Chevron Left
Voltar para Sit Less, Get Active

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sit Less, Get Active da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.5
estrelas
765 classificações
237 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Physical inactivity and sedentariness are “silent killers”. Do you feel like you spend too much time sitting? Do you feel like you would like to be more active? Are you unsure about how to incorporate physical activity into your daily life? We are here to help. Join us on a journey to learn about how to sit less and become more active. Use this FREE course to learn how to monitor your own activity and set physical activity goals. We will feature various examples of how physical activity could be increased in different settings, such as your neighbourhood, home or work, to give you ideas of ones that could best fit your lifestyle. Are you a health professional? Use this opportunity to learn how to incorporate physical activity into your daily routine and also how to empower your patients to be more physically active. If time with a patient is an issue, you can simply “prescribe” this course to your patient. This course offers you a unique opportunity to receive weekly physical activity health messages and monthly video-reminders on how to increase physical activity in various settings for 6 months after the initial 3 week course. So, join us on the Sit less, get active! journey. Follow us on Twitter @GetActive MOOC #GetActiveMOOC. Also, visit our YouTube channel to check out the promo videos (more are to come) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6xpBMzJXnffdUaY32-zPdA If YouTube is not available in your country, you can access the promo videos here https://media.ed.ac.uk/search/searchkeyword/sit%20less%20get%20active P.S. Before you start we would like to know about your approach to physical activity. Please check your emails so you can take the survey we have sent you. Then you can preview the course, or come back and join us when the session starts on September 4, 2017...

Melhores avaliações

ND

Sep 05, 2019

The greatest course ever! It is so realistic that can apply for every one, not only myself.\n\nI have got a range of tips to sit less, get active in here. Once again, thank you alot for your effort.

MM

Jul 25, 2016

This is a very useful and short course that covers all you need to get active, and is well seupported by a well chosen set of optional readings for anyone wanting to learn more. Highly recommended.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Sit Less, Get Active

por MD A T

Jun 06, 2017

This course helped me to incorporate an active lifestyle in my daily life. Also, it pointed out the ways that one could be active. A must for every person irrespective of their age.

por Juan A F S

Sep 15, 2017

I love the course cause it gives you down to earth advice on what you can do at the same time explain & recommend tons of different thing to do in many places such as home, work, etc

por Dhawal B

Dec 27, 2016

A must go through course.. minimal video time and max life changing learning.. awareness from this course will make your life much better in long (read 66 days) run.

All the best :)

por Soňa P

Jan 11, 2017

Course had good structure, the videos were informative and really encouraging to go and start moving, from simple things like stretching at home or in your office to more sophisticated activites like sports or dance. Actually, I've never thought about activites and moving this way – it could be really anything, even just not sitting counts. The course also encouraged me to rethink some of my activity goals, like reaching 10k steps (most of the time almost impossible for me) – every step is good and better than count them is to focus on time spent by the activity. I thought this course will be just fun, you know, everyone knows that sitting too much is bad etc., but it really worked for me as a motivation to set some goals and get moving. Thanks!

por Subhasis C

Oct 24, 2017

I had long ago completed two courses on Coursera. They were challenging for a full time employed person like me and who did not belong to those domains. I took up this course as a personal enrichment challenge and the course really changed my outlook to everything from heart disease to dance to habit formation. The optional readings are excellent. A serious student can use those optional materials to research this subject. And the presentations did not drag. I have little money; so i had applied for financial aid but right now after finishing the course I just became more debt-ridden by paying for the course through my credit card! This is to say thank you Coursera and my instructors. The course is worth getting into debt for. Thanks again.

por Pratiksha J

Jan 21, 2018

This was an excellent course. It not only focused on why exercise is important, it also showed us how we can incorporate into our everyday life by showing us plenty of examples on simple exercises we can do at home, or at work, or any other place. The videos on successful goal-setting and habit formation were very helpful and so were the study materials. I liked that the instructors themselves were involved in some sort of physical activity in the videos. I very much enjoyed this course. I would suggest that there be a section for physical activity or exercise for disabled people. I find it important that there be something for them.

por Nguyen H

Mar 21, 2019

I used to regular the gym, but after marriage and housework kicks in, I've been lounging whenever I can. Having a desk job is also challenging as I often ignore my 'Move around' countdown notification. This course has helped me get back and improve on my healthy habit. I now keep an Active Log. It helps me put into perspective how well I'm doing and set future goals, also helps me identify barriers to a healthy more active lifestyle. The coursework is divided into bite-sized and it also helps me completing this course. The info is helpful and encouraging. Can't thank you enough. And I promise to sit less, and get more active!

por Prof C O M F F F

Jul 03, 2016

This course provides an excellent comprehensive overview of physical activity. All the educational material and erudite videos are very high quality and help motivate and change behaviour from a sedentary to active lifestyle. Hopefully after the MOOC finishes that the evaluation process will demonstrate a positive outcome to educate and change attitudes to physical activity on a global basis. Well done to team leader Danijela Gasevic and the Sit Less, Get Active MOOC team.

por Natasha K

May 26, 2017

I absolutely loved this course! As an individual who is a Zumba instructor and very into fitness and a healthy lifestyle, and wants to take up a career in sports psychology, the course not only helped me understand concepts better, but motivated me to pursue my personal fitness goals. All the instructors were very knowledgeable and gave such great inputs and fabulous short videos. Looking forward to more such courses from University of Edinburgh! Thank you! Cheers :)

por Nicola J

Sep 22, 2017

A short but comprehensive course on how to become more active. A lot of useful suggestions and much encouragement for participation in physical activities, whatever your personal circumstances.

I was not able to participate in the full course as I did not upgrade. I did complete all the modules that I could though and enjoyed them all.

My thanks to the educators and course organisers for an informative and enjoyable course.

por Anoop T

Oct 22, 2018

Hi, I consider myself as a fit person, still i just wanted to try this course. This course gave a lot of practical possibilities and insights to become more active than i already am and encouraged me a lot.

Thanks to Edinburg university to provide a course like this and thanks to Coursera for letting me attend this course from other part of the world.

por María P G B

Feb 25, 2019

I really appreciate the the extensive bibliography that you shared in the course.

I had always considered myself physically active but I had never questioned myself about the damage that caused me sitting for so many hours in a day. This course has definitely helped me create more awareness about the benefit to my health of sitting less.

por Aliza W S

Dec 27, 2016

Nice, easy course that gives you a lot of information about being physically active even at times you may not want to be or may think you cannot be. Interesting videos and graphics. A lot of important information to share with family and friends to help get everyone on the path to being more active and healthier.

por Sri H K P

Jul 26, 2016

The videos are really informative and cover most of the common concerns/excuses we have to avoid a physically active life style. I could connect to everything in the course and have improved my activity times from the past 3 weeks. This course definitely has given me a good push to improve myself.

por Bethany B

Oct 12, 2016

This is a quick fun course with easy ways to get active. The course also discusses why it's important to be active and how active both children and adults should be. There are great optional readings as well if you're interested in more. This course is very informative.

por Mansour R

Feb 04, 2018

Very informative & interactive MOOC. I'll definitely recommend it to others. This is the first ever MOOC that I've ever completed. It never felt like the assignments were a burden . Really enjoyed it. Thank you to all the instructors for putting up a fantastic MOOC :)

por Shaistah A

Oct 31, 2016

Interesting, simple and interactive course that provided useful information through reading, writing, videos, comedy making it more fascinating. Quiz were quick and short, more focused on how we would make ourselves more active rather than on memorizing everything.

por Mahmoud O S

Sep 16, 2019

Hi everyone

It was great to be with you this interesting course

I become active person because of you all

Thanx to everyone in the staff ,your hard work is very appreciated.

Thanx for sharing us your knowledge

I wish you all good health

Sit less ,Get active

por Pankaj M

Oct 08, 2016

This is a wonderful course. This is very precise and practical course about being active which promotes the benefits of being active. Apart of it this course also speak about different health condition and how a person can be active in that situations too.

por Giovana K

Jan 06, 2019

This course helped me very much to understand how important physical activities are for our health and made me stop less, be less sedentary and a lot more active. Special thank you for the University of Edinburgh.

por Shardul R

Jul 09, 2017

Very Good.Very informative.It literally helped me change my attitude towards physical activity and also learned tricks and techniques to keep myself healthy at any place. Thank you University Of Edinburgh.

por Michael P M

Jul 25, 2016

This is a very useful and short course that covers all you need to get active, and is well seupported by a well chosen set of optional readings for anyone wanting to learn more. Highly recommended.

por Nguyen T D

Sep 05, 2019

The greatest course ever! It is so realistic that can apply for every one, not only myself.

I have got a range of tips to sit less, get active in here. Once again, thank you alot for your effort.

por zubaria N

Mar 10, 2020

This course has made me realize simple mistake i was commitming during the course of the day. It was a friendly reminder to amend habits and to adopt a healthy and happy life style.

por Lisa S

Oct 27, 2016

Well-presented, good ideas for promoting activity, health, and increased well-being. I particularly enjoyed the Scottish accents and the occasional beautiful shots of Edinburgh :-)