Chevron Left
Voltar para Genomics: Decoding the Universal Language of Life

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Genomics: Decoding the Universal Language of Life da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.7
estrelas
156 classificações
40 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is a genome? A genome contains all of the information that a cell needs to develop, function, and reproduce itself, and all the information needed for those cells to come together to form a person, plant, or animal. Genomes contain an organism’s complete set of genes, and also the even tinier genetic structures that help regulate when and how those genes are used. The ability to regrow a torn ligament, the clues that might predict the onset of mental illness, the nutritional potential of crops, and even the history of life itself, are all encoded in genomes. By taking this course, you will discover how scientists are deciphering the language of genomes to learn how to develop sustainable food and fuel supplies, improve disease treatment and prevention, and protect our environment. Professor Robinson is the main instructor for this course. In addition, each module features several guest instructors. These guest instructors come from diverse fields of study—biology, physics, computer science, and many others—and pursue diverse research goals, yet they share a common interest in genomic approaches and technologies. The guest instructors include: - Elizabeth (Lisa) Ainsworth, Associate Professor of Plant Biology - Mark Band, Director of the Functional Genomics Facility - Alison Bell, Associate Professor of Animal Biology - Jenny Drnevich, Functional Genomics Bioinformatics Specialist with High-Performance Biological Computing - Christopher Fields, Associate Director of High-Performance Biological Computing - Bruce Fouke, Director of the Roy J. Carver Biotechnology Center - Glenn Fried, Director of the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology Core Facilities - Nigel Goldenfeld, Professor of Physics - Brendan Harley, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering - Alvaro Hernandez, Director of the High-Throughput Sequencing and Genotyping Facility - Victor Jongeneel, former NCSA Director of Bioinformatics and former Director of High-Performance Biological Computing - Kingsley Boateng, Senior Research Specialist with the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology Core Facilities - Stephen Long, Professor of Plant Biology and Crop Sciences - Ruby Mendenhall, Associate Professor of African American Studies - William Metcalf, Professor of Microbiology - Karen Sears, Assistant Professor of Animal Biology - Saurabh Sinha, Associate Professor of Computer Science - Lisa Stubbs, Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology - Rachel Whitaker, Associate Professor of Microbiology - Derek Wildman, Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology - Peter Yau, Director of the Protein Sciences Facility...

Melhores avaliações

MP

Aug 03, 2020

Hello, myself Mili Patel\n\nI really enjoyed this course. All in this course satisfying and just want to say it's beyond my expectation.\n\nThank you.... 🙂

SS

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, gives a beautiful visual and colorful introduction and possibilities in Genomics!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 40 Avaliações para o Genomics: Decoding the Universal Language of Life

por Muhammad A

Jan 03, 2019

Quite informative and useful course... I just love it...

por Ananya K

Mar 31, 2017

A very fun and interesting course. It was challenging. I learnt a lot from this course. It is the best course a person could ask for. It was really interesting. I will remember genomics: decoding the language of life forever..

por Richard K

Jun 25, 2017

While the content was of interest, the restriction from graded quizzes for those of us auditing the course very much limits the value of the course.

por SACHIDANANDA B

Mar 28, 2020

So far l just love the course and the instructors...

But due to unavoidable situations during bi-phasic flood in September-October,2019; I could not be able to complete this nice course. I hardly can manage paying the fees/upgradation charges to complete it, as my family conditions make me earn very limited. I will be grateful to team Coursera, if they allow me learn further by unlocking this ongoing course.

Regards,

Sachidananda Behera

INDIA (Ph.D. Aspirant)

por Rebecca S

Feb 26, 2018

This is the best course I have ever taken. The teachers talk like they are speaking to you and not as if they are reading off a powerpoint (even though im sure some of them are). It makes the material soak in better instead of just saying intense information sentences after the other. The video editing is done in a way that keeps me engaged. The material is extremely interesting. The discussions challenge me. Everything about this course is awesome.

por Rupashri B

May 24, 2020

An interesting and productive way to start unraveling the science of genomics and genetic engineering! This course will prompt you to apply critical thinking to tackle the assignments and submissions, the videos will motivate you and open your mind to ideas, and it will definitely enhance your ability to practically approach the science and benefit from it! A really good course!

por Sukeshini K

Apr 07, 2020

very nice course, but please do not keep certificates dependent on grading procedure. take more test if you want a time-limited or online is also fine but not dependent on grading. it takes a long time and some of the students like me might need this as part of their exam or coursework so certificates are necessary on time.

por Vanessa C d C L

Aug 13, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, I have learned some new really interesting things in this 6 weeks. I really liked the videos and the variety of professionals and to hear the opinion and points of view of all the different areas of research present and how they use genomics. It was really interesting and informative.

por Subham H

Jun 24, 2020

This course is amazing!!. After completing this course I came to know many new things about genomics, enjoyed the course contents a lot. Any person who has very little knowledge about genetics and is interested to know a lot about it can enroll in this course.

por OLANIPEKUN T

Mar 02, 2019

This course is the first course I took on the coursers platform, and it was an awesomely rewarding experience, the course content ,videos, assignments, peers all made up to an amazing experience , even though there is still room for more improvements.

por Shreya s

Jul 07, 2020

This course is really amazing and it thought me a lot about the genome and how is it important for each species. I highly recommend this course for someone who is looking for a course to understand the fundamentals of the genome.

por Chandrasekar R

Jun 19, 2020

A very well designed course meant for both biologists and students from other disciplines. The assignments are also very interesting and gives the participants an opportunity to discuss and explore the topics taught every week.

por Amritendu G

Aug 10, 2020

It was really a great time doing this course. It not only helped me to come across several concepts of modern genomics but also enhance my spectrum of knowledge on Genomics Evolution from past generation to present era.

por alejandro

Aug 08, 2020

Nice course with the basics of genomics. The activities are according to the lessons. There are a lot of active people, so you do not have to worry about waiting for peer activities.

por Mili S P

Aug 03, 2020

Hello, myself Mili Patel

I really enjoyed this course. All in this course satisfying and just want to say it's beyond my expectation.

Thank you.... 🙂

por Shri V B Y S K

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, gives a beautiful visual and colorful introduction and possibilities in Genomics!

por Geraldo M J

Mar 16, 2020

Excepcional! Aprendi muito. Sinto-me apto e motivado a prosseguir nesta matéria.

por Arturo C M

Feb 27, 2020

Easy to understand, with a good variety of topics taught by fine researchers.

por Nwodo I Z

May 04, 2020

Very insightful course... highly experienced lecturers.

por Sanjay K

Jul 30, 2020

this was nice experience from this course

por Ranjan D

Apr 07, 2019

This course was really helpful for me.

por ROUDANI L

May 07, 2020

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE COURSE!!!

por Mudit S

Jul 01, 2020

Amazing Course, Detailed yet simple.

por Pooja D

Jul 15, 2020

very good course and informative

por Debasmita P

Jul 07, 2020

An amazing learning experience.