Chevron Left
Voltar para Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.9
estrelas
811 classificações
158 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this class, we will derive equilibrium outcomes across a variety of market structures. We will begin by understanding equilibrium under a market structure called Perfect Competition, a benchmark construction. Economists have tools to measure the efficiency of market outcomes. We next consider the polar extreme of a competitive market: a monopoly market. We will determine the monopoly equilibrium price and quantity and efficiency properties. Much economic activity takes place in markets with just a handful of very large producers. To understand equilibrium in these oligopoly markets requires more careful attention to strategic interdependence. To capture this interdependence, we consider collusive arrangements among a small number of rivals as well as the use of simple game theoretic techniques to model equilibrium. Market Failure describes situations where markets fail to find the efficient outcome. Information asymmetries are one fertile form of market failure. Another form of market failure occurs when externalities are present. We will examine one key externality, pollution, and construct a policy prescription to mitigate the negative efficiency impacts of this externality. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain how different market structures result in different resource allocations. • Model the impact of external shocks to a particular market structure and demonstrate the new equilibrium price and quantity after the impact of this external shock has played out. • Evaluate the efficiency of an equilibrium. Different market structures produce different levels of efficiency. • Explain when and why the government might intervene with regulatory authority or antitrust litigation to lessen inefficiencies in some markets. • Describe how information problems can cause inefficient outcomes. • Understand externalities and consider optimal government response to these market failures. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Melhores avaliações

RR
30 de Nov de 2020

Learnt a great deal about Microeconomics! Prof. DeBrock teaches the class with great insights mixing history with everyday situations and issues. Can't say enough good things about this course!

AA
7 de Jun de 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 151 Avaliações para o Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

por Rashmi R

30 de Nov de 2020

Learnt a great deal about Microeconomics! Prof. DeBrock teaches the class with great insights mixing history with everyday situations and issues. Can't say enough good things about this course!

por Sami Y

10 de Out de 2019

Prof. DeBrock is the kind of teacher that can make you excited about a topic you have never looked at before. I hugely enjoyed this course!

por Bruno M N C

11 de Jul de 2020

i think the professor is the best teacher i have ever seen, he is really smart but most important he knows how to explain his intelegence

por Ibrahim N

15 de Jul de 2016

Excellent course and excellent mentor who can really make you to rediscover the economy and love it much more than before. Great thanks.

por J S

3 de Mar de 2020

Great course and one the best professors in the business. One day I hope I get a chance to hire Larry's Tree Trimming Service.

por Bindu.S

7 de Mai de 2020

I found it very interesting and useful. Easy to understand and grade ourselves with flexibility in watching videos. Thank you

por Samuel A

16 de Jul de 2020

A great and expository course. Larry Debrock P.hd nailed it and this was a great support for people like me.

por syedzainaliraza

8 de Ago de 2016

Its an excellent course. Many difficult concepts have been explained in plain language with good examples.

por Luz K

5 de Mar de 2019

The professor made it very easy to learn and he retained my attention the entire time. Great Professor!

por Nathaniel R

3 de Mar de 2020

Prof. DeBrock's courses are engaging and informative. I would seek out his courses without question.

por Jiayi S

19 de Out de 2020

Thank you sooooo much Larry! Love your content a lot. Would definitely consider doing an iMBA!

por Andrew P

7 de Out de 2019

Helpful content to explain the various markets structures and how prices and quantity reacts.

por Anurag P

1 de Mar de 2016

i have done the previous course in the series , this is absolutely a delight for a student .

por Yu Y

24 de Fev de 2018

A lot of good examples during teaching. The professor explains all concepts quite clearly.

por RAHUL

22 de Jul de 2020

It was an amazing course. I have gained the practical knowledge of the market structure.

por Emmanouil K

20 de Mai de 2017

A fantastic course! Professor DeBrock's teaching style is excellent. Highly recommended!

por Adam D

19 de Ago de 2016

Great instructor, and the quizzes and exercises genuinely make you think a little bit.

por Raghavi R

27 de Jun de 2020

Informative course! I loved the Proffessor. Looking forward to more courses from him.

por Oladotun O A

14 de Set de 2019

Very educative class/course with a very good instructor. I'm glad I took this course.

por Innocent O

10 de Abr de 2019

The instructor was great in delivering the lectures in an easy to understand manner

por Keith K D

2 de Mar de 2019

Great course, learned a lot of new stuff and I understand markets much better.

por Joseph C N

7 de Out de 2019

Great lectures and assignments that ensure you learned the material properly.

por Reece A M

11 de Fev de 2018

Well taught course with some assignments that allow you to think for yourself

por PIYUSH S

8 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course content with lots of deep learning concepts of economics..

por Arun P R S

27 de Fev de 2017

Very interesting lecture videos which makes it a great learning experience.