Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Forensic Science

Introduction to Forensic Science, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

4.8
411 classificações
119 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Melhores avaliações

por ER

Nov 20, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I have taken. It's intriguing and thought-provoking while providing fascinating information and going into detail on how forensic science works.

por VV

Oct 13, 2016

Professor Roderick Bates is a fantastic lecturer. It is my first time back at school in 23 years and I followed his classes with ease. Highly recommended course for everyone.

Filtrar por:

115 avaliações

por Adithya

Nov 17, 2018

The Worst Part: The peer-graded assignment were the peers think that the example for marking criteria as answers and reward you with 0 marks for your idea and explanation, thus making you to redo the assignment for another 1 to 2 hour (Time taken by me for doing once. I failed and again did the assignment for another 1 to 2 hours because I was creative.)

The better part: Is the lecture where the instructors gives demonstration how to use the instruments such Chromatography, Spectrometer and also some experiments such as detection of blood and certain chemical compounds.

My suggestion is not to register for the certificate but instead just go through the free contents i.e. videos and you'll get an amazing knowledge and techniques used in FORENSIC SCIENCE.

por Sander Timmermans

Nov 15, 2018

Really liked this course. Great teacher! great powerpoints! Also for people who don't speak english quite often! I'm not a legend in the language but i could follow everything beceause of the catchwords in the powerpoints. 10/10.

por Jonathan Vazquez Perez

Nov 11, 2018

Very helpful class and a lot of interesting material and real cases. The professor and mentor are excellent and very helpful. Great class I would lovely recommend it

por Rajatendra Ray

Nov 09, 2018

Excellent course.Got to learn a lot.

por Jacki Tipton

Nov 08, 2018

Fantastic! i learnt so much more than i thought i would. highly recommend!!!

por Olushola Aboyade

Nov 07, 2018

Thank you

por Veronica Emily

Nov 05, 2018

I loved the videos and the extensive information provided about the various kinds of technology available for characterizing a substance, etc. My favorite videos are of the lecturer in the lab showing the viewer how to use these tools. My one complaint is that I wish the peer-reviewed graded assessments were more detailed/more accurately tested our understanding of the great information provided in the lectures.

por Brandy Amos

Oct 25, 2018

Soooo interesting. Loved the real life case studies.

por Sanne Aalbers

Oct 09, 2018

If you're a CSI fan and that is the main reason for following this course, you might find this course interesting. But as someone who works within the field, I found some anecdotes/examples downright cringe-worthy or inappropriate and came across a couple of statements and quiz questions that are very questionable and/or misleading.

I think it's ironic that it starts with addressing how CSI can give the wrong impression of what the field really entails, and then continues using a lot of sensational content, with a presenter wearing goggles and a lab coat, and using introduction slides with a tune that sounds like it is coming directly from one of these shows.

As the course name suggests, it does give an introduction to Forensic Science, but I'd argue that it would benefit from adding some more sophisticated principles that lie at the heart of this profession. Students following this course, without a more proper background within the field, would very likely still suffer from the type of bias that is sometimes (not coincidentally) called the CSI effect.

por

Oct 08, 2018

quite gooodddddd