Chevron Left
Voltar para Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.6
estrelas
255 classificações
89 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

Melhores avaliações

MS
5 de Jun de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD
18 de Mai de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 90 Avaliações para o Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

por Angela T

1 de Ago de 2017

This is an excellent course and I have really enjoyed it. The topics covered are diverse and the course has provided me with several areas for further independent research.

por Edyta R

24 de Ago de 2020

Interesting subject and enjoyable time learning. I just realized how much I love learning. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

por Millie W

15 de Jul de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I signed up as I needed a few more activities related to my subject (history) on my UCAS application. Not only was it useful in that sense, I learnt so much on areas of history I had never even heard of. Recommend completely!

por David W

23 de Abr de 2021

Excellent course, learn a great deal about the subject in a short time. This course and the program are great for those who strive to be life long learners.

por Mariana H L

2 de Mar de 2020

Very useful and interesting.

por Akhil M

6 de Fev de 2020

super

por Pol M

7 de Fev de 2019

The course is really interesting. Nevertheless, it often focuses too much in the context of historical events to finally discuss a single picture for just 5 minutes. Moreover, I've found the tests to be too much focused on really precise and sometimes anecdotical data instead of the general conclusions which, from my point of view, are a more reliable reflection of the learning success.

por Carly Z

13 de Dez de 2019

About half the links in this course are broken, which is very frustrating. I found the course content itself to be very interesting, though!

por Paulo J A G

18 de Mar de 2020

Good material courses. The only negative criticism is related to some repetition of content in some videos.

por elena G

10 de Abr de 2020

Many of course links are erase but in the test you insert questions from thinks that is not available

por Audrey L

27 de Dez de 2017

Great material in this course, though some of the links need to be updated.

por Olga E

22 de Jan de 2018

The quizzes are not related to the topic of this course at all.

por Gustavo M d A

10 de Jun de 2019

disappointed, you enter is dedicated and is waiting an eternity for someone to evaluate their activities. A little sought after course, so you enter and do not know when you will receive your certificate, since there are no others to evaluate their activities

por José G K

23 de Jan de 2022

I found the course very interesting in general, I think it meets the objectives that are defined and that I was interested in. One recommendation, take the time to review and update the links to different sites that are recommended to access to complement the content seen in the videos. Many of them are links to private or restricted access sites or definitely to content that is no longer available.

por Leslie S

17 de Set de 2020

Enormously grateful to Emmett Sullivan for such amazing insight. This should be a GE course for all liberal arts colleges worldwide. Indeed, the camera never lies. Was not entirely satisfied with the randomly picked peers for review. Would have preferred a group of peers with similar competencies who understood the rubric.

por Bharati B

29 de Jul de 2020

This course is a wonderful exploration of historical interpretation of image manipulation or alteration. It was a splendid journey with Professor Emmett Sullivan to understand how history unfolds in front of the camera and how films can be considered as 'public history'. A good course for students of cinema studies, indeed.

por Anabel S d G

14 de Set de 2017

Highly recommended. I enjoyed revisiting important parts of History through iconic photographs and learning to look at them from a critical and analytical point of view. Mr. Sullivan was great in his lectures and the assignments were insightful. It was hard but well schedule. Many thanks

por David

13 de Out de 2021

This is an excellent course cutting across the 20th century's photographic highlights with candor, poignant questions, and provocative accounts of photos and how the manipulation of photos impacts the viewer and the perceptual history associated with photos of people, places and events.

por Marieta C

22 de Jan de 2021

An amazing experience and a scenic journey into history! The course teaches one to look and really see, it’s both informative and interesting, the reference material ( additional reading) though ( that’s my only “ remark” ) contains some corrupt ( expired) links.

Highly recommend

por Tanya E Q

15 de Out de 2020

I loved the course. I´m a photography enthusiast and also interested in History, so the course provided me a another point of view related to the importance of using images as a historical source and all the implications. Thank you and congratulations for this wonderful c

por Sue C

20 de Set de 2021

A very well taught course, with the Lecturer obviously passionate and knowledgeable. Engaging topics, relevant reading material and well thought out quizzes and assessments. Thanks Coursera. I am now looking for other courses using film and image to explain topics.

por Priyam G

5 de Dez de 2020

Emmett Sullivan is a legend. This course was a huge eye-opener and has provided me with a much larger scope for media research. It was a treat to listen to him as well as all the insightful interviews. Thank you for organizing this course, keep up the great work!

por ISABELLE M

2 de Out de 2020

This was an amazing experience and I have never enjoyed something so much. Kudos to Dr. Emmett Sullivan for making this such a memorable experience. Really loved your perspective and how you gave way for a more clearer understanding of history through the camera.

por Maria F M

10 de Nov de 2020

I enjoyed every bit of the course! It has been awesome to have a more direct look on the possible political usage of photography and other images, and how these forms of disseminating information play a key role in the study and general understanding of History.

por Paul S

4 de Mai de 2021

Excellent and enjoyable course. Knowledgeable and enthusastic lecturer. The course material appears to have been created in 2013 so some of the URLs that are included do need updating: some resources are either no longer available or are redirected.