Chevron Left
Voltar para Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.8
estrelas
3,710 classificações
1,055 avaliações

Sobre o curso

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Melhores avaliações

MS

26 de jan de 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

MV

18 de jan de 2020

Great course!! For a Part I it introduces you to useful functions and ways to approach different kind of problems. Challenging course but reasonable with low algebra. Exactly what I was looking for.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 1,065 Avaliações para o Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

por Apurv G

27 de mai de 2020

what an experience ! this is perhaps the most impactful online course that i have done. the exercises and quizzes were top notch and really assisted in proper learning. learnt a lot about macros and vba and surely have become more comfortable in dealing with it. hoping to implement some of this in my office work. thanks a lot. highly recommended.

por Eduardo A V

16 de jun de 2020

Great! I am very advanced when using Excel. i didnt know hoe much I was missing with VBA. Few lines in VBA can make some routines that take hours to minutes!

The course is focused towards solutions to everyday problems. If you are a heavy user on Excel and looking to increase your exposure in programming, this is the course to start with!

por Matthew E O

4 de abr de 2020

Videos and teaching methods are very effective. Quizzes and assignment are also challenging but rewarding when you were able to resolved it.

Hopefully in the succeeding lectures, you can devise a way to have a portal wherein students that are having difficulty to have someone to ask to that can provide a quicker response.

Regards,

Matthew

por MARCOS E V Y

1 de fev de 2021

This course is one of the best I have taken, not just on Coursera. Professor Charlie Nuttelman made a challenging course like this an enriching experience. From screencasts to quizzes, the materials seen in the course are very helpful during the VBA learning process.

Excellent work and I look forward to more courses like this.

por Ninad M

26 de ago de 2020

This type of course is for those, who already have learnt every other function in the Excel, that is there to learn. But after that, VBA in Excel provides us to write our own interesting custom functions and intuitive subroutines. The instructor of this course is also very enthusiastic and his teachings are easy to understand.

por Tony M

21 de dez de 2020

Couse content is clear and exactly what I needed, as the description promised.

My only quibble is the audio quality. Each video seems to be at widely divergent sound levels, so I adjust the volume for each module. Worse, the instructor seems to be tapping the mic or the nearby desk causing a series of random, jarring thumps.

por Thi T D T

18 de mar de 2022

I like the quizzes and the assignments. They are very interesting and challenging but not too hard! The instructor has done everything nicely and explains/gives examples that are easy to understand. I was able to apply what I've learned in this course to my work to speed it up. Can't wait to finish the whole specialization

por Parambir S

10 de jan de 2020

The only difficulty I faced in the course was small error correction in the assignments as with very little practise you tend to make mistakes which are difficult to correct with instructions from the grade/default instructions. Nonetheless, it felt great completing this first part! Looking forward to the remaining course!

por Pemika M

25 de jul de 2019

The instructor can explain clearly step-by-step and visualize in his videos perfectly. I got a lot knowledge of VBA from this course and it works for me as it starts from basic. The lecturer also provide some useful tricks and know how to create quizzes that can make learners have to think about it again. Highly recommend!

por Jason J

6 de jun de 2018

Great overview of the capabilities of VBA with Excel. It is clear the professor spent a great amount of time in putting together the lecture videos - both in laying out the flow of the class as well as editing the videos to aid in comprehension. I appreciate his effort as it really aids in understanding the material.

por Reid G

5 de mar de 2022

I​ really enjoyed this course. Charlie is an excellent instructor, and he put together an excellent product. I have experience with Python and MatLab, and wanted to see what utility Excel has to offer for technical problem solving and programming. I have been thoroughly impressed with the capability of Excel with VBA.

por Olaf P

14 de nov de 2020

Excellent course to learn Excel VBA. The content is very well explained and structured. I can recommend the course to everybody who wants to get into VBA. The course has a focus on solving practical non-linear mathematical problems in Excel, but is also a good foundation to just develop a better understanding of VBA.

por Brittany M

13 de fev de 2021

My VBA knowledge was very rusty. This was a fantastic refresher (I had forgotten so much!) The class is interactive with quizzes in the videos, homework, and end of week quizzes. I really enjoyed the homework and thought the grading was really neat. I recommend this to anyone who wants to use Excel more efficiently.

por Kate Y

7 de mar de 2021

A very interesting course, and useful too. What is especially pleasant is that the theoretical information is kept short and precise. It allows to concentrate easily. The quizzes and assignments are challenging, but doable, and it makes them irrestistible. I'm very glad that I've chosen and completed this course!

por David F

28 de set de 2018

Hi everyone, I'm from Colombia this course I really enjoy. at the beginning I don't have any idea about VBA but after 4 weeks I've learned a lot with practice and the guide for the teacher Charles. in my opinion the screencast are easy to understand and the explanations for the teacher are clear and professional

por Ana C D

9 de jun de 2021

Amazing course! The professor is great and explains the conceps very well, and there is a lot of practical examples. Im brazilian and I also used the course to practice my english, witch was awesome because I could understand everything and loved the course. It will be a great deal on my career. Thanks, Charlie!

por David T

24 de jun de 2020

Very well done course. Instructional material is perfectly paced. Videos are very clear and precise. Course prepares you well for the assignments and quizzes. I knew a lot about Excel when I started this course, but now I realize I am just a beginner...and I'm eager to learn more. Really good course. Thank you.

por Katherine C

27 de abr de 2020

The instructor gave thorough explanations and took care to make sure that even true programming beginners could follow along and replicate the lessons to solve problems.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get more out of Excel and in particular utilizing user-made functions and automation.

por MATTHEW J B V

2 de jan de 2021

El curso te enseña desde lo básico del Excel VBA (definir variables, conceptos de subrutinas y funciones, comandos más usados en VBA, etc.), y luego a partir de esa base se empieza a resolver problemas cotidianos. Muy didáctico, las tareas tienen un buen grado de dificultad. Recomiendo el curso completamente.

por Kenneth D C

30 de abr de 2018

Excellent course to build a strong VBA foundation. The professor was very knowledgeable and responsive. A word of warning, the examples are heavily weighted towards math so be prepared to get a refresher on some Calculus concepts you may have forgotten. Stick with it and use the Discussion Board regularly!

por Деля Ю

11 de jul de 2020

As a complete beginner in VBA I was able to build a strong foundation in VBA and start to use it for advanced problems in financial analysis. The course is conсise but very informative. Quizzes and assignments are challenging but very interesting and helpful in learning. I'd definitely recommend this course.

por Olivier S M

21 de mai de 2020

Ayant un background ingénieur, j'ai déjà été exposé au code sans jamais vraiment réussir à faire tourner les algorithmes… Ce cours est parfait pour désacraliser le code (VBA du moins), briser la glace avec celui-ci et assurer une base solide pour l'approfondissement! Excellent investissement, merci beaucoup!

por BHAGAVATHI R

1 de jul de 2018

Highly recommended for everyone who want to start programming, be it for professional reasons or just for the sake of learning. The assignments are optimally designed making it both fun and challenging. Take this course as introduction to programming as Excel/VBA is a very interactive and fun place to start.

por Anthony S

20 de ago de 2018

Really good course. There are times where it can be frustrating but if you are taking notes and review the course material it will make sense. I'm quite happy I took the time to take this class. And I feel that the skills the I learned here will help me in my career. I'm looking forward to part II.

por Ran X

28 de abr de 2020

I love this instructor! He sounds so passionate about teaching things he knows in all of the screen-casts, and I actually learned a little bit of VBA during my undergrad, but this course is a whole system laying in front of you. Would 100% recommend to everybody who's trying to learn anything about VBA.