Chevron Left
Voltar para Imagery, Automation, and Applications

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Imagery, Automation, and Applications da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
estrelas
622 classificações
129 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to the last course of the specialization (unless your continuing on to the capstone project, of course!). Using the knowledge you’ve learned about ArcGIS, complete technical tasks such raster calculations and suitability analysis. In this class you will become comfortable with spatial analysis and applications within GIS during four week-long modules: Week 1: You'll learn all about remotely sensed and satellite imagery, and be introduced to the electromagnetic spectrum. At the end of this week, you'll be able to find and download satellite imagery online and use it for two common types of analysis: NDVI and trained classification. Week 2: You'll learn how to use ModelBuilder to create large processing workflows that use parameters, preconditions, variables, and a new set of tools. We'll also explore a few topics that we don't really have time to discuss in detail, but might whet your appetite for future learning in other avenues: geocoding, time-enabled data, spatial statistics, and ArcGIS Pro. Week 3: In week three, we'll make and use digital elevation models using some new, specific tools such as the cut fill tool, hillshades, viewsheds and more. We'll also go through a few common algorithms including a very important one: the suitability analysis. Week 4: We'll begin the final week by talking about a few spatial analyst tools we haven't yet touched on in the specialization: Region Group to make our own zones, Focal Statistics to smooth a hillshade, Reclassify to change values, and Point Density to create a density surface. Finally, we'll wrap up by talking about a few more things that you might want to explore more as you start working on learning about GIS topics on your own. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first, second, and third courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS," "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", and "Geospatial and Environmental Analysis," respectively, before taking this course. By completing the fourth class you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the Specialization capstone....

Melhores avaliações

EG
21 de Out de 2021

This was SO difficult and also so rewarding. Definitely the best test of our skills to date. The tasks tend to take a considerably amount longer than estimated by Coursera, FYI, if you're a beginner.

SM
16 de Jul de 2017

The course contents are up to date and equip the learner to face the real world of Remote sensing and GIS. I encourage those who still hesitate to get enrolled to make their decision soon.....

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 128 Avaliações para o Imagery, Automation, and Applications

por Paul E

21 de Ago de 2016

Whilst the material in the course is fine (although repetitious in places), the pacing is fairly poor.

Ultimately, there are three things covered by this course: a brief overview of remote sensing, hands-on raster classification and hands-on work with Model Builder work (using hydrology as an example framework). These then combine into the final submitted assignment. Many of the remaining lecture topics don't particularly link in to anything you'll be doing and are just "for interest's sake". Also, a lot of time is spent on the more intuitive aspects of Model Builder, but little to none is allotted to troubleshooting and the less intuitive aspects (for example, how to incorporate variables throughout a model or other issues with generalising a custom tool built within Model Builder).

If taking the course, be aware that the final submitted assignment requires formulating your own research question and unless you're already working in the field, can necessitate a significant amount of literature review for even the given example research questions. The gap in expectations and assistance is more of a chasm.

Unless you have the better part of a week free to commit to the course, it is advised that you skip ahead to the final assignment immediately and spread it over the full four weeks, spending the first week formulating the question, the second producing the classified raster and the third the model builder model, including any research necessary for this step. This gives the last week to produce products for submission or continue the work from the third week.

Hopefully in upcoming repeat sessions of the course, pacing will be improved, the grading rubric provided before final submission for the sake of transparency and clarity, and a little more guidance and actual feedback available in the forums, which are largely deserted at this point.

por Melissa P

12 de Ago de 2016

Another great course from Nick Santos. I am a GIS novice and it has made me feel confident with starting analysis of my own.

por Akhil C

19 de Jan de 2019

This is my personal review regarding this course. I am an Urban Planner by profession with a graduate as well as post graduate degree in Urban Planning. But still I can say that the way coursera teaches me the minor concepts regarding GIS, I didn't got this level of teaching even in my masters degree. The best part of this course was the final assignment as it was a bit different from the earlier assignments. This was more of an open ended assignment in which me as a learner utilized my own brain to do an analysis in my own area of interest. I am really thankful to coursera for helping me out to do the same.

por Alfredo A

28 de Out de 2020

Very good course, but certain topics evaluated in this course were not well explain, specially remote sensing images processing (downloading and managing them to GIS)

por Esmaeel A

23 de Jan de 2020

An amazing course! well organized, very informative, and rich with resources and useful materials, with an excellent discussion forum to discuss the course subjects.

por ARTURO L G N

23 de Abr de 2020

Probably the best course in the specialization. You learn different tools, and at the final, each student designs a personal project.

por Matheus B

31 de Ago de 2016

I really think that this course is the best specialization already available online. I didn't regret to pay for a certificate.

por Mauro d T

13 de Fev de 2017

The instructor is very knowledgeable and has a great way of transmitting such complex concepts. The course syllabus is great!

por Tudor C

5 de Dez de 2016

The presenter is very knowledgeable and very pleasant. Also the content of the course is an unique find and of a great value!

por Md. A H

29 de Ago de 2019

It was an excellent course. The course made me explore the vast area of GIS application in solving real-life problems.

por Adrian H

3 de Nov de 2020

Peer review is ok for the first courses of the specialization, but now, here, real feedback is necessary. I hope that in the capstone project somehow someone from UCDavis engage a little bit more. I learned a lot, of course, but guidance, at least a little bit, is necessary.

por April H

26 de Dez de 2017

This course contains a good amount of information for intermediate GIS users, but it repeats too much material from the previous courses and the presentation of the material could sometimes be organized better. The remote sensing section is actually information-dense and overwhelming, and I'm disappointed that spatial statistics wasn't covered in more detail. Overall, I think the people who would get the most out of this class are those who are interested specifically in learning basic information about remote sensing and/or automation in ArcGIS.

As a sidenote, while the instructor does a very good job of simplifying concepts that not all students may have experience with, he for some reason feels the need to reassure his audience that he isn't going to delve into the difficulties of math. I think he should mention the bounds of the class without implying that math is prohibitively difficult; people only think math is hard because others make it seem so, and we shouldn't discourage people from learning more.

por Evan W

18 de Jul de 2019

Feedback in the forums was sparse and often required a long wait time to get a response from an AI - if at all. Glitches regarding certain tools made completing particular projects difficult, and solutions were not always implemented to help students navigate these difficulties easily. The specialization is great, but this particular course has been the most frustrating for me.

por Bruno A

29 de Dez de 2020

The section on satellite / aerial imagery is a great refresher and is very rewarding with its many, immediate practical uses. The section on Model Builder is also a must. Everything is easy to follow.

There are many smaller sections at the end with less value, but this is the limit of a general-purpose course, where topics / interests fan off into many possible directions. One cannot teach everything to everyone on everything. Rightly, this is where the capstone, more personal project takes over.

The instructor, as always in this specialization series, is great.

por BELTRAN

25 de Ago de 2020

One of the most challlenge, and encouraged course! The level of working is very hard! The professorr and materal are suitable to have success, on top of that the advices and feedback received by the peers that seriously work on it are priceless and well recognized, frutfully and rich of new ideas to continue the data analisys. Thanks 🙏 UC Davis, Thanks Coursera!

por Cornelya F C K

6 de Ago de 2017

Great course and great instructor! In the fourth course in the GIS specialization, you learn about satellite imagery and how you can use this type of data to test hypotheses. The course will push you to explore more on your own and apply the things you have learned in all four courses. I highly recommend this course!

por Cort C

4 de Out de 2017

Great course that helps the learner gain an understanding of remote sensing and the processing that can be done on that type of data. Also a good intro into automation (model builder). The final project helps students prepare for the Capstone.

por Jafed E G

6 de Jul de 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por Mark K

22 de Out de 2017

There's a lot here if you haven't done anything like this before. But if you have the 6 to 10 hours a week to do it (especially on the later stuff) you will certainly understand the basics of ArcMap. Good teaching, good exercises.

por Altaf A S

2 de Set de 2021

The instructor is very good having excellent expertise in GIS and Remote Sensing. His way of teaching is simple and easy so that every one can understand, As an non-English participant, I understand his spoken english very well

por Rafael P

22 de Nov de 2020

Great course to provide you with sufficient knowledge to progress your GIS aptitude development depending on your field of expertise. Course is structured well to cover the relevant topics in such an expansive field.

por Sylvia A P A

7 de Set de 2020

I think its a great opportunity to be part of this course especially knowing how to build models. The assignment was also a great way to put our thinking cap on to solve real world problem. Thanks Nick and your team.

por Huanglei P

27 de Dez de 2017

Thank you Nick, and the whole team who support the course. The course illustrates the most important contents of ArcGIS, which is really helpful for me in my work. It is one of the best online courses I have taken!

por Sarah P

6 de Ago de 2020

Great course. The instructor shows everything at a good level of detail, and the exercises are very helpful. I also learned a few tips along the way that have just helped me to navigate the software better.

por Nihal A

6 de Out de 2020

This course has really good content, a lot to learn and the final peer review assignment was my favourite in the series. If it was not for this course I would have lost my mind during the COVID lockdown.