Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
7,412 classificações
1,695 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SW
25 de Mai de 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
27 de Abr de 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 1,678 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Aparna T

13 de Ago de 2020

Really a good course for beginners .this course covers major functions in excel.the course delivery and presentation is also really good. Got an overall idea about presentation and analysis of data using excel.

por SWARNAVO P

15 de Jun de 2018

Dear sir,I audited this course but I must tell you that this course had helped me a lot to learn about excel.Thank you to teacher and of course to coursera for providing such a high level course to us.Cheers!

por Akash K S

26 de Ago de 2020

It is easy to follow. The videos are short enough to keep you engaged and focused. I knew the basics so it was very easy for me. I would recommend this course as a good starting point for complete beginners.

por harsh s

11 de Jul de 2020

The course was exceptionally good and it gives a bird's eye view of the different important and basic concepts in excel. Would recommend this course to anyone who love data analytics and want to pursue it.

por Abhik M

3 de Jun de 2020

Very satisfied with the instructor, but just one suggestion to the coursera team, please explain the graded quiz questions more properly, so that it can be easily understood by mediocre people like myself.

por Shady N S

26 de Nov de 2018

This course is amazing. It's for beginners as well. It teaches you the basic of data analysis using Excel. While you will enjoy taking this course, I encourage you to take the whole specialization as well.

por Sodiq O

12 de Jul de 2020

An awesome course that gives you valuable knowledge in data analysis using excel, it makes you explore some unique features on Microsoft excel i.e you get to exploit some of the potentials of the software

por Akshay A

2 de Ago de 2017

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. The subject matter was explained in a perfect manner. Also the user interface on coursera is very good. In totality it was a great learning experience.

por edith

27 de Mar de 2019

Instructor did an amazing job in making this course easy to follow, understand and retain. The excel spreadsheets needed for each lesson were provided and downloadable.

Will look for more of his courses

por Prem A

17 de Set de 2017

It was a great experience through this course.The course contents and the materials are very good to learn the basic of Excel. And the discussion forum is also very helpful for doing well in the course.

por Shane H T W

25 de Mai de 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.

The level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

por Indranil R

26 de Abr de 2020

Dr. Borle's excellent grasp on Excel makes it really worthwhile. I needed to learn some basic functions which would help me in my data analysis using excel sheet & this course helped me do that.

por Eva A S M

2 de Ago de 2018

Excelente curso, los videos cortos, buena calidad de audio y video, ayudan muchos los ejemplos y también los archivos que nos dan para nosotros practicar y el contenido es muy fácil de entender.

por Parul D

24 de Set de 2020

Absolutely loved the course. Plenty of practice assignments to keep one engrossed and also get hands on experience. The quality of quizzes was also good, it did test all the concepts taught.

por Leonardo C

13 de Out de 2017

Great start....I have used basic Excel skills in the past but this class allow me to start using special V functions, pivot tables and charts, and histograms which I have never used. Awesome

por sumit n

12 de Jul de 2020

i was not able to pay amount still this good platform has given me opportunity to complete the courses, i am very much grateful to coursera and this is the best platform available till date

por LYNELLE T W Q

19 de Jun de 2020

It is a great course! The instructor was easy to understand and concise in his explanations. It is a good introductory course, even for someone like me who barely has experience with Excel.

por Chekuri S S V

1 de Set de 2020

this is best start for data analysis course .the course is well aligned from basics to advanced methods.

clear explanation with best examples made this course more beautiful and productive.

por Krishti J

30 de Jul de 2020

I was never so much comfortable with either excel or analysis or statistics. I am feeling so much confident and hence continuing with course 2 of this specilization. Thank you Prof. Borle.

por Manish S

21 de Abr de 2020

This course is beneficial to every student,mangers or worker of any firm. It can enhance their knowledge toward excel. By completing this course they will able to operate the excel easily.

por Richard S

26 de Jul de 2018

It would be nice to be able to go back and review past lessons after not being able to log in for a week or two. I was only able to work on this course in between my other duties at work.

por Qianxian W

25 de Jul de 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. It is not very hard but is very useful in terms of learning the Excel functions that help analyse data. I really like the teaching style of the instructor.

por Tim W

5 de Abr de 2020

A good introduction. Starts off very basic. But it's also a good recap on some essentials that can be easily forgotten. The data analysis with histograms part at the end was very useful.

por Gautham K K

22 de Mar de 2020

Excellent course for a beginner. One can learn from scratch and cover all the important topics with ease. Everything is explained so well. My only suggestion is to include Macros as well

por Vigneshwaran N

8 de Jan de 2019

Good course provides a basic basis for data analysis! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel to systematically learn excellent files from each lecture is very helpful.