Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
7,484 classificações
1,712 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SS
27 de Abr de 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW
25 de Mai de 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 1,692 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Matías J C

16 de Set de 2020

Quedé muy sorprendido con lo mucho que aprendí en estas 4 semanas. La metodología de evaluación me parece correcta, ya que no permite dejar dudas al respecto de los temas. El profesor es buenísimo! Sin dudas pude reforzar lo que ya sabía de Excel y espero volver a encontrarlos pronto!

por Renald J V L

17 de Ago de 2020

This is an excellent course, and thak you for the extra time to finish it, for me a little longer because I have to traslate into my language and there are some things tha I did not handle, from English to Excel,

The way the teacher explained y very good

Thank you so much, Mr Borle

por Saba A

12 de Out de 2016

Awesome and easy course! A must for the beginners or for a quick revision. I completed this 4 weeks course in 4 days.. I know 4 days are alot more of a time but i hardly studies for 3 hours per day.. Great course.. looking forward for other courses as well in this specialization.

por Yuliya K

23 de Set de 2020

Thank you, Dr. Sharad Borle! Very helpful class! A lot of useful information in the lectures, and the quizzes are very helpful to test your knowledge. I have use Mac for this class, and I sometimes struggled to figure out some things, so I recommend to use Windows if you can.

por Azhar A

20 de Jun de 2020

it is really a good course for beginners to learn data analysis using excel. The course content is very well selected and organized. The instructor's grip over the subject is really good. The end of the Week assignments are also well designed to further practice what you learn.

por Harini G P

12 de Out de 2020

This is one of the best Excel courses I had till date. Every lecture is arranged very well. Lecturers also very clear. Anyone who is not familiar with Excel also can understand by the way lecturer is explaining. I recommend this course to anyone who are willing to learn Excel

por Matthew K

24 de Mai de 2020

Great course. I highly recommend following along with the videos and doing the same on your excel sheet. TO THE MAKERS: I would suggest making the excel files used in the example videos available so I could practice alongside the video. OVERALL GOOD COURSE AND VERY HELPFUL.

por Sujan C

15 de Jul de 2020

The content of the course is good. The instructor ensured that the session is not only about grasping theories rather getting into practical by actually getting hands-on experience. I find it worth completing this course and will carry forward my learning to explore more.

por VALERIE B

21 de Jul de 2020

This course was truly challenging for me as someone who has very limited knowledge of excel. I took several of the quizzes/final test over and over again until I got it right and fully understood what I was doing. This Data Analysis Introduction was definitely helpful!

por Aadrit G

30 de Jun de 2020

Indeed a very educational and interactive course. I have gotten a lot of learning out of this course and the organisation of the video lessons are phenomenal. However, it is very difficult to complete some of the assignments on a MacBook- however it is not impossible.

por Sasha-Gaye S

26 de Set de 2020

The course was very interesting. i was able to replay the videos and understand the concepts better based on the use of the examples the lecturer applied to each concept. for the most part the quizzes were based exactly on the concepts brought out in the lectures

por Sayed A H H

12 de Dez de 2016

A very useful course, I found lots of new and important staff to learn and can implement them all within my day-to-day tasks.

I am expecting a huge difference after participation of this course into my statistical skills, thanks for the organizers of this course.

por Durairaj T

7 de Mar de 2019

The course offers an astonishing chance to develop myself in the area of data analysis! Actually, I can learn anything i want from the world's greatest minds. This is a brand new way of learning new things. Inspired by the way of learning in foreign university!!

por John U

5 de Nov de 2020

I am a complete novice with respect to Excel having had a medical training. The information is given in manageable and interesting segments building your knowledge incrementally and sequentially. It is a paradigm of teaching and I highly recommended the course.

por Gianina M B

10 de Out de 2020

It was a very intuitive course. The fact that it was very hands-on (providing us learners many opportunities to use Excel to apply what was discussed in the videos ourselves) was very helpful in picking up what was being taught quickly and effectively

por Omer M A

27 de Set de 2020

This Course is very important one and is essential for everyone who is willing to do Data analysis in Excel. It really met my expectations. Many thanks goes to Rice University, Coursera & Somaliland's Ministry of Employment Social Affairs & Family.

por Rodolfo A P

22 de Abr de 2017

Great course that teaches you a lot of the basics in Excel. The instructor is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and explains the material in a clear way. I am now using much of the stuff that I learned in this course during my daily work.

por ravi k

24 de Jul de 2020

Really well put together course and i love how much information is packed in small videos.The best thing about the course is the assignments can be really tricky even if they seem simple and it challenges you to think.Highly recommend this course.

por Milind P

30 de Mai de 2020

It was a well crafted course, Videos & Study material was to the point. Course contents will be helpful in handling large database in very efficient manner. Instructors mastery over the subject & teaching skills are really appreciable. Thanks !!!

por Rajavel K

5 de Mai de 2019

Many factors made me narrow down to this course.

1 Time Constraint

2 Layman Friendly

3 Problem Sets

4 Easy to Understand

Eventhough I had some experience in Excel data analysis, I learnt some extra content which I think will definitely help my career.

por OLALOYE E O

11 de Mai de 2020

This course is so interesting and encouraging for those interested in starting a career in Data Analysis. The instructors, videos, tutorials, assessments and group discussion forums are exceptional. I will recommend this course any day, any time

por Cessna S

10 de Jul de 2018

I loved the course. It was explained in a very simplified and interesting manner. It kept me engaged and cleared my concepts. The Practice quizzes and questions were really helpful in determining my concepts and understanding of the concepts.

por ILOBA B

16 de Out de 2020

It was a great opportunity for me, i want to appreciate the organizers of this program "LAGOS STATE EMPLOYMENT FUND" for this wonderful privilege and also, my appreciation goes to RICE University for this course, I really enjoyed it. thanks.

por Priyanshu S

8 de Mai de 2020

One of the best courses on Data Analysis. Thank you Rice University and Sharad Borle Sir for providing such a valuable course and for great explanations. The Weekly quiz are very well designed to test your understanding of the video lessons.

por Abel R

8 de Nov de 2020

Sobrepasó ampliamente mis expectativas! El curso está muy bien elaborado. Las lecciones son claras y el instructor sabe transmitir su conocimiento. Los ejemplos y ejercicios son excelentes para fijar los conocimientos nuevos. Recomendado!