Chevron Left
Voltar para Os Princípios do Design de Jogos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Os Princípios do Design de Jogos da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.4
estrelas
1,329 classificações
347 avaliações

Sobre o curso

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

Melhores avaliações

JR

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC

Apr 03, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 334 Avaliações para o Os Princípios do Design de Jogos

por Benhur O J

Apr 04, 2019

Pretty poor course. The lectures are incomplete. Most of the learning process is left for the assignments. Finally, the scoring system for the assignments is very subjective leading to unfair evaluation. Please revise this course because it is a pity so low quality while first course is so good.

por Marina M

Mar 11, 2020

The course material was relevant and to the point, but I couldn't get rid of the impression of the course 'soullessness'. Here is why:

1. most of the reading materials are from early and mid-00s (and no one seems to care)

2. forums are only craving for reviews, otherwise would be dead

3. peer grading system may feel awkward when students receive lower than expected grades with no explanation from the reviewer

4. Casey O'Donnell is a great lecturer, but it feels like he had never got back to the course after recording it more than 5 years ago

Only because I had no previous knowledge of game design and the information was new to me, I can rate it now at 4*, otherwise it would be 3* or less.

Dear Coursera team, if you care about fixing these issues, please feel free to contact me for suggestions

por Omid

May 17, 2020

This course could be more fun and informative by preparing more in-depth analysis of famous games from different genres. I'm sure reverse designing a few well-known rpg, strategy, fighting, etc. games and making an actual game design document by instructor himself could give more insight than this superfluous brief overview of topics. That being said, I'm currently taking the next course in the specialization (Game Business) and I'm pretty satisfied with quality of contents so far. So while I'm not happy with this game design course, I recommend taking the next one. Cheers.

por Mete G

Feb 03, 2020

Unfortunately, the course isn't very good. The subjects are told in a very abstract way. So, you are having a really hard time while doing the assignments. The instructor just keeps asking questions after questions without really teaching anything and he always says "Right?" at the end of every sentence which becomes really annoying after a while. Instead of focusing what he tells, you concantrate to hear if he is gonna say "Right?" again or not at the end of the sentence. AND HE SAYS. HE SAYS "RIGHT?" AT THE END OF EVERY SENTENCE. It's unbelieveable.

por Alan C

Sep 07, 2016

I probably have to rate this course 5 stars just for the supplementary reading materials provided. There's a lot of great information provided here. This course helps formalize a process that highly talented people just do intuitively. With the information within, you're able to better understand different aspects of your creative process. At times, the professor's delivery can be a little distracting (he has quite a few awkward pauses in the middle of thoughts, and uses the phrase, "right?" a little too unconsciously). I also found some of the lecture material difficult to connect in a practical sense. Some aspects of the design, play, experience model could use better examples in lecture to make the points more concrete. It is a deep model, and they do in fact point you to a whitepaper published on it so there is that, but just for the sake of the lessons; the examples need better explanation. The quizzes were easy, but challenging in the wrong way. Often, questions are posed that weren't ever directly answered in lecture or the materials, and sometimes they are worded in ways that make it difficult to pinpoint what they are looking for. It would be nice to see student responses to the free-response questions make a comeback in future lessons or at least know that they could possibly carry into the material used to teach the next incoming class. The assignments follow a logical progression, and again are supplemented with great materials. The review system is a little wonky. I've posted in the boards about this. They need to make the criteria more clear. The community activity is pretty low. I'm not sure how this can be addressed, but overall this is a great course and perfect second stop on the journey towards the Game Design and Development specialization.

por Kristopher C T

Jan 23, 2019

Great framework for game design. Got me focusing on a lot of things that I hadn't considered previously. I originally felt it started kind of slow, but that is how any idea starts. It needs to go through all of the steps necessary to make it a reality and Casey O'Donnell is great at teaching the process. Recommended

por Johan R

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!

Thought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

por Khaled K

Sep 23, 2016

Excellent course, it was sure difficult at the beginning but be patient, at the end you will be amazed of the amount of game design skills you've learned! Thanks a lot professor O'Donnell!

por Brian S P J

Jun 25, 2018

Good course, but the weekly projects are very open-ended to peer discretion. I did what I was supposed to do for the final project, but got a 68% for whatever reason (no one commented any feedback). Most peers don't understand the assignments.

por Dave J

Jun 15, 2017

The hours required for the assignments is well above the 2 hours stated. Also, there is no required comments on feedback, which can be very frustrating.

Otherwise, the material is interesting, and well presented.

por Piotr R

Dec 05, 2017

This lecturer is really annoying, ... ...

...

..., right?

No seriously, the majority of the material seems quite obvious and grading rules of the submissions are so unclear ("Wow, that was amazing!"). Moreover, the pacing of the submission feels unbalanced. A game design document made in a week? o_O

por Yunxiang L

Jan 14, 2019

I do not want to be so offensive, but I hold the opinion that this course is useless at all. I will give up my ambition to accomplish the Game Design and Development Specialization after studying half of this course.

First of all, the course itself has a lot of problems. Videos presented by professor, quiz for each small unit and the final assignment for the week, these things have little relevance. Actually I can just complete the quiz without watching videos at all.

Secondly, the assignment workload for each week is not reasonable.For instance, you may write a high concept document in week one and come out with a game prototype in week four, but you cannot complete a game design document in only one week! It is impossible even for native speakers and for most people who study in Coursera we do not just have to learn from Coursera! We may have jobs or we need to seek for a job or we just to study other lessons in campus, we can not just spend one week on this ambiguous course.

Furthermore, the peer review criteria is totally ridiculous! You have only three grades to give others, 1 for accomplish the purpose , 3 for beyond the basic demand and 5 for doing some epic work. The most ridiculous thing is that we should give 1,3,5 points for one demand which is called "Does this assignment is in PDF HTML or TEXT form?" . How to let just uploading files to be "beyond" or "epic"?

To cut the long story short, only people with mature game ideas or only for people who are already act as game designers can fulfill this course successfully but I do not think they need an introductory level course to improve themselves at all.

por Ralph R

May 21, 2020

It is unfortunate, but this course is terrible. The fact that the next course in the series is taught by the same instructor is the reason I will not be completing the specialization. I skipped ahead and completed "Game Development for Modern Platforms" instead, which I recommend.

The reason for my strong feelings is the lack of real, practical content. The primary advice of the lecturer is "Well, it's also important that you think about this...". What I would desire instead is: "The greatest minds in game design have thought about this and this is what they've come up with so far."

This content exists and is out there. For instance, the director of Super Mario World has clearly explained his 4-step procedure for designing some of the best levels in gaming (you can find this on Youtube). The creator of "Crypt of the Necrodancer" has clearly explained exactly how he chooses which of his game design ideas to pursue (based on the amount and quality of the "hooks").

These practical methods that we can learn from and apply is what I would want from a course like this, but none of this type of content exists here.

This course wasted my time. I completed it because I'm not a quitter, but I won't do another course in this style.

por Tiago A N d S

Jan 27, 2020

Outdated material and it's hard to keep with the trainer.

por Pan S T

Jul 26, 2019

This course while provides good theoretical and supplementary information and theoretical knowledge on how to include mechanics and design a game using design documents and prototypes, I personally feel that some of the technical skill gaps should be accounted for via taking another course - Game Development for Modern Systems - first before taking the Game Design course. There's an assignment that required to produce a prototype, and the Introduction to Game Development course covers very specific recipes using the Unity 3D game engine. This knowledge and skill information are not sufficient to help the developer-in-training to self-develop, translating the specific mechanics the person has in-mind into a self-sufficient developed prototype. It would be great if a separate course or project module were to provide sufficient sandbox-ing and experimental ground to be flex their creativity onto their programming skills, and use that as a springboard onto the prototype game submission. Overall, this course does cover sufficient ground for students to be curious enough to explore different game genres and learn the creative process behind such developments.

por Jayanth T

Oct 04, 2016

Amazing teacher, and amazing concepts! I REALLY enjoyed going through this course and learning a lot of great concepts for getting ideas for video games, and general advice for game design!

por Ellasa S

Jul 22, 2017

I am very grateful for this course! Well-presented, great exercises and additional reading (the only suggestion would be to maybe update the material a bit, soon? :)). Really valuable!

por Lisa V

May 08, 2020

The course is superinteresting. It was a great please to dive into the processes of game design. And also helpful not only for developing games, but for other business tasks also.

por Mykyta T

Oct 30, 2017

The course itself is nice, but everything about the peer-graded assignments for weeks 2-4 just doesn't work.

por Lucas C

Jan 23, 2018

Great lectures with a passionate teacher.

por Rodrigo A S

Feb 10, 2016

The information in this course is great

por Adhiesha J

Jan 05, 2016

An exceptionally informative course that covers the more intricate principles behind the actual design of a game (not to be confused with the more technical aspects of development). From brainstorming ideas to developing a concept to actually testing your game before release, this touches on the more difficult thought processes that one may not learn by simply picking up a game engine and learning how to build a game from the ground up. Couple the concepts learned here with the technical skills from the game development courses (or your own technical experience and knowledge), and you'll be much better equipped to make a solid, marketable product.

por Luca R S

Jun 17, 2017

This course is amazing, it confronts you with questions regarding game design and forces you to find creative answers, all of this while getting your hands dirty! You'll think of the game as a pitch, then its story, then the whole thing as precisely and accurately as possible and, finally, you'll be tasked to prototype a part of it! It's an invaluable experience, and Casey O'Donnell does a really good job with the videos. There's only one question left: why aren't you taking this course yet???

por Samuel C A

Sep 29, 2020

Understanding the goals of what you want to create and being able to design and clearly communicate all the detail to the people involved in the project is essencial to its success. This course introduces us to these concepts and provides some good templates and exercises. At first it might seem it was not what you signed up for because you want to created games, but there are a lot os steps in creating a good one. Thinking, preparing and planning are some of the most important aspects.

por Dotan F

Jan 28, 2016

The concepts are good and important, writing the assignments was not so easy :)

It feels like there is a missing link between the concepts & the writing the documents.

For example -the last exercise (prototype) was not good at all for most people I checked (including myself?).

On a secondary importance level: some of the questions/answers are hard to understand or related to extras (movies, for example) I did not I need to see, so it was a bit frustrating.