Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
7,505 classificações
1,715 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SS
27 de Abr de 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW
25 de Mai de 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filtrar por:

1601 — 1625 de 1,695 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Deleted A

18 de Jul de 2019

bien

por Ambati G R

20 de Mar de 2019

Good

por Chittaranjan R

7 de Jan de 2018

V

e

r

y

por Enrique E M

9 de Nov de 2020

OK

por Heidy E

21 de Jun de 2020

-

por karunakar j

19 de Abr de 2020

.

por Elliott S

2 de Ago de 2019

G

por Johannes T

13 de Mai de 2019

G

por Subodh D

30 de Jun de 2017

_

por Quiana B

25 de Nov de 2016

Overall, this was good study for learning basic functions in Excel. However, the tutorials and practice quizzes do not adequately prepare you for the actual graded Quiz at the end of each week that counts toward your final grade. You will definitely have to be either a quick study, who can pull a lot of inference and practical application out of minimal technical guidance, or know how to Google the steps that were glossed over in the videos or for which no practice question was provided. Also, side note, if you have a Mac, you will be somewhat flustered at times, and you will also need an add-on app for the Histogram portion.

por William C

18 de Jun de 2017

The concepts in this introductory course are very important and have improved my confidence with Excel. The professor did a good job of explaining why you would use the different functions and techniques. However, it would have been helpful if there were slides available from this course to help with reviewing. I also had a gripe with the consistent appearance of material on quizzes that was not covered in the lectures. I actually had to look up some of the concepts independently, because they were either not in the course or were introduced superficially.

por Jens H J

24 de Jan de 2018

Good explanations from the professor, however uses older version of excel in videos than I do. Also, importing the .txt files was quite the challenge as I do not use the same number denominator and date format as in the US. After a bit of struggling, I got it to work, but wasted time = not excellent reviews. Did not learn much new, only a few tips.

por Oleh P

25 de Mar de 2020

Hello!

First of all, I have gotten great pleasure while completing this course.

There is a lot of useful information about analysis of date.

But files for exercises have to be upgraded or added new for mac users.

Because of this fact, I had to finish the last quiz in week 4 not by using Excel.

I had to use Google Sheets.

por Zunayed Z A

3 de Mai de 2020

I faced different kinds of difficulties while submitting assignment which was not taught by the tutor,hence I came to know that using utube and forum etc etc. as for example scatter plot from pivot table I came to know that through forum and add how to add insert tab in the ribbon I came to know that from youtube .

por shivansh s

14 de Jun de 2020

need more practice assignment with equal difficulty level as graded assignment because there are few question which seems to be wrong due to high in difficulty level as teach in video .rest course is good to one who have some knowledge in past.it really increase my knowledge .

thank you to all.

por Rohit S

9 de Abr de 2020

Sir, mainly I wanted to have a practice of chart which I could not get properly.

and one thing I want to share that as in the starting of the lecture sheets were shared which was done in the class so it was too much help full for practice but in the later classes, sheets were not shared.

por Lyn S

18 de Jul de 2017

I thought that some instructions were confusing, or at least I thought I understood them, but didn't ever get the right answer and then felt I was wasting my time. It's always odd to take these classes and not get examples of the 'right' answer or the ideal way to get to an answer.

por Monica M

30 de Jun de 2020

Excel version used is different than mine and I really struggled with it. Besides, my Excel is in spanish and the one from the course is in English and instructions or funtions are named different. It was hard, very hard due to the above mentioned.

por Anthony B

5 de Mar de 2019

The class material was okay, but the instructor repeated himself all the time. I would prefer to not have someone tell me that they are going to do something and then tell me what they are doing while they do it.

por Valentina D P M A

6 de Set de 2020

El curso estuvo bien, mi única sugerencia es que se mejoren los subtítulos o que se implemente un doblaje al español, ya que en algunos videos no habían subtitulos y en los que si, la traducción no era buena.

por KUNAL K

18 de Jun de 2020

This course cover necessary topics that are required for data analysis. Problem is with graded quizzes because the instructor didn't give feedback on wrong answers or any important answer.

por Anthony R

18 de Nov de 2020

The quizzes are not clear enough.

All in all it was a good introduction to Excel. The only thing the course needed is a few exercises to work on the VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP functions.

por Ajay M

4 de Mar de 2017

Presentation is good. Concepts explained in a simple and clear manner. Missing interactivity which is very important to retain the understanding of the concepts explained.

por Ishan S

2 de Set de 2020

quiz where tough and questions with solution would have helped to learn. since the goal is to learn i think. and not many shortcuts where used in videos

por Laurens d K

6 de Fev de 2020

In the first week course, the dates are in a different format. Fixing this is next-level excelling and that cannot be the aim for a first week course.