you will see students pimping reviews and full grades while asking for the same in return. And some of these submissions do not deserve full grades. I also get the impression that if you do not give someone full grades you are not likely to get the proper review and grade your submission deserves. There ought to be some controls against this otherwise it defeats the purpose of putting any detailed work into the assignment and also robs the honest workers of the grade and review they deserve.

por Gemma E

21 de set de 2020

The instructions were quite intense but complete so it was easy to understand the instructions given, However, since ARCMap is no longer in use and only ARCGIS PRO is given as a student trial, the directions do not exactly translate to assist in using the current software available. The instructor is very easy to understand and his teaching style is great! Just wish it was updated to assist in working with the latest software

por Jeff M

20 de jul de 2020

This course provided a good overview for the motivated GIS student. I got a lot out of it, but it was also frustrating to see some steps taken by the instructor that I could not immediately replicate on my end - and have no one to ask for help! This is not a course to rush through, and I benefited greatly from working on my own maps during pauses that I took in the course itself.

por Sharon L

26 de ago de 2020

Very informative course, finding that searching for the data is the most difficult part.

Perhaps have links to some of the data used in the examples would be of benefit, found that could not edit tables for some of the data that I downloaded, became very frustrating to do a simple calculation.