Chevron Left
Voltar para Mercados Financeiros

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mercados Financeiros da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
estrelas
12,876 classificações
2,995 avaliações

Sobre o curso

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Melhores avaliações

JC

Aug 20, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

SK

May 10, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 2,976 Avaliações para o Mercados Financeiros

por Mitali J

Nov 26, 2018

Incredibly well taught course by Professor Shiller which is very informative and covers a broad range of topics. So glad that I took this course! I highly recommend it!

por Carlos E D O

May 21, 2019

This course allowed me to have better knowledge of the financial market, I feel more confident about some subjects that I needed to understand a 100%

por Alex Q

Jun 25, 2020

Robert Shiller has clear insight of the market, and doesn't hesitate to show a path of knowledge and humanity in a market as "cold" as finances.

por Elizabeth S J S

Jun 24, 2020

Es muy buen curso, ayuda a tener un panorama más amplio sobre mercados financieros y como esto tiene influencia en la vida diaria.

por IEVGENIIA K

Apr 17, 2020

I enjoy the course very much.

por AKRIT S

May 19, 2019

thank you coursera

por Ben M

Dec 18, 2018

Outstanding

por Harish J

Jun 13, 2020

I'm going to write my Review based on my survey since I answered the main questions of this course in depth in that section:

Tl;Dr: Good course as an introductory into Financial market concepts. Lots of mathematical formulas are unexplained or the necessary nuances are not provided. If you expect to do this course to play the stock market and understand the practical way to build an optimal portfolio, then forget it. You're gonna need to study much much more for that.

What was the strongest aspect of the course?

1. Perhaps the strongest aspect of this course that it serves as a very good introduction to the basics of finance by introducing and explaining a vast array of concepts into videos that were digestible and structured in a way that it was easy to keep track of each aspect of the financial system.

2. References made to the various authors, books and other financial materials that will undoubtedly be very useful in further research and study

3. Professor Shiller had a cheerful and engaging attitude and that was quite pleasant and is a teacher that emphatically tries to break down concepts into ways one can easily understand.

What was the weakest aspect of the course?

The course veered off into too many generalizations and editing could have been much more tighter in maintaining focus. Conversely, when slightly more advanced concepts were introduced or concepts which required inter-linking of different ideas, then the flow was interrupted and it was difficult to keep track of the lesson.

Primary examples include:

1. During the explanation videos for mathematical formulas, it would have been more helpful to break down what those formulas meant and each aspect much more in terms of the concept. Often, the professor would be talking about something general and then immediately jump into the formula and its relevance and just explain it . If graphs were used to illustrate the formula or different mathematical inputs put into place so we can get an example of how formulas are to be used practically, then that would be much more helpful. It was interesting to learn and know the mathematical formulas especially for CAPM or for Bid/Ask/Options spreads but they were either poorly edited or not explained adequately.

2. The whole section on Bonds/Options/Put/Call could have been explained more. I don't know whether enough concepts were discussed in Class or edited out completely but the information given was not enough to form a complete picture of understanding what those markets are and how they work practically. It was not broken down enough. I really didn't understand strike price or its application, how to work out how to purchase and navigate these securities practically.

3. The course videos were edited haphazardly at times as the Course felt sometimes almost too general as a lot of video content involved Professor Shiller speaking generally on concepts rather than giving in-depth research based information. Perhaps it is his style, but it seems as though much of the important complex information that is necessary to gain a fuller understanding has been edited out. That is problematic as application-based questions come in the Honours Content and it is very difficult to answer those questions without knowing the specific information or learning how those formulas work practically.

If you have any suggested improvements for the course please outline them below

1. Explanations need to serve 2 purposes, at least for me: To break down topics into easily understandable concepts and then once digested, to delve into the intricacies and complexities that it has to offer. The nuances of Professor's explanations were missing in many concepts and he would focus only on giving general examples on breaking them down.

That's well and good but he can't jump from giving a general example that "Diversification of your portfolio is important, so invest in all sorts of companies from different industries in order to maximize your dividends and minimise risks and then immediately jump into calcuating the expected return on an asset & its Beta" and then delve in to the Ri = Rf + Bi (Rmarket - Rf) formula and expect it to make sense.

There's a disconnect or a concept that has to be broken down in the middle so we understand the significance of the expected return and how do we calculate this using practical examples of real life stocks so we can come up with an optimal portfolio by inputting values into this formula. I felt that this disconnect is the primary thing that has to be addressed. If he indeed has explained and broken down these concepts in more detail and this has been edited out, then it very much needs to be edited back into place and the generalities removed. That would serve the course much better.

Right now, it's good for understanding some basic concepts but it's a hodge podge of mostly generalizations and very little of the serious nuances that one comes to expect from a reputed Professor. That's why my ultimate impression is that it's good for beginners but skip past the generalities since most of the course is like that and whenever the meat does arrive, it's not got the added flavorings and isn't cooked well since the necessary explanations for savoring the meat isn't there.

This may be very extended, but I spent quite a bit of time doing this course and I had to really push through at the end so that is why I decided to take some time and write a thorough review of how I felt and what it can change since I invested so much time into learning it.

por Mike Y W

Apr 24, 2018

This is an MBA level finance fundamentals course developed in 2016. Professor Shiller covers a very wide range of topics, but not in as much depth as I would have liked. The course could have been better arranged by splitting it into two (or even three) in order to provide more depth in the topics covered. I enjoyed the Professor's humor, and the application of a number of the topics in real world scenarios. I also enjoyed the salon's (Q&A with MBA students), chalk talk, and his TA providing important informational tid-bits during the lectures. I spent a lot of time pausing during the lectures to take detailed notes, forcing me to spend a lot more time than I would have liked each week, and so I didn't have time to contribute in the discussion forums.

por Alex

Aug 22, 2019

Not as great as expected, but as the teacher said at the beginning, it is a global course about finance which is made for everyone, even non finance students.

por SALAUDDEEN

Dec 23, 2018

VERY GOOD COURSE. I ENJOYED A LOT

por VS S P

Apr 14, 2020

Most of the description was about the back story of the topic and the ending was abrupt without a proper wrap-up. This was a little off-putting since the Rating of the course was quite high. The professor is good and his speech is quite clear and composed which is the reason for the 3 star rating.

However, these mixed feelings have thrown me into a dilemma whether to purchase a certificate or not.

por Yunqin Z

Aug 31, 2019

Topics are good. However the slides are not very well organized and include terminologies unexplained. Math and statistics touched in this course may be too fundamental for those who have a engineering/sciences background.

Principles/Concepts: 5/5

Math/statistics: 3/5

Slides & materials: 2 of 5

por Radu L

Aug 04, 2020

I'd say it's overrated. Very US-centered (I did not know). The quizzes were quire arbitrary, some questions were completely irrelevant, in my opinion. Very little math, unfortunately, and the bit that was there was barely put to use or to the test. Meh, I had higher expectations.

por Ingunn A F

Oct 07, 2017

It's informative, but not engaging.

por Gethro O

Apr 30, 2020

The videos are part of a real university course but are only snippets of lectures. The arrangement is bad. The instructor is very knowledgeable but often hard to follow. I reached week four but dropped out. I have learned quite a lot but I don’t think my knowledge is going to stay for long because I only understand small individual parts of lessons enough to pass the normal quizzes and have a ~50% on the honors quiz... Everything is quite a mess. :(

Professor Shiller has won a Nobel prize and I look up to him for that, but this course was just not planned well at all.

por Pengchong L

Dec 30, 2017

Lots of content seems to be cut out from the original lectures. There are cases where the questions in a certain quiz are related to lessons a few weeks in the future. The quiz questions are not very well designed compared to other courses on Coursera.

por Alexander J

Apr 20, 2020

Cuts up lectures and feels very disjointed, bounces from concept too concept too quickly.

por François H

Nov 02, 2017

To many discussions... not really a financial course

por Bruce

Mar 31, 2020

Good content but Presentation is quite rambling

por K

Apr 13, 2020

As it was highlighted as free course with certification for MOOC.

I haven't received course completion certificate though my course has been fully completed. This issue needs to be addressed as why Coursera is not issuing course completion certification as promised during COVID 19..Such a cheating to all the candidate to enroll for any course.

This is not acceptable at all.

por Shivam S

May 10, 2020

Not at all legitimate course. The concepts and principles of the course, instructor are not clear. I'm a stock market trader and in one of his quiz the answer of one his question was stop loss at 50% value down. According to this very soon you will find yourself at the footpark. More over he's find out to be staying in the history all the time.

por David S

May 28, 2020

I find the professor is hard to understand because he is so slow in making a point. I have listened to a few lectures and have given up. I am going to look for another course.

por Sara G

May 03, 2020

waste of time, I could not understand properly the concepts, as he is not going straight to the point. so I unenrolled after watching few videos