Chevron Left
Voltar para Extinctions: Past, Present, & Future

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Extinctions: Past, Present, & Future da instituição Universidade Emory

4.8
estrelas
88 classificações
40 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the five mass extinctions of the pre-human past, their causes and significance to the history of life on earth, and the current mass extinction happening during our time. We’ll also explore the history of paleontology and geological study and review the key players that influenced the science today. Regardless of your familiarity with the topic, you'll get portable handouts, lively demonstrations, and quizzes that bridge and enhance your knowledge....

Melhores avaliações

RS

28 de set de 2020

Great course for the non-professional student- keeps the subject matter discussions light and contemporary. Especially loved the idea of ecological proxy, which I had never heard before!

CM

24 de mai de 2022

Bravo! A fascinating course, thank you. Dr. Martin speaks clearly and informatively with humour and insight. So many interesting subjects covered under the umbrella of "extinctions".

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 40 Avaliações para o Extinctions: Past, Present, & Future

por Richard E

27 de nov de 2021

I enjoyed the rich course material very much and Professor Martin gave highly interest-holding lectures. The technical references provided avenues for students to take deeper dives into the course material.

Two issues with the course: (a) The course is not monitored, making it difficult for students to ask questions for clarification or get technical help with the assignments and (b) Students must review each other's submitted final assignments even though we are certainly not qualified to do so - this should be done by the professor or a teaching assistant.

I​n hindsight after several months, I bumped the stars from 4 to 5.

por Tracey W

12 de jul de 2020

An excellent course...one of the best I have taken on Coursera. Dr. Martin presents the information in a well organized, enjoyable manner. Even though the format is lecture style, Dr. Martin includes many images and even takes learners on "field trips." Assigned readings are interesting and fairly current. My only complaint was with the peer-graded assignment- some of us had difficulty navigating that process. That is a Coursera technical issue, I believe, and they are working to improve that aspect of the course.

por Kate T

29 de jul de 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. The lecturer, Anthony, has a great upbeat delivery style that isn't dry at all, which makes a refreshing change - I wish there were a few more lecturers like him when I went to uni! I also learnt a lot - and understanding the past really put into context what is happening now in regards to extinctions and climate change.

por Ellen B

4 de ago de 2020

Excellent overview of pre-human extinctions and their relationship to the current human-initiated 6th extinction.

por Michael S

20 de set de 2020

This course has excellent content and is very well presented. The instructor is a talented teacher who adds wit and relevance to each lecture. I have taken other very good online classes in paleontology, earth science and related subjects. 'Extinctions' rates among the best for clarity and focus on the key thematic points. I gained a good working knowledge of the Big Five mass extinctions and how they may inform needed mitigation and adaptation in the future. The innovative integration of lectures and reading material is a feature of this course that makes it especially effective for distance learning. The articles and papers are sequenced with the lectures to provide very relevant insight and detail that supports each lecture. The combination enhanced my understanding and retention. I also appreciated the answering the short, four question, peer-graded, essay at the end of Week 5. It summarized some of the key teaching points and enhanced learning. Overall, this is a high quality and fun online learning experience. Highly recommended!

por Vidya S

20 de set de 2020

An excellent course... The lecturer, Anthony, has a great upbeat delivery style that isn't dry at all, which makes a refreshing change. Excellent overview of pre-human extinctions and their relationship to the current human-initiated 6th extinction.

por Ramesh S

29 de set de 2020

Great course for the non-professional student- keeps the subject matter discussions light and contemporary. Especially loved the idea of ecological proxy, which I had never heard before!

por Kim D B

19 de jul de 2020

The professor, plus the course syllabus, and the way in which they were both presented exceeded all my hopes and expectations for learning as a beginning geology student major.

por Megan K

6 de out de 2020

An absolutely amazing course with an enthusiastic, engaging professor. I would give more stars if I could! I learned so much and was constantly excited for the next lesson.

por Deiby W M H

14 de nov de 2020

es un curso muy completo, me gustaría que estuviera en varios idiomas para que mas gente pudiera acceder de manera mas fácil

por María F M V

26 de ago de 2020

The course is fantastic! It's very fun, dynamic and interesting. The professor is very good at explaning each topic.

por Guy L

28 de out de 2020

Dr. Martin made this highly informative class a joy to watch. :0)

por Akshaya M

11 de set de 2020

very interesting course and i enjoyed learning new topics

por Dev D

1 de fev de 2022

Totally amazing!!

por Abdullah G

23 de jun de 2020

Excellent course

por ESTELA P L

22 de fev de 2021

I love it!!!!

por João P S

24 de ago de 2020

Excellent

por MONEN S V T C

7 de ago de 2020

lkjhgjhjb

por Sandra R S

25 de out de 2021

A very complete review of the past extinctions [ including the Big Five ]. Provides a clear world view argument for climate and habitat changes that imperil all of us. The on site visit to Atlanta Botanical Garden and Seed Bank was excellent.

n.b In Lecture notes on North and South American Extinctions, Macrauchenia is misspelled.

por John G

2 de jan de 2021

I would have preferred less camera focus on the lecturer and more use of illustrations, charts, etc. It was a little boring just watching the lecturer talk.

por William M L

6 de jan de 2022

I really enjoyed this course, more so in fact than a lot of others I've taken. The course content consisted of both short videos and online readings which were manageable from a time standpoint. I liked the fact the videos were not overly long or wearisome. The instructor is nice gentleman with a likeable sense of humor and presented the videos in a concise and friendly manner. But the thing I liked the most about this course is that to me it was very interesting and even more informative. Again, definitely one of the more interesting courses I've done. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in the subject!

por Bob T

25 de jul de 2022

C​ourse is very interesting. I was wondering if yopu had some sort of discount for a certificate for a senior citizen. I am 80 yrs old and am taking this course to try and keep my mind sharp. $49 is a lot for a certificate for someone on a fixed income. (especially nowdays). The certificate would not really do me any good since I am not looking for a job. Is there any way I can take the actual exams, to be graded, without receiving a certificate. I made a 90 on the 1st practice test. Thanks for your consideration.

por Rio A P

23 de nov de 2020

One of the, if not the best course I've had the pleasure of taking so far here on Coursera. Amazing content and content organization, and Professor Martin is not only an engaging lecturer, but a hilarious speaker too! What would personally make this the /PERFECT/ course would be the inclusion of downloadable course notes, similar to those in University of Alberta's MOOCs. Hope more people would get to experience this really remarkable course!

por Shiena M B B

19 de ago de 2021

Thank you for approving my financial aid for this course Extinctions:Past,Present,and Future.I learnt a lot from this course.All the topics are well explained and the flow of each lessons are organized.I am interested in dinosaurs and fossils and this course really caught my attention.Again,thank you for this wonderful and knowledgeable discussion.

por Christine H

27 de set de 2021

G​reat course, never boring. The lecturer is very engaging. The lectures are very fun to watch. I learned a lot and enjoyed the diverse reading materials.

F​or the assignment I would suggest to allow for half points (instead of just 0 or 1), in case that some of the issues are addressed, but not all of them.