Chevron Left
Voltar para O universo em evolução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O universo em evolução da instituição Caltech – Instituto de Tecnologia da CalifórniaCaltech - Instituto de Tecnologia da Califórnia

4.6
432 classificações
95 revisões

Sobre o curso

This is an introductory astronomy survey class that covers our understanding of the physical universe and its major constituents, including planetary systems, stars, galaxies, black holes, quasars, larger structures, and the universe as a whole....

Melhores avaliações

MV

Mar 30, 2019

To try to compress the universe in only a few lessons is incredibly hard so we can only say this is an introductory course. I hope other courses are developed to explore this subject more deeply.

JH

Jul 16, 2017

Wonderful course! A brief introduction to cosmology but with plenty of material to cover. I recommend researching for papers additionally to the material, but you'll need more time than 4 weeks.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O universo em evolução

por Carl A

May 22, 2019

An absolute wealth of knowledge crammed into a relatively short course. In addition it is beautiful. Teacher is so well informed and pleasant to listen to.

por Загребнев В В

Apr 21, 2019

There are some errors in tests (i can remember minimum two erroneous questions, wich I answered the right way to pass, but those question were wrong). And there are many quetions about things that were not discussed during lectures and there were no hints were to look for answers. PDF helped, but not always.

por Alan R

Apr 03, 2019

It was a privilege to hear the exposition of Cosmology from this lecturer. He delved into extremely advanced topics in Cosmology whilst avoiding advanced mathematics but indicating the kind of observations that supported the theories and presenting simple models to allow interaction with the implications of the theories.

por Milton G V

Mar 30, 2019

To try to compress the universe in only a few lessons is incredibly hard so we can only say this is an introductory course. I hope other courses are developed to explore this subject more deeply.

por Jakob G

Feb 23, 2019

Lots of interesting knowledge in this Course, nicely presented from comets and planets to stars and stellar lifecycles, further on to galaxies, quasars and dark matter, to finally Big Bang, Inflation and Dark Energy.

Lots of facts are presented and adequately explained, not only to their nature, but also the important issue of "How do we know this, and how sure can we be?".

The exams focus on your understanding of the subject and how everything's connected, rather than the factual details or numbers.

por Kaustubh R G

Oct 21, 2018

Excellent course for beginners. just one issue: the audio is very soft and is often hard to hear even in full volume. it would be appreciated if the audio could be increased a bit

por Bảo T

Sep 07, 2018

Useful for every beginners starting to follow their dream of astrophysics

por Joseph G

Jun 06, 2018

Great course overall. Detailed coverage of the subject. Learnt a great deal of information. There is alot of content to cover and hence not much time is spent reinforcing concepts. Also, marks arent recorded in the free version of the course to allow you to track how youre progressing. Waiting to see if notification appears in completions. So far i havent seen a notification of course completion under completions or achievements. This may take some time to appear though.

por Tony D

Feb 17, 2018

Excellent course overall. I learned a lot and it sparked my interest to study more about astronomy. The only caveats I have to offer here are that this course is not for total beginners: a student really needs to have a background in basic calculus and physics in order to get anything out of the course. Sometimes it feels like the professor is presenting results at a research conference rather than teaching students with no astronomy background---which can be exciting to watch but it can also be baffling to beginners. Also, I felt the course presented a little too much material for a single session, perhaps the course should be split into two parts? Other than that, highly recommended.

por Barry G

Feb 07, 2018

Superb! Way beyond my expectations. It is wonderful to listen to someone who has such deep knowledge of his area of expertise.

The prof answered so many of the questions that I have had on astronomy. I am amazed at the progress that astronomy has made in the last two decades. It must be fantastic to study at Caltech.

Hope he publishes some more videos in the future.

por Marcos P

Jan 29, 2018

This course was indeed a very amazing journey from our tinny Earth to the very beginning of the vast Universe.

The super modern Caltech Spacecraft driven by professor S. George Djorgovski seemed to go near the speed of light. Thank you and Congratulation to all the team!!!

Marcos Palazzo (from Buenos Aires, Argentina).

por Manuel B

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! Not only learned the concepts, also learned the math and how we know it, something that does not happen in school. The only problems is that some classes were mush harder than others so it was kinda like a rollercoaster of noledge.

por Davide N

Dec 06, 2017

The course is really interesting in itself, would have been better without the anti-European comments

por Karthik R

Sep 18, 2017

Volume is too low

por Jose A V H

Jul 16, 2017

Wonderful course! A brief introduction to cosmology but with plenty of material to cover. I recommend researching for papers additionally to the material, but you'll need more time than 4 weeks.

por daniel e

May 08, 2017

Some of the problem calculations should be given in handouts, or listed as a prerequisite. Otherwise, great course.

por Angelina W

Dec 26, 2016

Requires some knowledge of physics to do calculations. Concepts are well explained (with examples and graphics) so that anyone can understand the material otherwise.

por Simon C

Dec 19, 2016

Prof Djorgovski's lectures are excellent, especially Week 4. I may be biased, as I knew much of the Planetary & Stellar material before, I didn't know much about galaxies, so week 4 was all new to me. The quizzes are well designed to test the student's understanding.

I'm giving the course 4, rather than 5, for two reasons: a lack of further reading, which many other courses provide; and the forums are almost completely dead. Generally I learn by discussing things with other students, with help from the instructors when needed. The course could work better, IMHO. This should not be interpreted as a criticism of Prof Djorgovski'slectures, which are worthy of Caltech!

por Prayag D P

Sep 21, 2016

This is a very educational course.I came to know about various facts and this course is very helpful if you have your your interest in universe.all the points are explained in a very good manner.I thank professor Djorgoviski for this course.thanks caltech.

por Theo F

Sep 03, 2016

Great introduction to a wide range of subjects in astronomy. As an engineer with a keen interest in physics I really liked the focus on getting an intuitive understanding over rigorous derivations and proof. I enjoyed the course very much!

por Richard H

Aug 22, 2016

A bit dry, but so vey interesting. Thank you very much for the course. I loved the Course Cal Tech.

por Stephen C

Apr 01, 2016

Excellent class! Lacking a background in Physics, I was lost in much of the math. But even without understanding the details, I felt privileged to get a glimpse into how scientists have come to understand so much about a universe in which we seem otherwise insignificant. Thank you!

por Andras H

Feb 10, 2016

Pros:

Content

Professor

Depth of material

Cons:

Exams are shit, full of mistakes, stuid questions asking 2 values but you have one field to fill in the data. Totally unacceptable quality issues with exams. READ THE FORUM!!!!

por A. N H

Oct 19, 2015

Took this professor's course in Galaxies and Cosmology which was for 2nd year physics majors. I think this course is a more general course for non-physics-majors. Excellent course!

por Srinath H S

Sep 23, 2015

Amazing course. Gave a complete overview of entire universe. Just perfectly what I was hoping to learn from the course. Very interesting.