Chevron Left
Voltar para Fashion as Design

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fashion as Design da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.9
stars
754 classificações
170 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Melhores avaliações

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

DG

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fashion as Design

por Ritta

Jan 31, 2018

I really recommend everyone to take this course! I have learned so much throughout these 7 weeks and I now have a different perception about many different things! Thank you

por Anastasija L

May 13, 2019

The course is very interesting for those, who is connected to the fashion industry in one way or another. However I expected to have more information about life-circle of clothes: how it is produced, what exactly happens after an item is thrown away etc.

por Pallabi S

Aug 31, 2018

It would really help if the professors themselves could review our subjective assignments.

por Carmen S

Oct 22, 2018

The information presented is good, I especially enjoyed the footage from presentations held at MoMa. Unfortunately, every week ends the same when it comes to the reflective stage (same questions, pretty generic) and I feel this steals us from the possibility to better internalize the information.

por Maria V L E

Jul 16, 2019

This course was an amazing experience. Every lecture, every video an the interviews were like complements to my past knowledge about fashion. Thanks to MoMa and Coursera!

por Harini H

Apr 07, 2019

Thank you Fashion as Design team for creating this wonderful course! I have learned so many new things and increased my awareness of the true cost of fashion. I had no idea fashion was the second most polluting industry in the world, that it consumed so much energy and water and how it contributed to climate change and water pollution. I had stopped buying clothes for a while now because I have enough for my needs but if and when I do need something new I'm only going to buy second-hand clothing because I cannot in good conscience purchase anything new knowing the terrible social and environmental impact it has on the world. This course has completely changed how I look at fashion and what I will purchase in future. I love everything I own but now I value and appreciate them so much more. I did not know that you could grow your own clothes and that was such a cool thing to learn about. It's wonderful to know that sustainable alternatives to non-recyclable textiles and animal-derived leather is being produced. I loved the merging of technology with fashion as seen in Asher Levine's biker jacket prototype. All in all, this was an amazing course.

por Carol-Anne R

Dec 04, 2017

This was a wonderful overview of fashion and clothing. I was not aware of so much information behind what I wear and choose not to wear. Fashion as Design is the course everyone should start with regardless of their career course or interests. Clothing we all wear, and what it is, why we wear, who designs, creates, recreates, where it comes from before it reaches us, and how we fit into the tapestry of what clothing is, should be learned by everyone.

I would love to continue with courses like this course and learn more about other types of design like textile design, furniture or houses.

Thank you to Paola Antonelli, Michelle Millar Fisher, Stephanie Kramer, and all the other students of the course. I learned so much from you all. I hope to one day return the gift. Be well, and be creative.

por Maryhelen R

May 06, 2018

Excellent introduction to the world of fashion -- its history, designers, their design motivations and philosophies. This is done through readings, interviews and videos highlighting a wide range of selected garments and accessories. Many important themes such as heroes, expression, modesty, silhouettes and couture are covered in conjunction with the items. More information on the items items discussed can be found in the exhibition catalog, Items: Is Fashion Modern? which is written by two of the instructors, Paola Antonelli and Michelle Millar Fisher (Museum of Modern Art, New York, 2018). If you are a serious student of fashion or one who is just beginning to explore its complexities, this catalog is an terrific addition to your library

por Власова В В

Mar 10, 2019

Thank you for such an amazing and informative course. I'm not sure that I would have learned so many details, interesting facts, meanings and role of fashion, if I had not enrolled in a course "Fashion as design". You opened my eyes to what fashion items depict and what revolutionary role they carried in their time. But most importantly you made me notice the environmental issues and rethink my way of consumption. Thanks again!

por Vani V

Nov 12, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It opened my thoughts and provide a lots of new inspiration. I always wanted to learn about fashion and what goes into garment making. It was great to hear from so many different speakers and their experiences. It shows how people view what you wear and what message we send to others. Fashion can be bold, can be subtle but to make it who we are as a human being is truly liberating.

por Pooja k

Mar 19, 2019

The course was an eye opener to the fashion world. I learned the history behind each trend which we follow till date . It was a great platform to explore the world of garments, fabrics , trends ,style . From day to day turtle necks and jeans to bespoke couture, the course gave an insight to everything. Thank you mentors and team of course era for giving me the opportunity to gain knowledge and grow .

por Melody L

Jun 28, 2018

Highly recommend this course to anyone! It provided me with a new way to view my own wardrobe, pick my outfits, and evaluate how my subconscious notions towards articles of clothing are shaped. Although there is a huge emphasis on sustainability in fashion schools, tracing the history of fashion provides insight in how to spread awareness of sustainability surrounding fashion to the general public.

por Chen L

Nov 20, 2018

This course is very informative and educational. It exposed me to the histories of different iconic fashion garments, as well as the reality of the fashion industry. It made me think hard on what kind of life style I would like to lead in the future concerning my fashion choices and reflect on what kind of impacts my actions so far have already imposed.

por Mariella F

Sep 30, 2019

This course is so informative for ANYONE who's interested in Fashion, whether you're a professional in the field or an amateur fan like me. I enjoyed every weekly course. I'm now returning to NYC to hopefully visit the MoMA and look at their collection through this research team's eye and with the knowledge I've acquired during these month and a half.

por Helena K

Jan 07, 2019

This course is just excellent! I already knew that MoMa has a great archive and produces greatly curated work but the way this course is put together is fascinatingly interesting not only for fashion and design lovers like myself but also for people interested in learning about contemporary culture and modern history. Definitely a 5 star worth course!

por ERIKA C R

Oct 27, 2019

More than the theme of "Fashion" or "Haute Couture", I think the important thing is the socialism behind the story, behind the designers, the influence through the garments in our society; which is the important point of view to understand our natural psychology ... this course exceeded my expectations. Thanks to MoMa.

por Alba R M G

Dec 22, 2017

I loved the course, it is an incredible experience, I learned to observe the rpa and the accessories from other perspectives, analyzing their history and the reason for their creation.

I also learned a lot in relation to sustainable productions, to think more about the future and the environment.

Thank you.

por SANDRA A

Dec 04, 2018

Muy contenta, me ha encantado y muy agradecida por comprender la moda y sus orígenes históricos profundos , que bueno sería poder encontrar formaciones relacionados en temas a la moda sostenible, textiles sostenibles, emprendimientos de marca en moda sostenible .. Gracias por esta maravillosa oportunidad.

por Mariela R

Feb 25, 2018

I really loved this course. I've learned so much about some items that I didn't have any idea. It's great to see the other side of fashion, that one that it is not the one we are used to. The course reveals the social side of fashion, fashion as an expression, as a weapon to survive, as a cultural tool.

por Lillian S

Feb 10, 2018

Thank for the opportunity to participate in this course, it was well developed and organized. I learned so much about the history of specific clothing items and have become more conscious about the apparel process. I hope to see more classes with this team in the future!

Sincerely,

Lillian Sharpley

por Andrea S G

May 03, 2018

Me encantó el curso, el material informativo es de primer nivel. Estoy muy contenta con todo lo realizado estas semanas!!! Felicito a Coursera y al MoMA el haber incluido este curso que no sólo habla de Fashion sino de historia y conciencia a la hora de elegir una prenda de vestir. Maravilloso.

por Andrea D

Nov 03, 2017

Incredibly fascinating, I really feel as though I learned a lot about the fashion industry, and about myself as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my course, and I think a lot of what I learned here will continue to influence and my consumption of clothes, as well as how I perceive fashion in general.

por Sharon L

Apr 04, 2018

This was a fantastic cours interesting especially if you are thinking of becoming a manager in a retail store. Designers interested in fashion and design.Lot's of information on well known designers,fashion identity and culture history. Fun information on 3D printing and so much more.

por Karolina S

Sep 26, 2018

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in fashion and/or design. I learned a lot about its history and theory. The course changed my perspective on fashion and its issues. It also let me think of new ideas for projects and designs in my university and individual work.

por Itxazne A

Mar 04, 2019

I am so glad I have joined this wonderful course. My knowledge of fashion has considerably improved, specially when it comes to the social circummstances in which these iconic items were conveived. I recommend it to eveyone looking for a deeper insight in the last decades design.