Chevron Left
Voltar para Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
540 classificações
109 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind", game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Over four weeks of lectures, this advanced course considers how to design interactions between agents in order to achieve good social outcomes. Three main topics are covered: social choice theory (i.e., collective decision making and voting systems), mechanism design, and auctions. In the first week we consider the problem of aggregating different agents' preferences, discussing voting rules and the challenges faced in collective decision making. We present some of the most important theoretical results in the area: notably, Arrow's Theorem, which proves that there is no "perfect" voting system, and also the Gibbard-Satterthwaite and Muller-Satterthwaite Theorems. We move on to consider the problem of making collective decisions when agents are self interested and can strategically misreport their preferences. We explain "mechanism design" -- a broad framework for designing interactions between self-interested agents -- and give some key theoretical results. Our third week focuses on the problem of designing mechanisms to maximize aggregate happiness across agents, and presents the powerful family of Vickrey-Clarke-Groves mechanisms. The course wraps up with a fourth week that considers the problem of allocating scarce resources among self-interested agents, and that provides an introduction to auction theory. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-II-Syllabus.html There is also a predecessor course to this one, for those who want to learn or remind themselves of the basic concepts of game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/game-theory-1 An intro video can be found here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Game-Theory-2-Intro.mp4...

Melhores avaliações

AV
16 de Jul de 2020

This was a wonderful and very mathematically intensive course, but completing all the quizzes gave a great sense of accomplishment and developed my understanding of game theory and its various facets.

LV
1 de Mai de 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 109 Avaliações para o Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas

por Shiheng W

25 de Out de 2016

Great

por Noé D C A

19 de Ago de 2020

lit

por Jin-wook L

1 de Jan de 2017

e

por L H

7 de Mai de 2020

This is an absolutely fascinating course! I wish the instructors could have gone into more depth about each of the topics and also provided explanations to the problem sets like the case in the first course - the explanations helped a lot with my understanding. Nevertheless, a great introduction to the advanced applications of game theory and I look forward to a third installment!

por ZHU S

10 de Jan de 2019

The lecture are useful and the lecturer clear in their content and delivery. However, it would be better if more practices with answers can be given, and the tutorial should include questions of greater difficulty, such as those with real game settings and rules to solve for optimum strategy.

por Mikel N

4 de Mai de 2020

Not only it's a very interesting course, but also is offered free with graded quizes included. I wish it had been a little more extended, because subject is complex enough to expand it at least two or three more weeks.

por george v

18 de Fev de 2017

Great course. Nice retracing of some notions of the course Game Theory like Pareto Oprimality. Nice idea doing some examples on auctions and voting systems. Nice proofs

por Ajay K V

4 de Jun de 2020

Great course. Very relevant to a lot of problems in business. Content was overtly mathematical. More practical examples cold have been interesting to solve.

por Matthew W

5 de Nov de 2017

A lot of the important results were covered but sometimes results came out of nowhere (for example with optimal auctions and virtual valuations).

por R.Athindran

23 de Fev de 2017

Overall, the course was good. Somehow, the concepts were not as clear as the basic game theory course. Definitely more advanced.

por Chow K M

13 de Mai de 2021

The quizzes should come with feedback on explaining the answers. It will greatly aid learning.

por Ryan B

6 de Jul de 2017

A good class with a good formal description and examples of game theoretic concepts.

por Koa Y

3 de Jan de 2019

Great course, I was really overdue but am hoping to get a certificate if possible

por Affandi I

13 de Abr de 2017

Great course, but I think It could be more vivid like its predecessor

por Roland R

10 de Jan de 2018

Great Course, same parts are challenging but i learned a lot about

por Hushan J

30 de Out de 2017

it's better to give explanations of the quiz when it is passed.

por Daniel A M S

22 de Jun de 2017

It was nice to have a second part with more specific subjects.

por Aravindh B

12 de Dez de 2021

The course was well structured and highly informative.

por Arshia S

11 de Nov de 2020

This course gave me amazing insight into game theory.

por Muhua X

11 de Set de 2017

It is very challenging but also interesting

por Javier F G

14 de Mar de 2021

The quizzes are not well designed.

por carlo p

2 de Set de 2019

Excellent skills obtained

por Mufizul I

28 de Jan de 2017

Very nice

por Fred V

6 de Set de 2020

Auction theory is left to the last lecture, and the influence of voting systems on political mechanisms is barely addressed. 3 different people lecturing, with different communication skills and flaws (hesitations, over-notating, abuse of acronyms), make following the course more difficult than it needs to be. These being said, it is clear that the authors more than know their stuff (at least the theoretical part; we would like to see them perform when bargaining in a souk) and bring a lot into the course.