Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução às Ciências Forenses

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução às Ciências Forenses da instituição Universidade Tecnológica de Nanyang, Cingapura

4.8
567 classificações
155 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Melhores avaliações

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

ER

Nov 20, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I have taken. It's intriguing and thought-provoking while providing fascinating information and going into detail on how forensic science works.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução às Ciências Forenses

por Irina S

Aug 05, 2018

A very interesting course. Careful choice of material. Roderick Bates is an excellent teacher!

por Nathan P K

Aug 10, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I was always somewhat interested in Forensic Science, which was realized through the popular relevant TV shows like CSI, but after having taken a real, educational course on the profession, I have learned that there is a lot more to deducing crime scenes and figuring out the nitty-gritty.

This course does a very good job of introducing students to the basics of Forensic Science. The multiple choice quizzes do test your knowledge, but I believe the real test of knowledge comes from the two case studies that you have to complete. You are met with different scenarios and you must determine, through your knowledge of Forensics and given evidence, the most likely outcome of a crime scene.

Overall, I truly enjoyed this course and recommend it to anyone who even has a slight interest in Forensic Science, or even to just develop your ability in problem-solving and attention to detail. Even if you don't, this course will benefit you in one way or another.

por Joyce J

Aug 12, 2018

Incredibly interesting! Would definitely recommend.

por Adriana R S L

Aug 15, 2018

its educational and the cases helps you to understand in an easier way, it was also a good reminder of some old learned info stacked in the back of my brain...highly recommended!!

por Ankit

Sep 03, 2018

I'm having best experience ever, learning in such way great way just splendid, i would prefer this rather then classroom..

por jagjit

Sep 21, 2018

Awesome Course, lots of learning. I learnt good deal.

por Kaleem U

Oct 03, 2018

Absorbable, informative

por Arjun R M

Aug 11, 2017

Very informative course giving a lot of practical experience. Loved it.

por Elizabeth K

Feb 06, 2018

Fantastic introduction to the area of Forensic Science! Very thorough and informative with a lot of detail on many subject areas. I enjoyed every second of this course and feel like I now have a more advanced knowledge of Forensics. Great at busting myths seen on TV shows such as CSI!

por Melissa M

Sep 26, 2016

I love this course. I have been waiting for this course to restart for months. I hope it gets archived so I can revisit it when I need to.

por Nadia H

Nov 15, 2016

Amazing course more interesting than tv shows:)

I recommand.

por Islam M E E

Jun 24, 2017

Excellent job Dr.Rodrick! i want more lectures..

por Giulia G S

Jan 26, 2017

Wonderfull, I loved so much

por Yin C T

Feb 26, 2017

Many case study examples to illustrate forensic techniques, interesting and inspiring!

por CarolAnn T

Aug 14, 2017

Great course

Informative, I would recommend this course

por GARIMELLA R M

Sep 12, 2017

Great course. Prof. Bates is genius and a great teacher. I love this course very much. I am expecting sequence or specialization from same University and same professor.

Thanks for giving us an opportunity to express our feelings towards a course in coursera.

por Carlos M B B

Dec 20, 2017

Very challenging experience!

por Iga T

Jan 04, 2017

Very good course that provides a little more than only basics of forensic science at the same time giving overview of the major areas that this subject covers. Mr Roderick Bates explains everything very clearly implementing new ideas gradually. I loved plethora of examples and case studies. Assignments made learning enjoyable.

por Chris V G

Feb 20, 2017

Excellent introduction!

por Nicolo G C

Aug 24, 2016

Super interesting course.

Would be great to have more Courses about forensic science

por Ruwaya A

Dec 26, 2017

very interesting course that is explained in an easy way to understand, soooooo useful

por Elisavet C

Nov 12, 2016

An amazing course with plenty interesting information. I was personally astonished from the quality of the material. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in learning and loves to be challenged.

por Patelaki E

Jul 01, 2017

PERFECT EXPERIENCE!!!!!!

por Amber v H

May 01, 2017

Nice course, very interesting.

por Jinping S

Feb 03, 2018

This is one of the best courses in MOOC domain.