Chevron Left
Voltar para Imagery, Automation, and Applications

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Imagery, Automation, and Applications da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.9
376 classificações
71 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to the last course of the specialization (unless your continuing on to the capstone project, of course!). Using the knowledge you’ve learned about ArcGIS, complete technical tasks such raster calculations and suitability analysis. In this class you will become comfortable with spatial analysis and applications within GIS during four week-long modules: Week 1: You'll learn all about remotely sensed and satellite imagery, and be introduced to the electromagnetic spectrum. At the end of this week, you'll be able to find and download satellite imagery online and use it for two common types of analysis: NDVI and trained classification. Week 2: You'll learn how to use ModelBuilder to create large processing workflows that use parameters, preconditions, variables, and a new set of tools. We'll also explore a few topics that we don't really have time to discuss in detail, but might whet your appetite for future learning in other avenues: geocoding, time-enabled data, spatial statistics, and ArcGIS Pro. Week 3: In week three, we'll make and use digital elevation models using some new, specific tools such as the cut fill tool, hillshades, viewsheds and more. We'll also go through a few common algorithms including a very important one: the suitability analysis. Week 4: We'll begin the final week by talking about a few spatial analyst tools we haven't yet touched on in the specialization: Region Group to make our own zones, Focal Statistics to smooth a hillshade, Reclassify to change values, and Point Density to create a density surface. Finally, we'll wrap up by talking about a few more things that you might want to explore more as you start working on learning about GIS topics on your own. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first, second, and third courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS," "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", and "Geospatial and Environmental Analysis," respectively, before taking this course. By completing the fourth class you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the Specialization capstone....

Melhores avaliações

SM

Jul 17, 2017

The course contents are up to date and equip the learner to face the real world of Remote sensing and GIS. I encourage those who still hesitate to get enrolled to make their decision soon.....

LH

Feb 19, 2019

Si quieres aprender acerca de detección remota, este es el curso indicado. He aprendido muchísimo acerca de imagen y creación de modelos para correr procesos en SIG

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Imagery, Automation, and Applications

por Paul E

Aug 21, 2016

Whilst the material in the course is fine (although repetitious in places), the pacing is fairly poor.

Ultimately, there are three things covered by this course: a brief overview of remote sensing, hands-on raster classification and hands-on work with Model Builder work (using hydrology as an example framework). These then combine into the final submitted assignment. Many of the remaining lecture topics don't particularly link in to anything you'll be doing and are just "for interest's sake". Also, a lot of time is spent on the more intuitive aspects of Model Builder, but little to none is allotted to troubleshooting and the less intuitive aspects (for example, how to incorporate variables throughout a model or other issues with generalising a custom tool built within Model Builder).

If taking the course, be aware that the final submitted assignment requires formulating your own research question and unless you're already working in the field, can necessitate a significant amount of literature review for even the given example research questions. The gap in expectations and assistance is more of a chasm.

Unless you have the better part of a week free to commit to the course, it is advised that you skip ahead to the final assignment immediately and spread it over the full four weeks, spending the first week formulating the question, the second producing the classified raster and the third the model builder model, including any research necessary for this step. This gives the last week to produce products for submission or continue the work from the third week.

Hopefully in upcoming repeat sessions of the course, pacing will be improved, the grading rubric provided before final submission for the sake of transparency and clarity, and a little more guidance and actual feedback available in the forums, which are largely deserted at this point.

por Donny B

Jun 03, 2019

Good course!

por Jafed E

May 14, 2019

Able to concentrate and stay focused for periods of several hours, even when tasks are relatively mundane, and doesn't make mistakes. He has a high boredom threshold. Always assured and confident in demeanour and presentation of ideas without being aggressively over-confident. No absences without valid reason in 6 months. Reaches a decision rapidly after taking account of all likely outcomes and estimating the route most likely to bring success. The decisions almost always turn out to be good ones.

This Course always completes any assignment on time and to a high standard. This Course has outstanding artistic or craft skills, bringing creativity and originality to the task. Aiming for a top job in the organization. He sets very high standards, aware that this will bring attention and promotion. This Course pays great attention to detail. He always presented work properly checked and completely free of error.

por Priti R

Feb 26, 2019

Great course to learn applications of remote sensing and imaging in GIS!

por بهاء ع ح ع

Feb 21, 2019

good

por Lisbeth H

Feb 19, 2019

Si quieres aprender acerca de detección remota, este es el curso indicado. He aprendido muchísimo acerca de imagen y creación de modelos para correr procesos en SIG

por OGHENEVWEDE E

Feb 18, 2019

Great course, high level work on GIS, great videos and assignments.

por Ahmed M A A

Feb 05, 2019

thanks

por POYING L

Jan 23, 2019

like to learn about how to work on satellite imagery

por Akhil C

Jan 19, 2019

This is my personal review regarding this course. I am an Urban Planner by profession with a graduate as well as post graduate degree in Urban Planning. But still I can say that the way coursera teaches me the minor concepts regarding GIS, I didn't got this level of teaching even in my masters degree. The best part of this course was the final assignment as it was a bit different from the earlier assignments. This was more of an open ended assignment in which me as a learner utilized my own brain to do an analysis in my own area of interest. I am really thankful to coursera for helping me out to do the same.

por ABDALLA M E E

Jan 02, 2019

very good course

por Bojan K

Dec 21, 2018

Very useful and helpful course on raster analysis and the use of satellite imagery in spatial analysis. Thanks a lot!

por Jolaade O

Dec 20, 2018

I have learnt a lot, really excellent, the assignment and discussion forum makes you want to do more

por Sanaullah K

Nov 01, 2018

Great

por Kasi P

Sep 11, 2018

Amazing course with in depth concepts on Remote Sensing and GIS Applications

por Carlos T H

Sep 08, 2018

Excellent!!!

por Amira E T

Jul 14, 2018

Thank you for all your efforts and the amazing informative course

por Benjamin S

Jun 19, 2018

Like the other classes in this specialization, this class does an excellent job of explaining a range of concepts and methods in ArcGIS.

por Marit d L

Jun 07, 2018

Really good course, learned so much from it, like with the previous gis-courses. It is very challenging but as soon as you finish, very rewarding!

por Orlando D F

Apr 14, 2018

With this course, I could finally understand how to analyse and process many type of imagery. It is very well explained and the instructor shows that he knows the topics.

por Rodrigo F T

Apr 10, 2018

Course is excelent, but I spent much more time than I expected... and had to change my old laptop for a better one so I could run some ArcGis tools!

por Mohamed H

Apr 09, 2018

Thank you for this powerful content

por Abdirahman M

Feb 15, 2018

Wonderful and quite useful course.

por Huanglei P

Dec 27, 2017

Thank you Nick, and the whole team who support the course. The course illustrates the most important contents of ArcGIS, which is really helpful for me in my work. It is one of the best online courses I have taken!

por April H

Dec 26, 2017

This course contains a good amount of information for intermediate GIS users, but it repeats too much material from the previous courses and the presentation of the material could sometimes be organized better. The remote sensing section is actually information-dense and overwhelming, and I'm disappointed that spatial statistics wasn't covered in more detail. Overall, I think the people who would get the most out of this class are those who are interested specifically in learning basic information about remote sensing and/or automation in ArcGIS.

As a sidenote, while the instructor does a very good job of simplifying concepts that not all students may have experience with, he for some reason feels the need to reassure his audience that he isn't going to delve into the difficulties of math. I think he should mention the bounds of the class without implying that math is prohibitively difficult; people only think math is hard because others make it seem so, and we shouldn't discourage people from learning more.