Chevron Left
Voltar para Exploring Renewable Energy Schemes

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Exploring Renewable Energy Schemes da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
436 classificações

Sobre o curso

What do you picture when you hear the term “renewable energy?” Do you imagine fields of solar panels, giant windmills, or huge hydroelectric dams? Those are all examples of large-scale, grid-tied systems. In this course, we’ll go much smaller and focus on off-grid, stand-alone systems. We will explore the key components of photovoltaic, wind, and hydroelectric systems. We will examine photovoltaic, or PV, system components, and the scientific laws essential to understanding how renewable energy systems work. We will discuss wind energy and low-head hydroelectric systems, focusing on small-scale implementations. During our exploration of these systems, we will focus on safety and regulating bodies that guide proper system design. Throughout the course, you will be able to apply what you’re learning by conducting an energy audit to analyze power consumption, identifying essential system components of small-scale systems, building a budget for a small-scale system design, and creating a design for implementing a small-scale system....

Melhores avaliações

JM

9 de fev de 2020

Great course! Information is well presented and organized. You'll end this course feeling confident on designing your own solar system, as well as gaining knowledge in other renewable energy schemes.

SR

13 de jul de 2020

Great course!!! Well presented and organized. You'll end this course feeling confident on designing your own solar system, as well as gaining knowledge in other renewable energy schemes

Filtrar por:

101 — 121 de 121 Avaliações para o Exploring Renewable Energy Schemes

por Ahmed A

29 de ago de 2021

It was such a great course I really enjoy the structure and the content of this course specially that we really in a need of an environment transformation during this time as a result of the global warming ,which by this course you will gain the experience to build your own sustainable energy project and enhance reducing Carbon emission.

por Bujdosó M

25 de jan de 2021

I'd say the course was useful in prompting me to read upon renewable subjects and to give a general overview of what is out there currently.

I found it discouraging to see that there were some typos in the extra course material; i.e. Wien's displacement law is spelled as Wein's in the pdf material on Week 1.

por OYIBO T O

21 de mai de 2020

Loved how the course was explained in details but some questions bothering the minds of some of the course takers wouldn't be answered as no platform to interact with the instructor.

Hence the 4 🌟

por Pratik R P

12 de mai de 2021

This course is definitely worth completing . It covers all the fundamentals of solar, wind and hydro electricity generation process. It is very much helpful for students. Good luck..

por Sandra R S

15 de set de 2021

Provided a clear explanation of the components and design requirements of an off grid system. Do hope research and development in urban/residential sites will be expanded upon.

por suresh w

11 de dez de 2020

Very good course for beginners in the Renewable Energy, The concepts of RE are explained in a simple and lucid manner. i

por J N B P

25 de jul de 2020

Focuses on the three main sources of renewable energy (Solar, Wind, and Hydro).

por Agunbiade A S

4 de fev de 2020

Taking this course has broaden my understanding of variable renewable energy.

por Jay d

12 de mai de 2020

Great learning experience as the tutor gave apt knowledge about the course.

por Mohammad R

1 de fev de 2022

That course was great and useful and I understood many new things.

por Sofien B

15 de jul de 2020

Course rich in information, to standardize the final exam.

por SURIPHON S

10 de mai de 2020

This course is very helpful

por Jatin D

17 de jun de 2020

Instructor was fabulous

por yulian l

18 de out de 2021

Good instructor.

por Ahsen M A

29 de out de 2020

Great course

por Youssef A

25 de mar de 2021

The Course is a good introduction to PV and Solar Energy, although it is only an introduction and is too basic and simple in my opinion - really beginner level, quick and easy, but I did enjoy it

To be honest, I also struggled with the English/spanish accent of the teacher, which did not make it easy. beginners will like that the teacher speaks in simple terms, with metaphors and examples, so that everyone can understand.

There are other courses on Coursera that will give you a better or deeper understanding of Solar Energy etc, such as the one from DTU (Denmark) for instance.

por Nancy L

12 de out de 2020

This was a nice high-level survey of some renewable energy options but I felt it lacked the depth required to put together a good system off-grid, which was the stated goal of the course. In particular very little attention was paid to the batteries, which will be the most expensive part of an off-grid solar system. I also felt details on how to size the required components was weak. I did learn some useful things from the course but overall I was disappointed.

por Thom V

23 de jul de 2022

T​he teacher is somewhat difficult to follow, searching for words. I playd the vides at 1.25 speed which, made it easier to follow him. formula 'sand theories were not very well explained. Training was not at an acedemic level.

por Silvio C

22 de nov de 2021

o escopo e curso foram bons, mas faltou interação com o instrutor para explorar projetos próprios relacionados

por Daifi H S

26 de jun de 2020

Excellent course

Thank you

por Kim J N

5 de jan de 2022

Soporific course, an interesting topic made boring with hours of talk and few materials. Would be great to offer, ppt, slides or hands-on tools.