Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução às Ciências Forenses

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução às Ciências Forenses da instituição Universidade Tecnológica de Nanyang, Cingapura

4.9
estrelas
1,082 classificações
333 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Melhores avaliações

NU

Jun 18, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 328 Avaliações para o Introdução às Ciências Forenses

por Di L

Aug 07, 2019

Great course. I found the material to be engaging but also presented in a scientific way. The examples and practical applications of techniques ensured understanding of different scientific concepts. I would highly recommend this course for any person interested in forensic science and application.

por Abby H

Aug 14, 2017

Very fun and interesting course. Learned a lot about the field of Forensics with little background in it to begin with. Has a few quizzes on materials and a couple of fun peer reviewed assignments where you interpret a crime scene. Definitely recommend this for anyone with an interest in forensics.

por Pablo C

Apr 14, 2020

Really gives a good introduction, not only into the subject matter but also into the mindset of a forensic scientist. Even though it is a online course, laboratory methods are demonstrated which gives you additional knowledge, not only of theoretic methods but also the practical application.

por MARIA A P A

Sep 06, 2020

I enjoyed it because it presents a lot of examples. The basic concepts are explained clearly and help to understand the techniques if you are not used to topics of biology and chemistry. I liked the assignments where I tried to solve murder cases with the knowledge learned in the lessons.

por Olga

Apr 11, 2020

Brilliant course! Thank you for putting such an insightful and interesting course together! The case study practical tasks were great practice and the quizzes encompassing all of the previous learning up to that point is a great way to ensure that nothing is forgotten. Highly recommended!

por Elizabeth K

Feb 06, 2018

Fantastic introduction to the area of Forensic Science! Very thorough and informative with a lot of detail on many subject areas. I enjoyed every second of this course and feel like I now have a more advanced knowledge of Forensics. Great at busting myths seen on TV shows such as CSI!

por Jahnavi Z

Aug 04, 2020

I had a good time learning this course. The instructor was very much clear and good at explanations. The lessons, assignments and case studies were well designed and organised.

I will definitely recommend this course to my friends. Thank you so much for such a good opportunity.

por G G D

Jul 15, 2020

I've always been wanting to learn Forensic science as it is a very interesting subject and Coursera made it possible in a commendable way!

I thoroughly enjoyed studying and would like to thank Coursera for providing this opportunity which reaches millions of students.

por Niloufer K K

May 03, 2020

Amazing Course!!! :) Roderick Bates Sir is amazing!!! He has explained everything very simply and yet covering details... :) As I watched more videos my curiosity to learn more only increased!!! Also, peer-reviewing was fun!!! :) I strongly recommend this course!!! :)

por Trevor J H

Apr 10, 2018

Lots of effort went into this course by Dr Roderick Bates. It was extremely interesting and informative and easily understood. The video material and examples are superb. I enjoyed doing the murder cases. One of the best courses so far Ive done here at coursera.

por GARIMELLA R M

Sep 12, 2017

Great course. Prof. Bates is genius and a great teacher. I love this course very much. I am expecting sequence or specialization from same University and same professor.

Thanks for giving us an opportunity to express our feelings towards a course in coursera.

por Sandhya.P

Aug 28, 2020

This is an outstanding platform to learn a course effectively. My keen interest in Forensic science prompted me to take this course and it was very fruitful. I could understand more about it and this actually increased my enthusiasm in forensic science.

por Seow Y D

Aug 11, 2019

I am truly grateful to Coursea for granting me a financial aid to pursue this course at essentially zero cost. I have learned many techniques and case studies from this forensics science course without having the stress of failing the module in school.

por Nerea W

May 29, 2018

It's a great course, everything is so entertaining. Altho so far there is a sexist comment saying that a woman professor did not really look like a forensics expert, she looked like the perfect professor to me ;) . But apart from that it is all good.

por Anna L

May 11, 2017

I am fascinated by the Forensic Science field and this course was invaluable for me. Now that I have completed this course I am considering undertaking more courses about this subject. The tutor was excellent, came across friendly and knowledgable.

por Priscilla A

Sep 08, 2020

It was a great course, very simple to understand and the fact that there are both multiple-choice test as well as assignments which require you to review your peers, help you to learn more, through different people's perspectives. That's awesome.

por Abu H

Aug 02, 2019

This Course was really basic and fundamental information that contain helpful material in Forensic Science chemistry. So, I enjoy a lot throughout the course, and learnt many new points and cases that is really essential for my future prospectus.

por Shobhraj S P

Feb 22, 2018

Its been great to be apart of this course, the content was super informative. Special thanks to our professor who's been super good in explaining each and every aspect of this course relating forensic science techniques. Proud learner, Thanks !!

por Jayaraam R

May 19, 2020

Excellent content, a highly competent instructor who knows his stuff. Very relevant demonstrations and case studies. I enjoyed doing the peer-graded assignments. Overall, a very enlightening course. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

por Rodolfo Q L

May 28, 2020

That was a complex and wide course involving great amount of themes. There was quite prominence related chemistry. It demanded effort and discipline to assimilate correctly certain concepts. The instructor is very intelligent and objective.

por Priyatharshini A

Feb 28, 2020

I love to study forensic science course. So, I joined this course. I loved this lecture videos. The way of teaching was very awesome and interesting. I gained more knowledge on forensic science. Thank you so much for this valuable lecture.

por Sander T

Nov 15, 2018

Really liked this course. Great teacher! great powerpoints! Also for people who don't speak english quite often! I'm not a legend in the language but i could follow everything beceause of the catchwords in the powerpoints. 10/10.

por Rob A

May 25, 2020

Excellent course. Well presented with interesting case studies. The lecturer has very good presentation skills in a confident manner that in turn gives you, as a student, confidence in what is being taught. Thank You - Coursera.

por Anushree S

Jun 22, 2020

This course is very very useful to learn the introduction of forensic science. Sir Roderick bates taught the lessons in very very effective manner. I really liked his way of teaching. Thank you so much for this opportunity.