Chevron Left
Voltar para Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.8
estrelas
413 classificações
149 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explores ways of teaching reading skills in English as Second and Foreign Language (ESL/EFL) using a task-based approach. You will be introduced to the concept of task and the key principles of task-based language teaching (TBLT) and learning. TBLT uses communicative tasks as the key unit for creating language learning activities. You will also examine the role of reading in real-life and in second and foreign language teaching and current thinking about the interface between TBLT and second language reading. You will explore how TBLT and teaching second language reading can be successfully integrated in practice through analysing task-based reading materials. The course culminates in creating task-based materials for teaching reading in your own language teaching contexts. After completing the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the main components and tenets of a task-based approach to teaching language; 2. Explain the main issues involved in teaching reading; 3. Illustrate connections between TBLT approaches and the teaching of reading; 4. Integrate tasks into your own teaching; 5. Identify reading texts that are suitable for the construction of tasks; and 6. Construct reading tasks and sequences for use in your own classroom....

Melhores avaliações

DA

20 de nov de 2018

An exceptional course which brings up really interesting, thought-provoking ideas about pedagogy and ELT. Well-researched, easy to understand, and has some great assignment topics. Loved it.

C

31 de out de 2017

I found this course absolutely fascinating. It's well designed with interesting videos which will keep you engaged. I will apply the principles to my lessons\n\nChristopher Mo Szu Ti

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 151 Avaliações para o Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

por Mina N

13 de mar de 2021

Very useful 👍🏼☺️

por ugwu l

21 de out de 2020

I love the course.

por Cristina L C

7 de nov de 2019

Very good course!

por Furkan Ü

2 de out de 2017

Excellent course!

por Praveen R

11 de abr de 2017

Excellent course!

por Wu I

14 de jun de 2016

Excellent video

por Sonny Y

8 de abr de 2018

Great course!!

por Armin D

31 de dez de 2019

Just Amazing!

por Hooi L

19 de abr de 2020

Eyes opener!

por Rika M S

22 de set de 2020

The best❤

por Touraille

5 de jul de 2018

Perfect

por AIDA N

19 de abr de 2020

good

por Marco A C

2 de ago de 2019

I

por Elizabeth S

29 de jan de 2021

The course was a great refresher on how to teach reading through a task-supported approach. Much of the content and many of the resources were helpful to my own lesson preparation. The lectures were generally helpful guidance for the assignments. The only disappointment was the lack of feedback from other participants in the peer-graded assignments. It wasn't apparent what features of my submissions merited the grades I received. I spent a lot of time writing feedback to other participants but received nothing. Is this a problem on Coursera's platform, or is there something the course runners can do to encourage feedback on peer-graded assignments?

por Jeffrey W

2 de mar de 2022

O​verall this is a great course. I learned a great deal of really practical things. There were many excellent references provided and the videos were very well done. The only improvement I would like to see is a better way of handling feedback on assessments.

T​hank you for a very professionally presented course.

por saira b

14 de nov de 2016

an eye-opening course for teachers who want to develop their knowledge in communicative approach in teaching English language. Thoroughly enjoyed each module as it was very thought provoking and detailed. It was a great experience to peer assess too.

por Kristen M

19 de jul de 2021

It's very constructed and very easy to follow. The assignments give plenty of opportunity to develop your skill. The only down side is I would have liked to see more examples of the kinds of tasks they presented in the course.

por Chitra W

19 de mar de 2018

The concepts related to Task Based Approach are explained very well, using very simple language. This makes learning easy and effective.

por joseph d

25 de mai de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It was well taught and I learned a lot about how to construct and teach a "task-based" lesson.

por Roxana M C V

27 de mar de 2022

i wish all of their links would work. Still, a very good course

por Maria V C

24 de out de 2020

It was very interesting and I got many ideas. Thank you.

por SALİHA Ü

30 de mar de 2022

The course was good and helpful for us.

por Fikirte B

8 de abr de 2022

It was a vary helpful course.

por Superfluous A

30 de set de 2020

I have mixed feelings and I often let the negative get the best of me, unfortunately. These are stressful times. So, I do apologize for the previous emotionalism in my reviews or comments . But...I have to say, that this course did not provide a world-wide context of applicability. I think even Stephen Krashen would agree with me....people learn different, in different parts of the world and this course seems to make an assumption that their way is a one-size-fits-all. I can tell you ,confidently, that is not a reality.

Other than that, I was able to "pick the meat of the bone) in terms of what I think would be valuable in the classroom.

por Omid

2 de ago de 2020

It was a good course but the course contents and lectures should be abbreviated.