Chevron Left
Voltar para Evolution Today

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Evolution Today da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.6
estrelas
144 classificações
39 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you will learn how evolution works. You will develop an understanding of evolutionary processes and their formative power. You will see how evolution has shaped biodiversity, and continuously influences our daily life. Evolution impacts human endeavors as varied as medicine, agriculture, psychology, economy, and culture. It is the major unifying principle for biology and a fundamental natural law. In five weeks we will make evolution accessible for you and help you to recognize evolutionary processes around you, in nature as well as in society. We make use of the unique collection of Naturalis, the natural history museum in Leiden, but also take you to the field. Using classical and up-to-date examples, we will show you how scientists address evolutionary questions. In the last module, we will have a look at the future. How will humans evolve? And how do we influence our own evolution and that of other organisms? This course is aimed at anybody with a drive to obtain a deeper, broader, and pragmatic understanding of evolution, including high-school students, BSc (undergraduate) biology students, MSc (graduate) students from other disciplines, medical professionals, conservation officers and educators in museums, libraries, national parks, and schools....

Melhores avaliações

AH
23 de Mai de 2020

I am from France and with a little more time than predicted by the teachers, this course was successful with 92.4%!

YY
6 de Set de 2017

Excellent course! REALLY informative and the exercise questions are helpful in understanding the concepts!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 39 Avaliações para o Evolution Today

por Emiel d J

6 de Jul de 2018

This course is very interesting. It explains most aspects of evolution in a great way. There even is some practical work in it. The also go in the field to show some observations in nature. They are engaging and very clear in their speech.

por Cliff S

3 de Abr de 2017

This course starts off interesting and then just gets absurd. A huge chunk of the genetic part has activities where you have to translate large genetic sequences by hand. If you don't have access to a printer, trying to break up genetic codes into 3-letter codons and translating them is an exercise in frustration. Plus the sequences are not even easily formatted for printing as they are all images so you can't even just copy them into an editor and break up the sequences.

This was only the second course I dropped on Cousera.

por Cassidy C

12 de Out de 2016

This course was incredible! The videos were interesting and included field trips and dialogue that made it spectacular and enjoyable to learn. You were able to take every graded assignment and participate even if you did not have money to buy the certificate. I learned so much and feel like my mind has been widened. I wish it had talked a bit more about how humans are evolving because that was super interesting, and a few test items would not grade correctly, but other than that it was perfect! Thank you so much for providing this excellent course for free for us! It must of took so much time and collaborative effort I applaud you for your generosity. It makes me wish I could go to this school.

por María Á G V

9 de Dez de 2016

I loved it! I was looking for a course that taught about evolution without going too deep into Genetics (since it has proven to be too tough for me). I loved this course's approach for people who have no previous knowledge on either field! Thank you!

por Paul T

3 de Jul de 2020

Excellent videos and resources. Not too difficult but challenging at times. I learnt a lot more about evolution and particularly enjoyed the section on decoding DNA and the way that evolution is still changing the world we live in.

Thank you.

por Neilbarker

30 de Abr de 2020

An excellent course with varied forms of learning and assessment. Fascinating examples and ideas were used to develop understanding. I feel I have a much deeper insight into evolution since taking this course.

por Philip H

25 de Jan de 2018

A good course with interesting information. The only issue was on genetic codes.Cordons should have been marked off for ease of answering questions, a few of which were poorly worded. But overall, very good.

por Alexandre H

24 de Mai de 2020

I am from France and with a little more time than predicted by the teachers, this course was successful with 92.4%!

por Yue Y

7 de Set de 2017

Excellent course! REALLY informative and the exercise questions are helpful in understanding the concepts!

por Marcus V B C

13 de Set de 2017

Sensacional, muito bom. Mas poderia estar na língua portuguesa, traduzido para o português do Brasil.

por Prashant K M

10 de Mai de 2020

Quite well explained and laid out. A impressive program for understanding the basics of evolution.

por Isabella S

10 de Abr de 2020

Brilliant course, very interesting and i'd recommend it for fellow college/sixth form students

por Sharell B

19 de Dez de 2017

This course really made me think about evolution. :) Would recommend this course!

por Vishal V

29 de Mai de 2017

Interesting, good examples and case study, whole content of the course is good.

por Luis J H

6 de Fev de 2017

Extremely interesting, well conducted and achievable of the difficult toolls

por Marta K

3 de Nov de 2017

not overly demanding so far but really interactive and interesting. 5/5

por George G S

17 de Jun de 2019

Excellent course: interesting content and engaging instructors.

por Clotilde d C F N

16 de Out de 2016

It's a very good course, i will do more!

por JOHN Q

19 de Dez de 2016

great course....fun and interesting.

por Richard K

11 de Mai de 2018

Very interesting class

por Abraham N

22 de Fev de 2017

I love this course

por Audra G

18 de Fev de 2020

Enjoyable content

por Alma D

21 de Abr de 2017

Wonderful course!

por Abdullah S G

6 de Set de 2020

Excellent course

por M T

9 de Jul de 2017

Amazing course!!