Chevron Left
Voltar para Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
418 classificações
75 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind", game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Over four weeks of lectures, this advanced course considers how to design interactions between agents in order to achieve good social outcomes. Three main topics are covered: social choice theory (i.e., collective decision making and voting systems), mechanism design, and auctions. In the first week we consider the problem of aggregating different agents' preferences, discussing voting rules and the challenges faced in collective decision making. We present some of the most important theoretical results in the area: notably, Arrow's Theorem, which proves that there is no "perfect" voting system, and also the Gibbard-Satterthwaite and Muller-Satterthwaite Theorems. We move on to consider the problem of making collective decisions when agents are self interested and can strategically misreport their preferences. We explain "mechanism design" -- a broad framework for designing interactions between self-interested agents -- and give some key theoretical results. Our third week focuses on the problem of designing mechanisms to maximize aggregate happiness across agents, and presents the powerful family of Vickrey-Clarke-Groves mechanisms. The course wraps up with a fourth week that considers the problem of allocating scarce resources among self-interested agents, and that provides an introduction to auction theory. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-II-Syllabus.html There is also a predecessor course to this one, for those who want to learn or remind themselves of the basic concepts of game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/game-theory-1 An intro video can be found here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Game-Theory-2-Intro.mp4...

Melhores avaliações

LV

May 02, 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

AS

Sep 11, 2016

Outstanding course on Game Theory. Provides excellent mathematical and logical treatment of the concepts and theory. A perfect stepping stone for researchers willing to pursue their research in Gam

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas

por Lisa V

May 02, 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

por Diogo C

Jul 01, 2018

Better than the first course. The topics were less familiar to me, so it opened a few more doors.I still feel like the math was neglected, most of the time. I don't expect every derivation, but at least an acknowledgement of where the formulas come from if one wants to derive them himself.The graded quizzes should have provided an explanation of the correct answers, I think. Sometimes that explanation made everything clearer to me (when I got the correct by mistake or by simple elimination).I really appreciate the reading material! At least I can now follow the subject more in-depth if I want, so that's very welcome.Overall, still feels like a fairly light overview, but it's a good introduction to the subjects of mechanism design and auctions, I feel.

por Mariano B P

May 30, 2018

Excellent! i think it shall contain more realistic examples for mechanism development and auctions

por 汪宇恒

Apr 03, 2018

too hard...need some analysis background

por Georges R

Sep 09, 2019

Really enlightening class!

I now feel empowered to create project management processes that encourage truthfulness and participation of its different stakeholders in my everyday job.

I also found some very interesting parallels with the methodology of pricing and notably price elasticity, which is key when designing a new product or its associated business model.

PS: Although I understand the importance of it being mathematically formalized, I would have loved it to be sometimes more concrete (especially through exercises and quizzes).

Thank you so much,

por Kyle L

Aug 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course quite a bit. The concepts, while very proof-heavy, could be depicted using intuitive methods of approach. And while it would have been nice for each concept to include interactive exercises- such as in Game Theory I - the repetition of quizzes and problem sets helps one to gain familiarity with the endless amount of themes and properties that get introduced each week. If you are someone that enjoys designing games or attempting to quantify human behavior, this class may offer some interesting perspectives.

por Jiang Y

Oct 30, 2019

Very interesting course! It shows some rather surprising facts for instance we cannot have perfect voting system. The beauty of game theory is it relates maths theories and real-life social economical problems nicely. The lecture itself is comprehensive and well-explained. However some content related to revenue equivalence and virtual valuation in the final exams are not covered in the lecture clips. It would be nice to include it in the lecture or provide some guidance on how to access relevent learning materials.

por Carlos C

Jun 28, 2019

The quality of the course is really high and I found it quite demanding, which is nice after the first course. It forces you to focus, review and think deeply about the meaning of the concepts. The exams are well-defined and they test properly the units. Some points aren't perfectly explained but that might be because the requirements for this course are quite high. Someone that is not used to mathematical notation would easily lose the track of the lessons. I hope that there'll be soon a Game Theory III.

por Ka L K

Apr 10, 2018

A more advanced course than Game Theory I. The topics are interesting but also in depth. Beside the lecture a lot of reading is needed if you really want to understand the concepts. After finishing this course I attend the master course in my university without difficulty to follow. The only thing for improvement is the homework. If lecturers could post some optional homeworks for students who want to train more, then this course will be really a University-level course for undergraduate students.

por Voo T V

Jan 15, 2017

5 out of 5!

I managed to finish this course in just 6 days. Pretty fascinating and practical, as it is more in depth.

Would totally recommend this to anyone who wants to know more about Game Theory. Assessments are easy relatively; a balanced number of practical calculations and theoretical questions.

All 3 instructors are friendly and experienced in lecturing, which helps a lot in understanding the materials.

:)

por Vladislav S

Jan 07, 2018

Very interesting course, however it requires a lot of effort to put in. I struggled a little bit through math and sometimes it was difficult for me to get a concept but reading adjuctment materials helped me a lot. I think this course was a great complement to my game theory studies. You definetely will learn many fascinating things about mechanism design and auctions!

por Jie H

Apr 16, 2019

This course could be better in many ways. However, I really appreciate the efforts the professors made to put up so much information into this short course. It opens many new worlds for me in the universe of game theory, and in particular, the Arrow's theorem is so astonishing that it almost refreshed my thinking on the mechanisms of voting.

por Lucas F d C M

Mar 10, 2019

The professors are great!

I think the students would profit more if there were more exercises to track their learning.

I had some difficulties because sometimes it requires an advanced level in math which I don't have.

Eventhough, I could enjoy and acquire some valuable skills.

Thank you!

Sincerily,

Lucas M.

por 苏恭超

Feb 26, 2018

This course covers some interesting topics in game theory. It gives you a taste on how some of the more advanced games work out. Some of the quiz and test problems, however, are somewhat puzzling. I would prefer that explanations in detail can be provided for students once they finish quiz and tests.

por Meghna V

Aug 25, 2017

A great course on the applications of game theory. I found this course to be extremely informative and the advanced information was taught really well through the videos. However, it would be helpful if more reading material was available to support the course videos.

por Rahul P

Nov 26, 2016

Great course and it's fun. I shall rate 5 stars. I highly recommend this course. The instructors presented difficult concepts in a lucid manner. To have more instructors teach a course gave multiple perspectives on the subject.

por Wilberth C

Feb 04, 2017

I belive that this course is usefull in computer science research, the discipline might allow us to explore alternative solutions from other approaches. Excellent instructors, excellent course! Thanks Coursera!

por Shawn A

Jan 13, 2017

An exceptional course that is extremely informative and sufficiently challenging. The best part about this course is the fact that it provides the applications of all the theoretical aspects of game theory.

por Avik S

Sep 11, 2016

Outstanding course on Game Theory. Provides excellent mathematical and logical treatment of the concepts and theory. A perfect stepping stone for researchers willing to pursue their research in Gam

por Meetkumar J P

Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on game theory. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you Stanford University,The University of British Columbia and Coursera.

por Ashish k

Jan 10, 2019

Brilliant mind-teaser, helps you form skills that will lead to logical thinking in strategic interplays between everyday events and even the more complex one.

por Li W

Jan 19, 2018

Great, the Problem set very helpful to understand the core of Mechanism Design conception. Thanks the 3 professores 's instruction.

por Anders A

Mar 13, 2018

Solid through the entire course, good lectures and interesting tasks. Only missing a few explanations in some of the task.

por Roger G

Feb 18, 2018

Excellent course, I wish it was longer to have more examples but very interesting and well taught material

por Lee S Y

Jan 06, 2018

Lectures were clear and quizzes were effective. Could have helped to explain solutions in the quiz though.