Chevron Left
Voltar para Controle Epigenético da Expressão Gênica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Controle Epigenético da Expressão Gênica da instituição Universidade de Melbourne

4.8
estrelas
702 classificações
195 avaliações

Sobre o curso

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1...

Melhores avaliações

MM
1 de Out de 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

GK
19 de Mai de 2020

This course was new to me. All the concepts were explained in a very simplified manner. I am very happy to have done this course and find it a very interesting field to take upm in my future career.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 193 Avaliações para o Controle Epigenético da Expressão Gênica

por Ivan I M

8 de Mai de 2016

Intriguing interective presentations and positive lecturer who grabs the attention not only on the course material, but on the matter and problems of epigenetics, in general. Very thorough and detailed course, but the material is easy to understand, interpete and remember.

por Ummi C

14 de Dez de 2016

I find the course to be very interesting and full of information. The course is structured very nicely to make it easier for learners to gradually gain more and more insight into the field with minimum difficulties. I feel very satisfied by the time I finished the course.

por Farbod E L

16 de Jun de 2016

If you think that epigenetics is just about DNA methylation, you are wrong and need to watch this course. It is fascinating ! It is full of new scientific materials and bizarre phenomenon such as "X chromosome kissing" offered by a nice presentation and wonderful movies.

por mohamed l

14 de Mai de 2016

Good course with many aspects and details in the field of epigenetics. I think it is better to formulate the course at more weeks because there is much information at short time. The courses in specialised scientific field should get details like this course.

por Saba A

6 de Mai de 2020

It was a very good course. It increases my knowledge regarding epigenetics and especially the role of epigenetics in cancer. Dr Marnie Blewitt explained everything very well. She is the best instructor and explained everything very well and in a simple way.

por Priyanka S

16 de Set de 2020

I really enjoyed this course (the assignments too, they made you think!). Each week contained the right amount of material so as to not be overwhelming. I also liked the range of topics covered. I'd love to take on more such courses in this subject area.

por Rob H

12 de Mai de 2016

A challenging course that does a superb job of exploring the topics.

The lectures are well-presented and engaging, the additional materials are well-selected from both popular press and academic literature.

I wish there were more courses at this level!

por Yukthashree S

21 de Mai de 2020

i liked this course very much though it was a new topic for me, i understood it in a proper way. And thank you for the teaching staff. With the knowledge i have gained through this course i am now more interested for further studies in this field.

por Perceox P

3 de Set de 2019

Espectacular.

No soy un profesional del área salud y ha sido un desafió comprender. aun asi, y aunque tenia algunos conocimientos básicos, en lo que estoy investigando, que es el cáncer, este curso ha ampliado mi visión de una manera espectacular.

por Anne L

2 de Mai de 2017

This course gave an excellent overview of epigenetics including molecular mechanisms with multiple case studies and a focus on cancer in the last week. I learned a lot and feel more confident branching out into the field after taking this course.

por Abhiyanta M

19 de Mai de 2020

This course was really interesting and very informative. Each and every topic is explained with the help of diagram. Even the animations used was very very interesting. The presentation was very informative. It is very easy to understand.

por Rhea J

20 de Mai de 2020

The course proved to be very informative. My knowledge on the subject has definitely increased. This course has also refueled my interests towards this field. I thank the team, Coursera and Dr. Marnie Blewitt for this great experience!

por Eduardo R P

28 de Set de 2019

It is a somewhat complicated course even knowing a little about the subject, however it was an excellent course and I learned a lot. I discovered new topics and acquired new knowledge. Congratulations!

Thank you for sharing this course.

por Tonya

26 de Mar de 2016

As far as we have no Genetic, no Epigenetic courses in our medical universities. I feel that I have a huge gap in my knowledge in this field. I am so happy that I can attend such interesting and necessary course. Thank you very much)

por Claudia B

30 de Mar de 2016

What can I say? An extremely complete course, very resourceful, dynamic and with great quality content from reliable sources. If you are interested in genetics, you will love this take on epigenetics; definitely worth it.

por Antonio V A d S

13 de Ago de 2017

This course is an incredible introduction to the Science of Epigenetics. Thanks to the course I've learnt a lot about Epigenetic and now I feel confident to read and understand all the papers in this field of knowledge.

por Hugo W d B C F

16 de Out de 2017

Really good course! The design of the last assignment is more close to what I believe online courses should do. It really challenges yourself to apply the knowledge acquired from lectures and reading material.

por Paul S

30 de Mar de 2019

Well organized and thought out. Developed the concepts well with clear examples from literature. Gave an understanding of the state of the field and where there are things that still need to be worked out.

por Vanessa C d C L

9 de Mar de 2017

I really enjoyed this course it's really interesting and I learned a lot about epigenetics. I really liked the professor and the way she explained and really enjoyed the materials she suggested us to read.

por Mary M

2 de Out de 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

por GAURI S K

20 de Mai de 2020

This course was new to me. All the concepts were explained in a very simplified manner. I am very happy to have done this course and find it a very interesting field to take upm in my future career.

por Chan H Y

10 de Mai de 2020

Very clear explanation of the concepts and details. I would say it is a difficult course for students from engineering background, even having some bioinfomatics and oncology courses background

por Dan S

25 de Ago de 2018

This is an excellent course that introduces you to fundamental knowledge of several hot topics in the field of epigenetics. Dr. Blewitt herself studies X inactivation, and I learned so much!

por BARAIYA D H 1

25 de Abr de 2020

It was very informative course and will help me in my future studies.In between week 3 was bit tough to understand and keep all things in mind. But overall course was amazing. Thank you.

por Aditya A D

13 de Mai de 2020

Amazingly structured and delivered course by the entire team. Including a few practical assays or how to read some of the assay results related to epigenetic techniques would be welcome.