Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
6,971 classificações
1,598 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 1,582 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Sylvia N

Mar 20, 2020

This course was helpful indeed. I got more knowledge on pivot tables, learnt how interactive pivot charts are and how to use them. Learnt how to group data, the right use of graphs and charts for proper visualization and lots more. Practiced severally for my grades and completed a mini project.

I am always happy when I unlearn, learn and relearn.

por Satya M

Apr 24, 2017

The whole online course was a wonderful experience. Its easy and can become more perfect with the assignments. I thank Sharad Borle sir for explaining the course in an easy and perfect way. The assignments were helpful as they were an assurance that you got perfect with a topic. Cant wait to use it in my work! :)

por Abhinav B

Dec 23, 2016

Very good preliminary course. Covers fundamental topics in a clear and concise manner. Video lectures are easily understandable, and each lecture is followed by a practice quiz. The quizzes for each week are also well constructed and test the student's practical knowledge. Overall, very good introductory course.

por Gary E B

Dec 22, 2017

This course has opened the door a crack to the powerful, and up to now mysterious, analytical tools available in Excel. I used the current version of Excel for MAC and had no difficulty translating the PC course material to my software. I need to practice using these tools, but the fundamentals are there.

por Vikas A

Aug 27, 2018

EVERYTHING WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE, BUT THERE WAS SOME LATENCY IN BETWEEN VIDEOS AS SPEAKER WAS SOMEWHERE ELSE AND VIDEO WAS ON SOME ANOTHER POINT. MOREOVER IN SUCH COURSES OF EXCEL IT SHOULD BE CLEARLY EXPLAINED ABOUT WHICH EXCEL THE LECTURE AS MANY OF THE FUNCTIONS ARE DIFFERENT IN XLS,10,13,16.

MANY THANKS

por José R H

Feb 01, 2019

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel is a fun fast paced course that will teach you practical knowledge in a short amount of time. All exercises were useful and to the point. I have no doubt, I'll be using what I learned in no time at all. Many thanks to Professor Sharad Borle, Rice and Coursera!

por Rahul B

Nov 12, 2017

this is perfect course designed for excel beginners or intermediate learners. This gives idea of techniques for boosting ones productivity and complete data work in minimized time frame.

instructors explains all tactics in lucid and simplified way to make learning process a fun and interactive.

por JUNAID S

May 05, 2017

Wonderful course...They have excellent teaching methodology.You cannot solve quizes without giving complete concentration on it which really gives you practicle insight to this course.It was my first course on coursera and I have made my mind to start another as early as possible.

por ARVIND K S

Mar 12, 2019

THE best course I have pursued in a long time in terms of making hard to understand concepts easily comprehensible through a hands on approach and crisp, lucid lectures. Strongly recommended for students and managers desirous of a firm foundation in Excel and Statistics.

por Rory O

Apr 17, 2017

I thought this course was straightforward and I felt that watching the professor go through the steps of performing different functions and creating different charts was a wonderful way to watch and learn. I felt the quizzes really tested my ability to apply the knowledge

por Ismail M Q

Oct 14, 2016

Fantastic content. Learning to streamline and visualize data is useful for everybody. The additional knowledge on importing and managing data has given me an insight into the power of excel. I highly recommend this course to anybody, even fresh graduates/students.

por Joshua P

Nov 21, 2017

Very well laid out course, concise, yet very informative. I consider myself high intermediate at Excel and use it a lot on the job, but I still learned plenty and shored up some gaps in my knowledge. I highly recommend this for nearly all levels of proficiency.

por Ankita K D

Apr 27, 2020

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel was my second online course through Coursera. It really helped me in clarifying my doubts and increase my learning in data analysis. My favorite and most challenging topic of the course was VLOOKUP and Pivot Table.

por Joseph G

Dec 12, 2017

Videos were particularly well crafted and made with obvious care. Lecturer spoke slowly, understandably to specific examples. Downloadable link to the exact excel sheet the professor is using is provided. Learned a few shortcuts I didn't know existed.

por moses l

Jun 25, 2017

Am happy to have completed this course because it has really helped me in achieving my goals and learning new skills in modifying my data to the extend of producing the expected results as a data analyst you have brilliant instructors..

Thank you.

por Ali S A

Aug 20, 2020

Lectures were great however questions on the quizzes were very poorly written. They should be a lot more specific

por Ajay J C

Jul 06, 2020

This course is an excellent source to start with basic of excel and charts and diagrams

por Ashish S

Dec 31, 2016

very basic. for novices. not worth it to pay money for it

por Abdul H b A Y

Sep 05, 2020

Good course for the basics, learned a lot about pivot tables and I am excited to apply it to my projects.

Some comments on the quizzes;

1) Week 1 Graded Quiz there was a question on the unit price of the last row, which I got wrong. I am pretty sure the answer is correct. Would love feedback on this.

2) Week 2 Graded Quiz there was a question on the quantity of orders made in one quarter but shipped in the next. I found some orders made in Q4 but received in Q1, so this might not make much sense. Also I got this wrong, and I think that it should be right (add up three numbers from the pivot table). Would also love feedback on this.

Thank you Dr. Borle and team for the great course!

por Jasmin N D

May 28, 2020

Very good course. Very good instructor! I learnt so much stuff in only a short time. The talking speed of the instructor was very good for me. Some people wrote that the instructor´s english is sometimes hard to understand since he is not native english speaker, but for me (I am german) his english was very easy to understand. I had no difficulties to understand him at all. It was even easier for me to understand him than my other (native english speaking) instructors in my other coursera courses.

What I liked a lot was that he repeated important learning steps several times. This helped me to keep things in mind and recall them faster.

por Sohel S

Apr 22, 2020

The course is really great. In that, the contents are well organized and are explained quite well. Every video lecture is well thought out beforehand and the video lecture lengths are as small as possible while making sure to get the topic across with optimum effort on both the instructor's as well as the students' side. The only issue I had was the lack of audio volume in every lecture. I think only I might have had this issue. The instructor wasn't audible unless I turned off noisy appliances in my room and put on headphones on a 100% volume. I hope this gets fixed.

por Gabriel A F G

Sep 19, 2020

Es un muy buen curso introductorio a Excel, las explicaciones son directas y las evaluaciones de cada semana permiten practicar muy bien cada uno de los contenidos vistos en dicha semana. No obstante, lo finalicé solo para completar la especialización, ya que los contenidos que muestra son básicos. A mi parecer, lo único realmente malo del curso es que se utiliza una versión Excel antigua (creo que este curso fue hecho en el 2015/2016) y las herramientas para editar los gráficos en las versiones de Excel 2016 o posteriores son totalmente distintas.

por Adwait D

Mar 01, 2020

This course was very useful for me to understand how we can visualise , analyse and showcase business data so that some meaningful assumptions and inferences can be derived out for decision making. The course instructions also were simple to understand and infact i had taken up another course from another popular app based learning platform but was constantly comparing the teaching style of this course and the other course. I found this team style by the instructor from Rice , very easy and very methodical and thought that this course was superior.

por Brandon B

May 18, 2020

Excellent course. One thing that really stands out about this course is the organization and great instruction. Also the tests really make you have to think. It is not like the majority of online courses I have taken where you have a bunch of multiple choice answers and you can essentially just make guesses until you arrive at the correct answer. In this course you truly have to understand the material to arrive at the correct answers. This is definitely one of the best courses I have taken so far.

por Manzoor A

Jul 07, 2020

This is the first time I have taken any online course using excel although I have some experience in using excel and data analysis. It is a great honor for me that I have learnt many news things that I never knew before. I appreciate the efforts taken by BISP Pakistan for enhancing skills by providing such plate form. I will extend my gratitude to the RICE University faculty for providing such an amazing teaching methods and making us understand all the contents concisely and practically.