Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
3,080 classificações
700 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

LC

May 18, 2018

Excellent class, well-written and presented with real-world examples that are challenging but not impossible to complete if you follow the small quizzes and stay on top of the deadlines. Great job!

Filtrar por:

651 — 675 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Anthony B

Mar 05, 2019

The class material was okay, but the instructor repeated himself all the time. I would prefer to not have someone tell me that they are going to do something and then tell me what they are doing while they do it.

por Nalini R W

Mar 11, 2019

Question is very tricky :(

por Ajay M

Mar 04, 2017

Presentation is good. Concepts explained in a simple and clear manner. Missing interactivity which is very important to retain the understanding of the concepts explained.

por Heidi L

Aug 03, 2017

Sometimes felt like the "right" answers were wrong, or that I was failing at something they never taught us to do.

por Gabriel F H

Aug 21, 2017

Very basic.

por William C

Jun 18, 2017

The concepts in this introductory course are very important and have improved my confidence with Excel. The professor did a good job of explaining why you would use the different functions and techniques. However, it would have been helpful if there were slides available from this course to help with reviewing. I also had a gripe with the consistent appearance of material on quizzes that was not covered in the lectures. I actually had to look up some of the concepts independently, because they were either not in the course or were introduced superficially.

por Quiana B

Nov 25, 2016

Overall, this was good study for learning basic functions in Excel. However, the tutorials and practice quizzes do not adequately prepare you for the actual graded Quiz at the end of each week that counts toward your final grade. You will definitely have to be either a quick study, who can pull a lot of inference and practical application out of minimal technical guidance, or know how to Google the steps that were glossed over in the videos or for which no practice question was provided. Also, side note, if you have a Mac, you will be somewhat flustered at times, and you will also need an add-on app for the Histogram portion.

por Prateek A

May 19, 2018

very basic

por Subha V

Mar 15, 2017

It was very basic. No additional reading.

por Joel V

Sep 18, 2017

Could have included more material and introduced more functions.

por Lyn S

Jul 18, 2017

I thought that some instructions were confusing, or at least I thought I understood them, but didn't ever get the right answer and then felt I was wasting my time. It's always odd to take these classes and not get examples of the 'right' answer or the ideal way to get to an answer.

por Luz A S H R

Jul 05, 2017

Should be indicated the level of complexity as easy/101. Well explained

por Alejandra H

Aug 07, 2017

I extremely basic course, I would suggest a diagnosis or level set to define where new students should start

por Rachid B

Sep 11, 2017

Nice, but needs update for new excel version

por Abhishek P B

Jan 27, 2018

Could prove to be a great introductory course for absolute beginners

por Yilun G

Dec 19, 2017

not include VBA which I need most in excel.

I plan to cancel after tried it but it charged me 50 $ in the end.

por Umberto C

Mar 01, 2018

Too basic

por Jens H J

Jan 24, 2018

Good explanations from the professor, however uses older version of excel in videos than I do. Also, importing the .txt files was quite the challenge as I do not use the same number denominator and date format as in the US. After a bit of struggling, I got it to work, but wasted time = not excellent reviews. Did not learn much new, only a few tips.

por Maram G G

Jul 28, 2018

I found the exams is so difficult related the explanation

por Joanna M

Jun 12, 2019

could have been a bit more engaging. the videos are quite boring (sorry!)

por Mitchell G

Dec 26, 2017

Money maker for University. Cheers to Ric

por Maria K E

Aug 03, 2017

The course is very slow paced. It should be clearly mentioned that the course is for total beginners. I did not expect that lecturer will spend time on so basic information like adding/deleting/renaming various sheets within one excel file...

por Wim D

Nov 28, 2016

Pretty basic course with a lot of 'dead time' not really learning anything about Excel. Tutor should consider a few more advanced and useful topics.

por Dustin L

Apr 19, 2018

too esay

por Song S

May 23, 2019

It's too simple, and the courses are kind of redundant. Maybe it is proper for those who have never used Excel. For other people, the courses are too easy.