Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
7,841 classificações
1,783 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SW
25 de Mai de 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
27 de Abr de 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtrar por:

1676 — 1700 de 1,761 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Anupam C

21 de Jan de 2021

I liked this course but a few points I want to make is that when submitting the assignment it ask to round up to 2 decimal say for example we got the answer 97.887 then the accepted answer is

97.89 and the answer 97.88 would be considered wrong. I guess the answer should cover all this answer or give a prompt out error saying what the student did wrong. As the system cannot verify and it's very frustrating for anyone new to excel .

por Jens H J

24 de Jan de 2018

Good explanations from the professor, however uses older version of excel in videos than I do. Also, importing the .txt files was quite the challenge as I do not use the same number denominator and date format as in the US. After a bit of struggling, I got it to work, but wasted time = not excellent reviews. Did not learn much new, only a few tips.

por Oleh P

25 de Mar de 2020

Hello!

First of all, I have gotten great pleasure while completing this course.

There is a lot of useful information about analysis of date.

But files for exercises have to be upgraded or added new for mac users.

Because of this fact, I had to finish the last quiz in week 4 not by using Excel.

I had to use Google Sheets.

por Zunayed Z A

3 de Mai de 2020

I faced different kinds of difficulties while submitting assignment which was not taught by the tutor,hence I came to know that using utube and forum etc etc. as for example scatter plot from pivot table I came to know that through forum and add how to add insert tab in the ribbon I came to know that from youtube .

por shivansh s

14 de Jun de 2020

need more practice assignment with equal difficulty level as graded assignment because there are few question which seems to be wrong due to high in difficulty level as teach in video .rest course is good to one who have some knowledge in past.it really increase my knowledge .

thank you to all.

por Rohit S

9 de Abr de 2020

Sir, mainly I wanted to have a practice of chart which I could not get properly.

and one thing I want to share that as in the starting of the lecture sheets were shared which was done in the class so it was too much help full for practice but in the later classes, sheets were not shared.

por Lyn S

18 de Jul de 2017

I thought that some instructions were confusing, or at least I thought I understood them, but didn't ever get the right answer and then felt I was wasting my time. It's always odd to take these classes and not get examples of the 'right' answer or the ideal way to get to an answer.

por Monica M

30 de Jun de 2020

Excel version used is different than mine and I really struggled with it. Besides, my Excel is in spanish and the one from the course is in English and instructions or funtions are named different. It was hard, very hard due to the above mentioned.

por Anthony B

5 de Mar de 2019

The class material was okay, but the instructor repeated himself all the time. I would prefer to not have someone tell me that they are going to do something and then tell me what they are doing while they do it.

por Valentina D P M A

6 de Set de 2020

El curso estuvo bien, mi única sugerencia es que se mejoren los subtítulos o que se implemente un doblaje al español, ya que en algunos videos no habían subtitulos y en los que si, la traducción no era buena.

por KUNAL K

18 de Jun de 2020

This course cover necessary topics that are required for data analysis. Problem is with graded quizzes because the instructor didn't give feedback on wrong answers or any important answer.

por Anthony R

18 de Nov de 2020

The quizzes are not clear enough.

All in all it was a good introduction to Excel. The only thing the course needed is a few exercises to work on the VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP functions.

por Ajay M

4 de Mar de 2017

Presentation is good. Concepts explained in a simple and clear manner. Missing interactivity which is very important to retain the understanding of the concepts explained.

por Ishan S

2 de Set de 2020

quiz where tough and questions with solution would have helped to learn. since the goal is to learn i think. and not many shortcuts where used in videos

por Laurens d K

6 de Fev de 2020

In the first week course, the dates are in a different format. Fixing this is next-level excelling and that cannot be the aim for a first week course.

por Eric

20 de Out de 2020

parts of the video were too repetitive, especially on the graph plotting section. the quiz had many elements that was not taught in the video.

por John N

1 de Nov de 2019

Sometimes the test questions are very difficult to understand. Excel file for week 4 exam did not seem to work, I had to copy

por Arjun J

22 de Jul de 2020

Good knowledge sharing sessions but could have been more informative like usage of "Power Query" & others was most expected.

por Manikant J

1 de Mai de 2020

The basics have been explained in video but the quiz questions can't be solved without a pre-requisite of MS-Excel.

por Heidi L

3 de Ago de 2017

Sometimes felt like the "right" answers were wrong, or that I was failing at something they never taught us to do.

por Yilun G

19 de Dez de 2017

not include VBA which I need most in excel.

I plan to cancel after tried it but it charged me 50 $ in the end.

por Alejandra H

6 de Ago de 2017

I extremely basic course, I would suggest a diagnosis or level set to define where new students should start

por Eduardo R O S

19 de Dez de 2019

The course teaches you what you should have known for colleague, but doesn't get into advanced techniques.

por Evdokia R R

15 de Nov de 2020

Too hard explained + some of the information about excel expired. Otherwise, it was nice, thank you!

por ece

28 de Jul de 2020

The level of the course and graded quizzes do not match. Quizzes are more advanced.