Chevron Left
Voltar para Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Stanford Introduction to Food and Health da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
14,778 classificações
4,415 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Melhores avaliações

VI

May 11, 2020

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 4,385 Avaliações para o Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

por Emil

Apr 09, 2020

This is a very pleasant course. The main reasons I took it was, that it offered translations in a European language. Also Stanford has a reputation for an elite university, so receiving information regarding this topic was interesting to me. I have say, that the last week 5 was looked like more like some kind of a mixture between kitchen show and a kids show. I think this was too much for me.

por Liliana B

Jun 19, 2020

Muy contenta por el contenido del curso, me aportó una mirada amplia sobre la elección de los alimentos, su valor nutricional y conocer mas profundamente sobre los productos refinados, sus componentes y su bajo aporte para una alimentación saludable.

Muy interesante adquirir tanta información sobre la correcta lectura de las etiquetas y la revalorización de cocinar en casa.

Muchas gracias!!!

por Maria d M P M

May 10, 2018

I really enjoyed the course and all the little tips the professors gave to make eating healthy easier. Also, all the historical explanations for why we got to eating so badly were very interesting. I only felt it was a little too short, I would really have loved for the course to talk more about labeling, which ingredients to avoid but also which certifications/claims are really trustworthy.

por Jana J G D

Jun 03, 2020

The course for me is very enriching. It highly affirms my passion on food and health. I am grateful of this course that is readily available on line. The learning processes and the time pacing are very liberating. Even if I studied solo, it was fun. Everything I guess is designed for custom-made learning. The pacing works for me. I am grateful and completely satisfied. Great pat on my back.

por Diana

Sep 25, 2019

I am amazed! This course is on the best I've applied to so far. It includes everything, from information about metabolism, healthy and unhealthy food, how to read nutrient labels, to tasty cooking recipes. What I liked the most is the fact that it'n not too long but it has everything you need. The less is more! Thank you so much for teaching me and showing me what it takes to eat healthy.

por Deepthi G N

May 11, 2020

I was thrilled when I joined the course and the thrill continued till the end . I learnt that quality of the food is what matters first and how to shape my eating plate with nutrition. Avoid junk foods is the mantra of mine from now on. Finally I learnt that at the end of our day we eat food not the nutrition content. Thanks to Honoured Stanford University for shaping such a good course.

por Carolina M

Jun 01, 2020

Aunque es un curso de iniciación se tocan temas muy muy interesantes que te ayudan a comprender mejor cómo llevar un estilo de vida saludable y una alimentación adecuada que perdure en el tiempo. Totalmente recomendado tanto si ya tienes un nivel en el tema dietético como si no tienes idea al respecto. Sencillo de comprender, directo y mucho donde sacar jugo y aprender. Muchas gracias.

por Humyra A M

Jun 23, 2020

This course help me a lot to improve my lifestyle. I suffer from different diseases all year round. But after starting this course I'm able to change my diet and lifestyle. I want to thanks Coursers and Stanford University for arranging this type of courses in online. I believe, it is really helpful for the students as well as for others to gain knowledge in broader way. Thank you.

por William T

Apr 14, 2020

helps me with the proportional food consumption for people. and help me to know that it is important to live healthy. my self is an high schooler and i think this lesson gave me an advice to see that we need more nutrients rather than calories or in other words we need to stay healthy rather than stay full with no nutrients in it. Thank you for giving me this course, this means a lot

por Olga G

May 14, 2018

Amazing course! I totally recommend this great course. Very informative, well structured. A great introduction to the topic of food and health, a very well-rounded course, excellently delivered. I finished it in about a couple of days. I was eager to watch the next chapter. I knew most of the concepts, but it was refreshing to re-learn them in such a structured way. Great course, e

por Sohail N K

Apr 07, 2020

It is a nice course that unravels a few myths about food and nicely finishes with actual cooking lessons. Honestly I never thought cooking was so easy and fun. Best part is about EMPOWERMENT over what I eat in a world full of industry produced edible food like substances. I loved it. A beginning of my journey in the world of FOOD and not just about finding right nutrients. BRAVO

por Muhammad M A

Jul 09, 2019

The Stanford Introduction to Food and Health has given me an edge on other people around me. Since I am practicing weight training and fitness workshops for past 12 months. The course will empower me to help others who are striving for weight loss and fitness. I will take more courses available on Coursera related to health. Thank you Maya MD and Team. Thank you Stanford.

Cheers!

por Asley P

Oct 04, 2017

This course is AMAZING. The content is practical and easy to understand. It is safe to say that the designers of this course truly care about our well being, and would like to help us live a long, satisfying, healthy life. It just so happens that eating food, not too much, and mostly plants, is a critical piece to that goal. Do yourself and your family a favor, TAKE THIS COURSE!

por Remi M

Jan 15, 2019

The course includes multiple ways of learning and makes it easy to study while working, studying and other life obligations. It was very nice to see Maya include her children in the videos as it is never to soon to teach children that food is good, fun and starting with healthy attitudes towards foods. I like that the videos are short and easy to follow and the text is below.

por Adarsh S

May 17, 2020

I found this course to be very useful, as food is without a doubt, one of the most important things in our life, and the fact that in order to maintain our body, high processed foods should be avoided at the most and less processed foods, like fruits, vegetables and meat should be consumed, and that too in a moderate amount in order to maintain a proper and healthy lifestyle.

por Camille P

Apr 19, 2018

I was so satisfied with this course. The information was easy to absorb, and I appreciated the references to the science behind the nutrition. I recommend this course for anyone who is looking for Nutrition 101 and tired of all the fad diets claiming all sorts of nonsense. Food is part of our culture and should be enjoyed, and this course most definitely promotes that mindset!

por Jhonatan J A E

Jan 23, 2017

The lectures are short and pragmatic, addressing the most relevant points of interest of an average person towards nutrition. Almost every of these lectures provide simple and doable advice to implement it right away, while all the information is research-based. Assessments allow you to strenghten your insights upon the information given through precise and thorough feed-back.

por DR J M

Feb 14, 2020

Rrespected Sir/Madam,With your kind attention I inform that I purchased the certificate of Stanford Introduction of Food and Health by STANFORD UNIVERSITY . But I cannot get any information still today .So I am very sorry for negligence about my payment on 07 .01.2020.Thanks for kind cooperation. Yous faithfully, DR.JOYDEV MONDAL, Email:drmondaljoy2019@gmail.com.

por Veleka G

Aug 27, 2019

I already knew a lot of the things discussed here befor eundertaking the course but I think that only made me appreciate more how well it was structured and how clearly it presented so much and such important information about health and nutrition. I really also liked the combination of theory and practice. I would happily take a Part 2 of this course should one be released.

por Ariadna R G

Aug 27, 2018

Un curso muy interesante, los vídeos están subtitulados al español, pero no así los test, aunque considero que esto no es un grave problema, ya que se trata de un vocabulario sencillo de entender. Por lo que, si alguien no domina mucho el inglés, le recomiendo que no se preocupe y haga el curso, pues no encontrará una gran dificultad y sí le aportará buenos conocimientos .

por Gineth O

Mar 22, 2017

Una excelente introducción al Mundo de los Alimentos, la Nutrición y la Salud. De manera simple pero con un muy buen nivel , la Doctora explica los diferentes tipos de alimentos, su naturaleza , y la mejor forma de utilizarlos . Igualmente nos introduce en el tema de los alimentos procesados y en los peligros que estos pueden constituir para nuestra salud. Muy recomendado.

por Jitka S

Feb 12, 2020

Great to get the basics of what eating healthy means. It is short and concise, you get the necessary information in an understandable and structured way. It is good for those who want to start eating healthy and don't know how to do it. However it is not meant for someone who already eats healthy and would like to get a bit more insight into the science behind nutrition.

por Judith S B

Feb 05, 2016

Excelente curso me encanto!! Realmente es muy importante verlo para introducirnos en los cuidados necesarios de nuestra salud que inicia con el mantenimiento de la misma y la prevención de las enfermedades, y la mejor manera de hacerlo es a través de la nutrición. En fin, recomiendo muchisimo este curso que aborda aspectos super importantes en el margen de la nutrición .

por Buket A B

Oct 02, 2019

First of all, thank you for this clear course. I said clear because eventhough I have Social Sciences Economics background, I could easily understand the content. After taking this course, I've decided to apply master class of Dietetics in my country, Istanbul/Turkey. I hope that I can reach my goal in next 2 years supporting myself with Coursera courses.

Thanks,

Buket

por Kano Y

Feb 09, 2020

I learnt the basic of food and health on this course. It made me more aware of what to choose and eat with a positive mindset. To eat is a thing on daily basis and fundamental part of living and health. I will keep practicing to create my own healthy harmony in food with moderation. I would recommend this course to anybody who would like to empower your life by food.