Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à genética e evolução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à genética e evolução da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
735 classificações
166 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Melhores avaliações

YH

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

TN

Sep 28, 2017

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução à genética e evolução

por Vanessa C d C L

Jan 17, 2017

I really enjoyed the classes and the supplemental materials available. I loved how the lessons were taught and explained by Dr. Mohamed Noor and I really enjoyed the content of the classes.

por Ramanuja-Chary A

Jul 06, 2018

Thoroughly enjoying the course content. I am a Software Engineer and am doing this course out of personal interest. I was a bit hesitant if I would be able to sustain the interest through the length of the course. Dr. Mohamed Noor has done an amazing job in introducing and building on the concepts week after week. My sincere thanks to the Dr. Mohamed Noor and Duke University for offering this course online.

por Patrick M

Aug 09, 2019

Really great course. Has a lot of interesting real life examples and covers all of the basics of genetics in comprehensive detail. Really glad I did the course and hope to use the knowledge gained in my future career.

por Kai F

Jan 10, 2016

I found this course very well taught. Especially the lectures wre conceived in a way that it was entertaining and challeging at the same time. Coming for a social science background myself, I was delighted by the way the course eased people from outside the subject area into the field. Additionally, I was able to to do the course without it conflicitng with my job (in my case it actually helped my own research in social science, which made even mor eof a success for me). Prof. Noor did a great job in teaching without overburden and keeping a light tone while making me learn.

Only one minor problem:

Having never encountered multiple choice during my academic career, I was sometimes thrown off by the wording of questions and answers. I know it is hard to creat quiz-formats that are not based on multiple choice, but it would maybe make the course more comprehensive, i there were. Since this is likely to be a problem with my own experience and does not affect others so much, I would not go as far as deducing anything.

A future wish: Maybe a course on the subject, specialising in some subareas based on this course woudl be great.

All in all, Prof. Noor and his team did a good job in conceiving and conducting this course.

por Simon C

Dec 31, 2015

I thought I knew a bit about Genetics & Evolution when I enrolled, but the first Genetics lecture showed that I was wrong! Prof Noor has taught me a lot about Genetics. He is an engaging and inspiring lecturer. It is also obvious to me that he takes a keen interest in the students, as he has been quick to reply to questions that I have asked in the forums. I'm looking forward to the Evolution lectures.

I am not sure why I enrolled for this course, since I was sure I already knew the material, but I am glad that I did. I recommend the course if you belong to any of the following categories: people who think they know the subject; people who don't think know it, but are interested; everybody else (because I think you will find Prof Noor inspiring.

por Corinna M

Oct 08, 2016

Great introduction-- not a single lesson was lacking. Professor Noor is engaging, feels approachable (even behind a screen), and I found the class appropriately challenging. There were times I felt I completely grasped the "important" parts of lectures only to begin a quiz and realize that I didn't. The quizzes really helped me to see that I had to understand much more about how to apply the messages to other situations, or compound scenarios. Good lesson in logic. Computation also matters in this course, which can be tough for someone more used to reading pop-science analyses. I appreciated being held accountable and learned far more than I would if I'd just read a book.

por Mehdi S

Oct 24, 2016

The course is great in various aspects. The course is given in a way that covers learning requirements and also tells you what are the today challenges and research areas. The sequence of the syllabus is very reasonable. The course auxiliary material such as the slides, more links to read and quiz are all made in a professional way which help you understand the concepts of Evolution and Genetics. You even learn a lot from the exams. The lecturer has successfully tried to direct the the suitable both to evaluate you and to reinforce what you have learned from the tuition videos.

In all Great for you if you are a beginner in evolution, genetics.

por Yuqing H

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

por Theresa R N

Sep 28, 2017

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

por Stephanie T E

Jun 21, 2018

I have just completed Week 3 of the Introduction to Genetics of Evolution, and am truly impressed with the program. Not only is Dr. Mohamed Noor a brilliant professor, but he explains everything in a matter that can be universally understood. He is funny, thought-provoking, and truly helps guide students through problems effectively through every video. I have also seen how he replies to people's questions across the message boards, which is greatly appreciated as well. I find myself excited to watch his video lectures, and find the work per week a perfect amount. I am a rising high school junior, working currently at an internship for 6 hours everyday while also taking the Duke Introduction to Physiology course, and find the work load is not overbearing at all. If you have the slightest inkling of interest in taking this course, I strongly recommend you do. I bet you will be truly impressed by such an amazing program :) P.S. now I really want to go to Duke Just to meet Dr. Noor! Such an amazing guy!

por BASSAMAH H

Feb 07, 2018

A big big thanks to Dr Noor and team for creating this course and delievering it in a very effective and reader friendly way. It help me to understand evolution more than Darwin theory and controversies exist with Darwin. One of the best course on coursera platform to learn and gain knowledge. The quizes aredesigned in such a way to practise your knowledge and go through lectures again and again to pass initially it irritates but latter you enjoy by understanding subject and eager to gain more and more. once again thanks for such a great course.

por Jonathan N

Aug 09, 2017

An excellent course suitable for students, novices and amateur experts alike. Prof. Noor gives a comprehensive introduction to the topic and his enthusiasm is infectious. As well as making the technical genetic material much easier to understand than it might otherwise be, he does a great job of explaining clearly and convincingly (in Jerry Coyne's phrase) 'Why Evolution is True'. Plus he seems like a really nice guy, which always helps! Highly recommended for anyone with the slightest interest in genetics and evolution.

por Brice B

Feb 07, 2017

AWESOME COURSE!!! Professor Noor is both a high profile researcher, a very gifted teacher and a nice and fun person. He conveys a lot of difficult ideas in a very organized and very clear way, with lots of examples and occasions to practice given along the way. His enthusiasm for genetics and evolution is contagious! I have just one comment. It's a pity that he didn't include in the material a list of readings accessible to someone who has taken this course.

por Taim N

Feb 11, 2017

I have just finished this course. This course was a wonderful experience. I would strongly suggest this course to anyone who is interested in the field of evolution. There are many interesting topics that are discussed in this course which will increase your appreciation for evolution. The professor's explanation is excellent. He will keep you interested in the course. The only thing that is wrong about this course is that it didn't last longer.

por Sarthak N S

Dec 04, 2019

Extremely insightful, the way he transitioned from the knowledge that I, as a high school senior am aware of, to ideas that I hadn't ever encountered before was extremely impressive. The instructor was charismatic and insightful. The quality of the course was commendable as well but it has to be noted that the audio quality was a bit off in a couple videos from weeks 1 and 2. Nevertheless, the course remained gripping and exciting throughout.

por Siddharth S

Jan 30, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed the course! The topics are well-explained and tie in together with each other, so you get a broad picture of genetics, speciation, evolution, and other concepts. The videos are backed with interesting supplemental material to read and ponder. Also, the lecturer is really interesting, not like most online courses where they simply read off notes. It's an informational and interactive course, and I highly recommend it!

por Dania G

Nov 29, 2015

Excellent class, and an even better interface now that it changed to always available.

Prof. Noor explains with such clarity that even a 5 year old can learn about DNA.

This is my 2nd time taking this class, and I've seen already many positive changes in this 1st week alone.

Thank you Coursera, Duke University, all participants in general, and a very special thank you to Prof. Noor, your contagious love for science spreads like wild fire.

por Zaneta P N N

Mar 24, 2016

Dr Noor's enthusiasm and relaxed teaching style makes even the more technical subject matter seem interesting. Although not always easy I have been compelled to keep pushing forward as I feel I am learning a great deal about myself and species around me. By far one of the best courses I have taken on this platform. I hope to continue studying the area of genetics as a result of this course. Thanks and keep up the good work!!!

por Hamid A

Jan 13, 2018

very interesting and full of knowledge course. I learn this course very much. and Dr. Muhammad Noor is a nice person and the way of teaching is very impressive. many of my concepts about genetics and evolution clear in this course within few weeks. I specially thankful to the coursera team which give this huge platform to the people who are the seekers of knowledge. thank you again team coursera

por Herman A

Apr 09, 2018

There are a lot of things to take away from this class, but what struck me the most was Dr. Noor himself. Certainly he is a role model to all his colleagues. His lecture style, slide and quiz designs all show hints of a pedagogic genius at work. He certainly makes learning easy, and I have learned a lot! I feel fully confident in my ability to delve deeper into evolution and genomics.

por leslie l

Mar 01, 2016

Great course for all. I go into a coma when it comes to doing math. I hate it. I like science so was happy to find that this course explains concepts including the math in a clear concise and comprehensible fashion. And Dr Khan is a fun dude who conveys his love of the subject in a snappy interesting manner. I would like more courses in genetics that can do this.

por Ariel A

Mar 07, 2018

As of thus far (3 weeks into the course) the course is an excellent introduction to basic genetic and evolutionary processes. The videos are taught in a manner that is entertaining almost intuitive enough to be heard without watching the slides, sort of as a long audiobook. The quizzes are free and there is much supplementary material available for deeper diving

por Artūrs B

Apr 15, 2016

Provides information from basic laws of inheritance to understanding the field of Evolutionary biology and genome sequencing. Explained in a 'light and easy to understand' way! Not a course you can pass by knowing a few facts about the subjects. Tricky at times, which help you find out if you understood everything correctly. Would recommend to others!

por Tania G A

Aug 01, 2017

Wonderful course! Beautiful topic, but most importantly for this kind of teaching platforms, very very dynamic!. Dr. Noor really nailed it, he totally masters every subject of the course and puts in a easy-to-learn and motivational way. I would happily go over this course or any other given by Dr. Noor! Congratulations and thank so much!

por Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Probably the best explained course I have ever taken in Coursera. Professor Noor makes the material easy to understand making it seem like it is a straight forward class. It is not until you try to explain to others what you have learned that you realize the material is complitaced. at making a science class simple and fun!!!