Chevron Left
Voltar para Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design da instituição Google

4.8
estrelas
48,393 classificações

Sobre o curso

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is the first of a series of seven courses that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience design. UX designers focus on the interactions that people have with products like websites, mobile apps, and physical objects. UX designers make those everyday interactions usable, enjoyable, and accessible. The role of an entry-level UX designer might include empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes, prototypes, and mockups, and testing designs to get feedback. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define the field of UX and explain why it’s important for consumers and businesses. - Understand foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, and equity-focused design. - Identify the factors that contribute to great user experience design. - Review common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. - Explore job opportunities and career paths within the field of user experience. - Explain why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work. - Describe common UX research methods. - Identify and account for biases in UX research....

Melhores avaliações

SK

8 de ago de 2021

This course inspired me, before taking this course I have been used some UX Design communities, I have worked in Adobe XD Design. This course explains the right way and UX process. I like this mentor.

AD

13 de mai de 2021

This course introduced me to the world of UX Design. It has also encouraged me to go deeper in this field and explore more. Thank you, Google, Coursera, Commonwealth, and the Government of Bangladesh.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 9,756 Avaliações para o Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

por Измайлов И И

20 de nov de 2021

Too much information about finding a job. I don't like it, I just want to learn UX Design

por Eleonora L

7 de dez de 2021

more than ux foundations, it was a course about UX designer job

por Pelit M

11 de jan de 2023

Sorry, it's clear some effort was put into this course, but it doesn't have a single example of a product UX, customer survey etc. It's merely a course about corporate bureaucracy, not design.

por C. R

22 de jul de 2021

Better information can be found on YouTube for free from more engaging individuals.

por Adham E

12 de jun de 2022

The Course is great for absolute Beginners!

por Lubna R

11 de out de 2021

I had finished up my ocurse and was in the process to submit my last week quiz where I lost all my work and previously completed workdone on the cousea. Now it reset to start over again which make no sense to waste time and money for the repeated material and charging fee on my account. Useless and closing the account for no gain in any sense. Don not recommend to any one.

por AK C

18 de ago de 2021

All the 4 courses I enrolled in were ok!. I didn't find it great. The instructors were just reading out from the screen. I wanted to experience real teaching. Some assignments were fun, but overall it's time to change the teaching style. 

por Joey F

13 de nov de 2021

I tried to cancel my free trial, but I received some errors from the server. Well, it left me with a charge for the first month and I'm not sure how to get reimbursed as to how I do not need this course.

por Tommy V

7 de nov de 2021

Didn't really learn much of HOW to actually do anything. All that was taught was what things meant like "What does it mean to be a UX Designer".

por isaias B

25 de set de 2021

Ja estava na 4 semana e todo meu processo sumiu, tendo que comercar tudo novamente, fique decepcionado.

por Dee V

5 de mai de 2022

Coursera is a poorly designed platform.

por Madu B

21 de set de 2021

The lessons, be it video, reading etc., was well structured and the flow of course was excellent. To me the teachings/concepts came through well from the instructors and the readings and thank you all for that. I find this program to be comprehensive in the sense the UX was delightful particularly when I experienced the effort by the training's designer viewing the student from a 360 degree perspective and giving answers/info even before it comes to the mind of the student. For example, setting up the social media accounts, networking, ways to search for getting jobs and the types of jobs possible are some aspects given as part of the training in the program, bravo!

I have some suggestions to make, please advise as to what email I should send it to?

Best regards,

Madu.

(Madurai Bharani)

farmermadu@gmail.com

https://www.linkedin.com/in/maduraibharani

===============Given below are my suggestions for your consideration ===============

Following are my suggestions, I noted down as I was going through the lessons, I apologize if some of the suggestions below are more out of my ignorance!

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design

=================================

9/3/21

Suggestion:

Provide a one click saving as pdf the lesson the text part and graphics in the local drive.It shall help for offline viewing and allow local storage.

Add following name tags to Course items to the file tree on the left side of the screen.:

“1C1T” which will be First Course, First Item which is a Text  or V for video, D for discussion etc.. Advantage of this naming protocol is, the name tags displays the actual order of the Courses and Items within as in the original listing hence when viewing or sorting the files im the local drive. Also if the student wants to communicate with Coursera or Google  for clarification or suggestion such name tags could help

=================================

9/4/21

In the last screen Participant entry survey

“Thank you for completing … learning journey!” hitting the highlighted thank you button should close the screen as well instead of moving the cursor the “x” on the top right corner, because to hit the highlighted Thank you button is more an intuitive and reflex action and hitting also completes the process of the survey as required. It also saves the mousing moving time!!

=================================

9/5/2021

In the last screen  in “Commit to completing the program”

Clicking on the button “SAVE MY COMMITMENT” doesn't close the screen, have to click on the “x” on top right corner.

=================================

9/7/21

The text does not automatically scroll when  reading the highlighted texts after minimizing video.

=================================

9/11/21

Mark as completed button not visible at end of video UX design jobs at different types of companies

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design/lecture/qmNYM/ux-design-jobs-at-different-types-of-companies

=================================

9/11/21

In the: Reading The influence of company size and industry

Under advantages for all the categories of company size and type it would help if an outline of employment benefit is mentioned for eg: 

Large company may have base salary + 401K + Health Insurance

Startups may have base salary only and employing as independent contractor with stock options

=================================

9/15/21

In

Week 2

Reading : Think like a designer: Learn more about different design frameworks

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design/supplement/aJY8z/think-like-a-designer-learn-more-about-different-design-frameworks

Given in the Reading:

Keep in mind that the Google UX Design Certificate was built with the design process in mind. 

Shouldn't the above read as follows:

Keep in mind that the Google UX Design Certificate was built with the  design thinking process in mind. 

====================================

9/16/21

Quiz in video may include audio as well?

====================================

9/20/21

Add a checklist for the week and end of course of what has been taught! Apart from the glossary that is provided for each week!

====================================

por Daijah R

24 de mar de 2021

I 100% recommend this course. Whether you're a new designer, or someone who has had formal training in UX and looking to brush up your skills, it's worth it.\n\nContent: The course is very intentional about focusing on research, testing, and user-centric best practices, while remaining relevant to current trends in UX. The instruction prioritizes accessibility and inclusivity which is often missed in introductory design courses. You do not need prior knowledge of UX, and very minimal knowledge of tech in general! From the very beginning, the instructors explain EVERYTHING you need to know. There are numerous resources provided throughout the course for added success such as training for tools, readings, and discussion. The content is so helpful that you're rarely left with questions, and when you are, there is opportunity to contribute to a peer discussion board.\n\nTime expectations: One of the greatest parts of the course is being able to work at your own pace. I typically have a pretty busy schedule and was able to complete assignments during the allotted time I had set aside to work. If you're a career-pivoter or someone working full time, you would absolutely still be able to be successful. While the self-timed work is great, sometimes it can be a bit intimidating so I was also grateful that while I am able to work at my own pace, the course also sets time expectations. The peer graded work also helps to motivate you to work efficiently!\n\nCompared to other courses/bootcamps: I have had experience with other introductory UX courses, and this by far has been among my favorites. I appreciate that the course allows you to be on an individual track while also being able to interact with peers who are also learning. Additionally, I find that other courses may focus way too much on work outside of UX. I really enjoyed that this course set the foundation for User Experience principles rather than solely focusing on visual elements and tech jargon.\n\nOverall, this course was accessible for people of all experience levels! I recommend beginning with this course and continuing with the accompanying courses for a well-rounded education of UX Design.

por RAWAA H H A

17 de jan de 2023

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is a crucial aspect of creating successful products and services. It involves understanding the needs and goals of the users, and designing a product or service that meets those needs in an intuitive and efficient way.

UX design begins with research, including user interviews, surveys, and usability testing, to gather information about the target audience and their pain points. This information is then used to create personas and user scenarios, which help inform the design process.

Next, wireframes and prototypes are created to test the design and gather feedback from users. These iterative design processes continue until the final product meets the needs of the users and is easy to use.

Good UX design also takes into account accessibility and inclusivity, ensuring that the product can be used by people with disabilities and diverse backgrounds.

In summary, foundations of UX design involve understanding user needs, testing and iterating designs, and creating a final product that is easy to use and accessible to all.

por Robyn S

14 de mar de 2022

I Think this course was great! however I think some of the information was redundant. I think some of the information was redundant because in some cases the speaker will introduce you to a new a topic and or a new vocabulary word because it coinscides with the currentl lesson your're learning, then you'll read about that same topic or vocab word, later in the course, and then you'll get reintruduced to that same topic or vocab word but in more detail and have to watch a video that goes into more detail also. It was confusing at times because I took a lot of notes, and knew that I had already wrote notes for a specific topic already, or learned a certain vocab word already becauseI wrote notes on it, only to come across that info again but in more detail later in the course which made me feel like I was learning about the same thing twice in some cases. I wish they simply kept certain topics seperate and not introduced them early in the learning, give basic yet super understandable definitions, only to introduce it again in more detail.

por Benita A

31 de mar de 2022

M'hean!

This course wa DOPE! I mean, the style of learning is way better than my experience in my Masters program.

The course guide is very intelligent, humble in his approach and succint... The style of intsruction was really clear.

Each lesson was backed up with graded assignments and activities that'd make students assess their knowledge, and practice active recall instead which tasks the brain to retain information better.

If you're considering taking this course (along with the 6 other courses in this professional program), then just go ahead. I even took the first step of creating a portfolio for my "FUTURE' DESIGNS; even though I don't have any design yet. What I'm saying in essence is that the course content and instructors makes you feel very confient in what your are KNOWING, you don't have to have fully mastered the course to feel confident.

By the way, we get to build 3 real projects as we progess in the course which we will upload on our portfolio...

Thank you very much, Google!!!

Thank you Coursera!!!

por Riz A

25 de mar de 2021

"The building is a tall as the foundation is strong enough to build on"Excited completing the first module of the Google UX Design Certification course. A course which I wish I had when I started out in UX design seriously 10 years ago. I certainly enjoyed it because I entered the course with a learning mindset. Putting aside all the things that you know, experiences and unlearning what you have learned on the job, there are new things which I learned. A few takeaways from me—inclusive design, accessibility which I rarely get the opportunity to even work on this, and my favourite, personal branding as a UX designer. This got me seriously thinking deep about values and personal statements. Thanks to Michael Cedric k, Lisa Fischer, Shabnam Kashani, Kartik Rao, Juan Angustia, Josh Lucas for putting together these content and making it relevant. I can see this took months to put together. Looking forward to continue this with the Googlers in the rest of the course.#growwithgoogle #userexperiencedesign #uxdesign

por Emily S

23 de jun de 2022

I am obtaining this certificate as additional experience on UX design, I have already taken an HCI course in college that covered everything discussed in this course. I found it to be a great refresher though, and a great introductory course for new learners, with only a few small concerns. Firstly, I disliked not having the ability to return to my discussion post and see what others replied with. I wish it would have a better search feature or an option to view my post within a thread. Secondly, there were a few times where the ordering of what the instructor said change when giving the definition on screen. It made me stop and question the flow, especially if others didn't pick it up and got confused about the material. Lastly, there was one interactive learning exercise that was not designed well. It had the text over dark colored or just viewly distracting graphics which made it hard to read. Overall, I am excited to continue with this certificate and build up my resume before job searching.

por Sohrab P

19 de out de 2021

I learned a lot, but the most important thing for me is the attitude of big companies like Google in software development, giving great importance to user experience design.

Things like accessibility and its importance and design for a billion people who do not currently have access to the Internet and mobile phones (NBU) really change my view of software design and development.

The way of teaching the content and the detailed view, which was present in Design Sprint, for example. That all the details were mentioned, even the ice breaker.

Topics like impostor syndrome were also explained to remind novices that their fears and anxieties are normal, and someone as vice president of user experience at Google (Catherine) talked about their shared experience. It was wonderful and unique.

I have about fifteen years of full-time teaching experience in college, and what impressed me most about this course was its outstanding perspective and unique teaching methods.

por NITESH V

17 de mai de 2022

Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that a UX designer creates an app for saving, organizing, and streaming podcasts. To learn about users' experiences with their product, the designer conducts interviews with a select group of target users: podcast enthusiasts. The research team has a hypothesis that podcast enthusiasts prefer long-form, polished content—rather than talk radio and news—so they ask a ser Question 12

Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that a UX designer creates an app for saving, organizing, and streaming podcasts. To learn about users' experiences with their product, the designer conducts interviews with a select group of target users: podcast enthusiasts. The research team has a hypothesis that podcast enthusiasts prefer long-form, polished content—rather than talk radio and news—so they ask a series of questions about how users interact with this content.

ies of questions about how users interact with this content.

por Liudmila M

23 de jul de 2021

Overall, the course is brilliant, well-prepared, and affordable.

A few things did bother me, though:

1) I felt a bit forced to join the social media sites/ communities. They explained how to participate and network well, but I could have created the profiles at the end of the course. (the complete course)

2) I found the course had a specific target audience: young enthusiastic professionals. That's the impression the tone of the course gave me. It didn't seem inclusive enough for older people or those who struggle mentally, for example.

3) The course educates about Usability, but some of the examples of profiles and websites were not user-friendly (in my opinion, anyway.)

I did give the course 5 stars because, overall, it was well-organized, and I will definetely continue participating in it.

por Emmanuel O

2 de jul de 2022

It was very interesting to learn how much psychology goes into UX design. It's all about how a user reacts and interacts with a product or service and getting to the bottom of the problems that they have. I really enjoyed learning about UX as a whole, I had little to no idea what UX was, and thought it was a part of the UX/UI combo. However, UX is completely user-centered and is multifaceted in its approach to solving user problems. I can't narrow one subject down as my favorite, since all of them were very insightful. The most difficult thing to learn for me was the first week of content, simply because it went against all the biases about my knowledge of UX Design. I enjoyed this course and flew through it because I couldn't wait to see what was up next.

por Elizabeth W

6 de jan de 2022

An excellent introduction into the UX Design career. There is a lot packed into four weeks: an introduction into the career, the role of a UX designer, how you fit into different UX work models such as design sprints, and how to brand yourself as a professional UX designer. Within each week, the content is broken into bite-sized video lectures, readings, activities and discussion forums. It's engaging, yet flexible enough for me to go at my own pace and still meet deadlines. I just finished and feel confident, ready for the next phase of the Google UX Designer certification program!

Anyone curious about UX should take this course- it gives you a great understanding of the industry and a better feel for whether a career in UX is worthwhile to you!

por Shweta R

26 de jun de 2022

It was great!

I learned so much down to the absolute details, though these discussion prompts were my least favourite part. Other than that, I loved how simply yet in detail all the lovely professors explained each topic. On an impromptu note, I also loved how everything was so casual and that all the teachers had casual outfits. It was a totally pressure-free environment. The casual approach helped me not stress about this course, as I'm already going through depression. In fact, I used to look forward to all those motivational clips from your employees. I loved every bit of this course except for the discussion prompts. There were just too many of them.

Loved the colours and the way things were presented too. UX course afterall ; >

Great job guys!

por Eve

29 de abr de 2021

I had seen a lot of videos of UX Designers talking about their careers on YouTube, but none of their insight provided me with the solid understanding that this course did. Despite it being an introductory course, you learn so much about UX Design, its principles, methods, and what the day-to-day may look like for you. They prepare you to build your portfolio and professional network, which is an invaluable asset for any aspiring designer who is really passionate about learning and going the extra mile to be the best they can be. I highly recommend this course. I learned so much and gained critical insight into UX Design. The friendly, easy-to-follow guidance makes you feel valued without having entered the field yet in an official capacity.