Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
4,529 classificações
1,021 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

RK

Apr 19, 2020

1.Course outline was very well planned 2. The professor was very clear with his explanation 3. The exercise and quiz was a mixed basket of easy to think next questions. Overall, an excellent course.

Filtrar por:

776 — 800 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Lauren V

Apr 23, 2020

Video quality could be better. Disappointing to not have real-time opportunities to get help/ask questions. Having only forums and no office hours or chat is pretty frustrating since it means having to potentially pause learning for days until there is a response.

por Ankit S

May 31, 2017

The course is pretty good and equips to develop excellent skill set. The course is fun to learn and gets you involved completely. However, I request to give solution to the quiz which will help us to know appropriate solution to the requested problem.

por Mahmoud A M

May 09, 2020

This course gives an overall insight into how to look at the data and get the required information and result from the so money numbers utilizing Microsoft Excel. a good starter for data analysis career and the first step in excelling the Excel.

por Sanskar D

Apr 18, 2020

It was a valuable session for me. The videos were easy to understand and practice. The quiz at the end was also equally helpful in learning as it was based on practical problems rather than theory based.

Thank you overall I enjoyed this lesson

por Yeasin A A

May 25, 2020

The Course overall was well arranged and well constructed. Helped me a lot. Only complaint I have is that the lesson on "Pivot Table" was quite hasty. You should one extra lesson on practicing "Pivot Table" problems and related resources.

por yogitha n

May 24, 2018

I loved the course overall. Each and every aspect of the course are explained clearly and quiz after every lesson is a good idea. But questions in week3 cumulative quiz are not easily understandable else everything went great. Thank you!

por Georgios R

Sep 14, 2017

Very useful overall, some improvement can be made in the way certain quiz questions are stated and in developing more specific FAQs for excel compatibility issues that users might face. All in all a very good experience.

por Amey K

May 16, 2020

Thank you Coursera provide me platform to learn how excel will use to solve business problem and how to use of excel tool for data analysis. Instructor was provide us valuable information through video.

por Harsh J

Oct 19, 2018

The course is good . It gives emmense knowldege about how to analyse a data using powerful convinient and fast excel tools. Though its a basic course but good for those whose excel is not that strong.

por Muhammad I K

Apr 04, 2020

Good course to learn advance functions of Excel but some questions in the final quizzes were not completely understandable, its the only thing that annoys me. Apart from this I enjoyed this course.

por Gajendra R

Mar 19, 2020

This course Gave me a outline understanding of Stock and sales indeed which Helped me Crack Retail Interview as a store Head .manually working on Spread sheet and Analysing out Come was amazing ...

por Tamil K

Apr 22, 2020

This is very useful session, Hostogram is very new to me, it is clearly explained in the session. I have applied some functions in my day to day actual practice. Thanks for the wonderful session

por Vittorio F

May 22, 2017

The course is helpful for beginners. I appreciated the professor, he was clear and simpatethic. Perhaps a more in depth dive in some functions and/or tool would be appreciated.

Thanks

por Bharti K

Apr 11, 2020

Quizzes at the end of every session were quite helpful. Also, the examples during lectures helped a lot in understanding the topic well. Overall, it was a great learning experience.

por Hernando R G

May 23, 2018

It is a good course. The only thing that I will add is the option of clicking f(x) for finding the formulas rather than spelled out the formula; but that is my personal preference.

por Jonika D

Mar 20, 2018

This course was extremely helpful especially if you need to learn the basics of excel. It would have been helpful to see the answers to the questions that I could not figure out.

por Nitish A

Feb 01, 2018

The course was well taught, but too basic for me, and so for that reason I gave one less star. For somebody who has never used excel, this course would be a good introduction.

por Rasha E W

Mar 23, 2019

Very good course which provided a good starting base for using excel for non-experienced users. I enjoyed it and would recommend it to my friends with similar knowledge level

por Camilla C

Mar 26, 2018

Great intro. Need more homework/assignments to solidify knowledge.

Quizzes and tests are relatively easy. That said, the testing builds on previous weeks which is FANTASTIC!

por Cijo M

Oct 10, 2018

Liked the length of the videos (which are less than 10 minutes) which allows you to finish one topic at a stretch. The questions were relatively challenging for this user.

por Surya N

Mar 29, 2019

Everything is very good about this course, but the assignments are very hard, you need a lot of deep work and the examples and sample quiz are so basic type of thing

por Tim S

Oct 23, 2016

Great course, very helpful - though a few issues around the techincal wording and interpretation of questions being asked in tests, and more support for Mac users

por Shivam M

Jun 27, 2019

please add some additional material that can be referred for more detailed information and there should be some material for the contents covered in the videos

por Luis V

Dec 15, 2017

I would say very thorough overall. I would question the speed at which it is taught, but perhaps that's not what you guys are focused on (faster). Good job!

por Michael D

Apr 27, 2017

a clear intro to some basic-moderate user level functions in Excel. Good for those who have yet to use functions and graphing capabilities of the software.