Chevron Left
Voltar para A indústria dos jogos e o empreendedorismo

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A indústria dos jogos e o empreendedorismo da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.4
706 classificações
138 avaliações

Sobre o curso

As well as a form of art and entertainment, games are about business. Whether you want to work at a game studio, start your own business or make games as a hobby, recognizing the dynamic landscape of the videogame industry is critical to finding your place. This course will introduce you to game production, project management, teamwork skills, and how to position your game ideas and yourself in the broader marketplace. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an impactful portfolio of game work to get noticed and/or develop an effective business plan to bring your game to market....

Melhores avaliações

AA

Jun 05, 2016

A 'must' for everyone! Entrepreneurship is something unique, is not for everyone but can be reached with some effort. A course that can be applied to all areas. Nice experience.

RD

Jan 31, 2017

I am grateful to Coursera and MSU for this great leaning opportunity.Thanks Coursera and MSU for providing me such a great learning opportunity.Rafi Ud Din-Pakistan.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o A indústria dos jogos e o empreendedorismo

por Alex A

Nov 26, 2018

While the quality of the lecturer/professor and content production remain high and engaging, this discipline's ROI, value, and learning potential are degrading rapidly.

This section seems almost entirely filler, and although I acknowledge that my opinion is partly due to myself not being the target market; the assignment sections don't really even match up with the course content. (i.e. what does creating a game-specific competitive analysis have to do with corporation structures and resume writing?). This was a catch-all bucket of highly subjective content which while at times interesting, was extremely irrelevant to the learning and development I'm seeking/expecting; and that lack of ROI on my time is further destroyed by the activeness and peer-review elements of this class.

At the third class in this specialization, I've seen my willingness and effort for each assignment deteriorate. Are these courses dead? (the discussion boards are nothing but spammed links to review assignments from every corner of the earth). The feedback returned from peers is not substantial to improve, and especially with an entire class/section of purely subjective course assignments. In fact, I find myself in some sort of "pod", perhaps a result of timing, of receiving the same feedback from the same two-three people, and always in a position of not having any peer assignments to review myself (so I'm forced to go back to a dead forum and pull links of old students' requests for review, just to complete the course). Where are the actual admins and professional mentors/instructors?

Overall, I was happy with the learning and new information I received via the first course improving my hard/technical skills. While the second course was more subjective, it was still value-add and incredibly interesting, despite the peer+activeness critiques I elaborated on above. However, I felt this third course was an absolute waste of my time (maybe not so for others, fine), and there's really no tangible ROI to putting in the time or effort here other than trucking through this for the sake of completing the Coursera Discipline.

I remain eager and excited for the subsequent courses; as receiving structured guidance towards a Capstone project seems like worthwhile endeavor towards learning and development. Overall, through other courses on other sites like Udemy, this does not seem like something worth spending money on at this point - you just paying for pre-recorded videos with a university's logo slapped on them (albeit from an engaging and passionate professor), outdated/dead links, and almost 0 active students. The courses on Udemy are better managed, updated, and have communities of learners. This series could be posted to Youtube for free and have the same impact - to this point anyway :(

por Axel D

May 21, 2018

This course covers the basics of games business, but is clearly aimed at people with no previous work experience in the games industry. If you're already a professional thinking of starting your own company, you'll find some interesting information but a lot of it will also be redundant. I'd also like to point out that the Week 3 assignment requires you to produce a 30-60 second video with a recommended time of 2 hours, which is clearly unrealistic if you expect to produce quality work.

por Louis N

Aug 07, 2017

Very good course giving more than an overview of games development, which is what it takes to survive in this creative industry. Reality of games development.

por Samuel S

Mar 10, 2016

Great way to introduce the business of games. Gave me a very thorough understanding of the biggest questions one has about how money works in the industry.

por Tobias W

Jan 05, 2018

The content of this course is pretty valuable and important for game developers. Everybody wants to be creative and enjoy making games, but it's still a business and you want to make money, right? I went into the course not really expecting to be interested in anything, but a lot of the material was very insightful and will surely help me in the future.

Note: The material is mostly US centric, so if you're somewhere else, you'll have to put in some extra work to find out how some of the stuff works in your country.

The one thing that I didn't like about this course was that some of the projects didn't have much to do with the material taught during that week and many students were a bit lost on what to do exactly. Don't get discouraged, because everyone is in the same boat. Just see it as a challenge and do some research outside of the course, talk to people on the forums and it'll be fine.

por Kelly

Jun 01, 2016

I was most excited about taking this class (in fact, it's how I found the specialization as a whole) and I did not get as much out of it as I was hoping for. :-\ I think that it's geared to too wide of an audience, so we didn't get as specific as I was anticipating. I also felt that a lot of the time of the videos were taken up by telling us what not to do. ("You don't want to be too far to this side, but you don't want to be too far to the other side, right?") I did get some good information out of this class, but I found a disconnect between the lectures and the homework. When we were assigned an elevator pitch as an assignment, it might have been nice to have seen some examples of elevator pitches--what makes a good (or a bad) elevator pitch? What kind of things would be a good idea to include? Concrete examples would have been super helpful. Submitting my homework and then seeing that other people did vastly different stuff made me question my own submission (Did we just take it in a different direction or did I (or they) misunderstand the assignment?) but since we're all peer reviewing, it's a case of the blind leading the blind there. This also happened with the SWOT Document...which I don't think was even mentioned in the lectures at all in-depth. Again, it would have been helpful to have seen some concrete examples, as I've never heard of that document before.

por Mok K F

Dec 03, 2015

This course tries to cover the many aspects around the games industry. But the coverage in each of the subject is not deep enough to be useful. For example, the instructor talks about project management, public speaking, how to write a resume etc. The instructor starts by talking about why they are useful, and then followed by one to two 10-15 minutes long video lectures. Each of these could worth a full Coursera course and I am sure the other courses have better coverage than in this course.

The quiz questions are not well thought and do not stimulate thinking at all. Some of the "correct" answers are personal opinions but you have to choose them in order to pass the quiz.

The third peer grading assessment asks students to post a video either to pitch himself/herself or to pitch the game the student makes. However, the specialization up to this point does not equip student with the skills beyond the basics. Unless you are already in the industry, I do not think anyone can make anything impressive to be worth pitching in front of the audience.

por Pablo M

Oct 11, 2018

Really nice overyview on how to start a videogame company or get a job in the industry.

por Ali A K G

Oct 18, 2018

Good course for learning about the business side of games

por Mete O

Jan 03, 2016

Very well structured and handled!

por Rohaan K A

Mar 23, 2016

Out of the four courses in this specialization, this was the one I learnt the most from. To be honest, I don't really like business topics, and I felt a little bored, but the information in this course is too relevant for you to just skip aside.

por Armando M d S S

Feb 02, 2018

Make this course, you will enter in a completely new world

por Nikki P

Dec 04, 2017

the resource materials are gold

por Shu-Cheng C

Jun 07, 2016

I do learn a lot of the leadership stuff in the lesson, gaining more ideas about developing and designing games.

por Carlos H J

Aug 04, 2017

Awesome!

por Sonja N S

Feb 28, 2017

Great course and plenty of useful information applicable to games and beyond.

por Alvaro M

May 24, 2016

It goes through basic yet VERY useful information on how to handle the many aspects of games as businesses.

por Zack M

Apr 10, 2017

Really a great course. I recommend it to anyone interested in the Business of Games!

por Hernán D E

May 12, 2016

Great course, learnt a lot.

por Mukund V

Sep 18, 2016

An excellent course which explores the game industry and explains topics like intellectual property, teamwork, project management, and entrepreneurship.

por Joel G I

Jun 06, 2016

This course is very good for understanding the rest of what is needed to successfully complete games.

por Pamela P

May 24, 2016

Lots of great advice. Well organized and thorough.

por Andres M

Dec 01, 2015

I was pretty wary of this course from a past experience with this teacher in a previous course, but i must say he nailed it, he has manage to create great videos with concise information that will help you understand the topics at hand, and unlike his previous course they are not a chore to sit through ;), it really shows the quality was always there but some focus was missing, this really is a great course and a teacher i feel ashamed for judging so quickly.

por Alex Z

Jan 19, 2016

Amazing course. Learned a lot about teamwork and the game development business.

por Fırat E

Mar 30, 2016

I learned a lot