Chevron Left
Voltar para Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.7
estrelas
182 classificações
64 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explores ways of teaching reading skills in English as Second and Foreign Language (ESL/EFL) using a task-based approach. You will be introduced to the concept of task and the key principles of task-based language teaching (TBLT) and learning. TBLT uses communicative tasks as the key unit for creating language learning activities. You will also examine the role of reading in real-life and in second and foreign language teaching and current thinking about the interface between TBLT and second language reading. You will explore how TBLT and teaching second language reading can be successfully integrated in practice through analysing task-based reading materials. The course culminates in creating task-based materials for teaching reading in your own language teaching contexts. After completing the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the main components and tenets of a task-based approach to teaching language; 2. Explain the main issues involved in teaching reading; 3. Illustrate connections between TBLT approaches and the teaching of reading; 4. Integrate tasks into your own teaching; 5. Identify reading texts that are suitable for the construction of tasks; and 6. Construct reading tasks and sequences for use in your own classroom....

Melhores avaliações

RY

Dec 20, 2018

The course has refreshed me on how to do Task based teaching in my classroom. The professors and guest speakers are all very helpful in giving new ideas for lesson plan. I really enjoy the lesson.

DA

Nov 21, 2018

An exceptional course which brings up really interesting, thought-provoking ideas about pedagogy and ELT. Well-researched, easy to understand, and has some great assignment topics. Loved it.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

por Selene G B

Dec 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and its contents. My only concern was that I would've liked more focus on tasks and ideas of tasks, especially for older students.

por W B

Jun 11, 2016

This course was excellent! The material was scaffolded very well, and gave me a very good overview of TBLT, the teaching of reading, and how to create tasks for reading courses. I appreciated the mix of video, readings, interviews, and optional readings. This is the best MOOC I have ever taken, one of the very few MOOCs that I have ever completed, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about TBLT, teaching reading, or being a better second/foreign language teacher in general.

por David A

Oct 25, 2018

Awesome! The assessments at the end of each module are super helpful to consolidate knowledge and apply the essential principles of each section. The videos are short but loaded with expert perspectives and current scholarly research. I learned a lot! Thank You UCL! Extremely valuable for EFL/ESL teachers, you will not regret spending your time in this course.

por Ruth Y

Dec 20, 2018

The course has refreshed me on how to do Task based teaching in my classroom. The professors and guest speakers are all very helpful in giving new ideas for lesson plan. I really enjoy the lesson.

por Claudia I O O

Apr 10, 2019

Esta muy bien estructurado, mucho material de apoyo y los materiales de los otros alumnos ayudaron a entender mejor los temas. Excelente

por Kadir Y

Feb 28, 2019

Teachers need that approach in order to make their lessons interesting and efficient.

Thanks for the effort.

por aneela s

Dec 27, 2018

I really liked learning my course from my teachers and enjoyed every bit of it.

por MAKARANON W

Dec 30, 2018

It is very good course.I like it and hope it will help me improve my reading.

por Widyawati N

Jul 14, 2017

I learnt a lot on this course and have enjoyed the learning process. It is conducted in digestible manner and the videos are very useful and easy to follow!

The only suggestion I would make is that some of the given instructions for the assignments aren't very clear or worded quite ambiguously. Other than that, this course is very beneficial and useful and some of the ideas I have learnt have already been implement in my classrooms.

por Mary-Julia L L S

Nov 18, 2019

Quite an experience for me since this is my very first online course. I like the clear instructions and layout of the course. Although there was time when I was a little lost with the submission since no one else was grading my work even though I submitted it way on time, I eventually found a way to interact with other course members to help commenting and grading my work. I will definitely join another course in the future.

por Lea C

Jun 24, 2017

I am really grateful to finish this course in Coursera. Coursera has given me a chance to learn a lot about my field of interest (Languages, Reading and Literacy). The course about Task Based Approach is a avenue for a teacher to upgrade his/her teaching techniques especially during reading class. I absolutely recommended this course to all Language and Reading teachers. Happy Learning everyone!

por Sofía G P D

Apr 23, 2019

It is a very useful course to learn about how to make reading a more practical activity inside the classroom. They give lots of resources to put into practice in the classes and the explanations are clear. I learned a lot and I recommend this course to everyone who wants to enrich their knowledge and become a good professional in teaching reading.

por Johnrey L P

Sep 26, 2019

This course is an absolute refresher of my stored- reading knowledge. It is indeed a very informative comprehensive learning experience. The speaker or lecturers are very competent and compassionate in presenting and delivering a crystal clear instruction, valuable researched inputs information and well- spoken presentation. A huge thanks.

por Emmanuella B d S C

Feb 10, 2019

I've loved taking this course! My initial intention was to improve my ESP classes, since I work only with reading comprehension, but I've learned so much about using tasks in class that I'm looking forward to start using them with my other students. Thank you very much for providing such an enlightening course!

por Vanessa R

Jan 06, 2020

This is an excellent class because you not only get introduced to things you may not have known about before, but also you get to do hands-on assignments applying the things you're hearing about. It has also given me concrete skills I can use since it's built around having you create your own TBLT activities.

por José H G

Dec 28, 2019

Excelente curso de la UCL, aborda en profundidad la lectura como herramienta de aprendizaje y pone en valor su influencia , haciéndonos reflexionar en aspectos de los que no somos conscientes cuando leemos. Recomiendo como imprescindible este curso a los profesores de Inglés y educadores en general.

por Naida C

Jun 08, 2017

Excellent! Learned so much from this experience. Good way to expand your knowledge and challenge the traditional strategies for teaching reading. Although this course addresses EFL/ESL students, the strategies can be used to enhance reading instruction for all struggling readers.

por Kashevskaya A M

Apr 09, 2018

Thanks for very interesting course that gave me an opportunity to involve into the world of reading activities and know a lot of useful information about it. And also for the communicative practice with such interesting people that are really good specialists.

por Panupan P

Dec 15, 2016

This course is really nice for someone who is working in teaching English as a second of foreign language area. It enhance us to be more understanding in L2 reading context, and I enjoy working on the assignment.

por Deepali A

Nov 21, 2018

An exceptional course which brings up really interesting, thought-provoking ideas about pedagogy and ELT. Well-researched, easy to understand, and has some great assignment topics. Loved it.

por Christopher M

Nov 01, 2017

I found this course absolutely fascinating. It's well designed with interesting videos which will keep you engaged. I will apply the principles to my lessons

Christopher Mo Szu Ti

por Karoll D T V

Jan 20, 2018

Just loved it! teachers do really master their subject, activities and tips are very useful. It promotes collaboration, and fosters self comitment and organisation.

por Litierio G

Jun 19, 2016

Awesome! It was great to see how texts can be approached, through different lens from our cameras in the lessons. I definitelly recommend it!

por Meena B

Sep 25, 2018

This course helped me to upgrade my knowledge about planning reading tasks...Very knowledgeable lectures given by renowned professors!

por Edwin H F H

May 06, 2017

AS we know reading is a real challenge in classroom, but thank to this course we can take many ideas to follow in our schools.