Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.8
estrelas
769 classificações
180 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Melhores avaliações

JC

May 22, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

SN

Oct 25, 2017

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 179 Avaliações para o Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

por Jai A C

May 22, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

por Adwait P S

Apr 05, 2020

Its a Great Course! You will Enjoy every moment of this course.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wishes to understand the fundamentals of Accounting

por John K

Jul 16, 2020

The course was enjoyable with good use of examples. Explained in easy to understand terms. I am looking forward to the next course in this series.

por David Y

Jun 11, 2019

Simple and thorough.

por DEVANSH C

Aug 26, 2020

great course

por Crystal A

Apr 21, 2020

This was such a good course to have taken. I am glad this is readily available and free for those who do not have the finances at the moment. That generosity is very much appreciated. I am also thankful for how much understanding and work was given in presenting the course to the vast diversity of students. When comprehending the course would be helping beginners learn and utilize the material, the course was gentle and caring. Thank you for this course, thank you to the instructor, and thank you to Illinois University.

por Nikolay M

Jan 15, 2017

Very good course. Gives a view on corporate business finance.

Teacher is also great.

Recommend this course to anyone who want to start finances, business or wants an dive deep into entrepreneurship.

por Stephen N

Oct 25, 2017

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

por Jeffrey N

Jun 08, 2018

I've taken a number of accounting classes in the past and have a fairly good understanding of transition basics. This course illustrated in a very simple but informative way financial statements through practical, easy to understand examples. It was clear that a lot of thought, energy and effort went into this courses preparation. It exemplified the idea that you don't need to "make things any more complicated than they need to be" to deliver the information at hand.

por Katherine L C B S

Jun 05, 2020

I really liked the course and I recommend it to anyone interested in applied social science, accounting. In my opinion, the teacher had the dexterity to capture themes and subjects relevant to this area of study and make them viable through a totally different, interesting and understandable approach. In short, I am grateful for all those involved in making this course possible.

por Samuel C P J

Jun 25, 2020

My Sincere Gratitude to Associate Prof. Kevin for his clean and simple explanations of accounting . The Introduction to Accounts was exemplary and attention puller. The real world examples used in this course is meticulously planned and placed and paced in the lessons one by one. Wow! superb experience in learning my favorite subject Accounting. Once again thank you Prof. Kevin

por ALEXANDRE J D S

Jul 30, 2020

I thought the MOOC was very good. Teachers demonstrated great knowledge. The difference was the capacity for critical vision in each class, I was impressed that in addition to the incredible didactics in relation to the method for compliance, they also demonstrated great scientific knowledge, which helped a lot to enrich the article. I really appreciate the opportunity.

por maged n

Jan 10, 2018

Yes the course is more than amazing but I suggest that the peer graded assignment needs to be a graded quiz instead ..because I have finished the course 2 days ago and now waiting for the certificate and no one unfortunately graded my work yet ! so please guys make it a quiz not assignment .

Thanks

por Cuauhtémoc G C

Jul 27, 2020

I liked this course very much. I wish Coursera would allow you to mark courses as favorites, so you could have a list of all the courses you would like to take in the future.

Also, I do not understand why this course is not showing in the "Complete" course tab yet.

por Justin W S

Apr 27, 2018

Great introduction for those totally unfamiliar with accounting and balance sheets. It sounds so simply, but the professor's basic definition of a balance sheet and a financial statement gave me (a complete novice) a great grasp of accounting and its goal.

por Alexandru L

Apr 25, 2020

It really introduces you to the basics of accounting using easy to understand ideas and examples. Highly recommend it for people who want to set a pillar for their future economic career or just to better understand a business and its balance sheet.

por TRAN T H G

Dec 17, 2017

The course is not too tensed and easy to understand. I like all videos of the course as it provides me many practical examples. This course is really basic for beginners like me. It's worth spending my free time learning this course.

por Zechang L

Apr 24, 2020

Many thanks to Professor Kevin! This is a very good fundamental course. I really enjoy learning the accounting knowledge. It would be better if this course can offer more details about financial statements with deeper analysis.

por ‘Toni N

Apr 28, 2020

The course materials as well as the facilitator, were very helpful, practical and insightful. The real life case studies also helped to actualise the financial material/records being reviewed and taught throughout the course.

por Michael K

Jul 17, 2017

Outstanding course. Laid in an easy to understanding manner. I have taken other courses on the same subject matter. This one helped me the most in understanding how to review and analyze a balance sheet. Highly recommended.

por Alfonso L

Sep 01, 2020

Explanations are perfect. After this course I understand more about the Financial Statements. The work and exams are complete and there is everything in the lectures. The peer review work is also very good

por Ostapenko S

Apr 01, 2018

It`s pity to say, but peer-graded assighnment is too hard to pass due to lack of students. Every time peer-graded tasks cause a long term problems for students to pass as soon as they finish course.

por Richard O S

Jul 22, 2020

This Course was very enjoyable partaking. I had an accounting experience but this course took me into deep specifically the practical sessions. Its free and lets all get involved.

por Brian M

Aug 27, 2016

This course is a great introduction to understanding Balance Sheets and has been a big help to me in my job. I highly recommend this course and I really liked the Professor.

por Miriam H

May 23, 2016

Great course! Mr Jackson put a lot of effort into the construction of the class and explained everything in detail so that you get a solid understanding of the Balance Sheet