Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,179 classificações
303 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 297 Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por Muhammad M

Sep 09, 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

por Jan C

Apr 12, 2020

Interesting topic, great teachers! I would be glad if there is something more courses prepared by this team.

por Ana S

Jan 14, 2016

Un curso muy completo y educativo, en el que aprendes fácilmente conceptos, que a priori, no son triviales.

por Sabrina S S

Sep 25, 2016

Much more than I expected! I'm in love with this area! This team is awesome!

This couse is Career Changing!

por Helen B

Apr 09, 2016

Excellent course - a great overview even for people new to the field. Great, entertaining lecture videos!

por Daniela R F

May 08, 2020

It's a really complete course, it helped me a lot understandign different things during COVID pandemia.

por April J S

May 08, 2020

I really enjoyed this prophetic course. It makes me even more curious to do more study in epidemiology.

por Pietro G

Jun 13, 2020

Very interesting, a good course for beginners that offers a fairly comprehensive view of the subject.

por Sagnika P

Dec 27, 2019

The course was very thorough and gave a much better understanding of the the basics of epidemiology.

por Marc B F

Mar 31, 2018

Very interesting, covering a great diversity of topics inside the epidemics field and easy to follow

por Miss S K W

Jun 24, 2017

This course was amazing! Everything is explained so well and laid out in such an accessible format!

por Flecher F

Mar 27, 2020

very insightful and well designed course. I've learned a lot and got more interested in the topic.

por Rebecca C

Aug 04, 2017

Excellent approach and base to get deep into the area.

I am looking for more courses like this one!

por Trent J G

Jun 23, 2020

I really love the offered modules. I learned a lot especially about infectious disease control.

por Sylvia H

Jul 28, 2020

Very interesting, informative and engaging programme - loved it and enjoyed binge watching it!

por Adelaida G L

Jun 18, 2020

It was a really interesting curse, now i understand many things and problematics more deeply

por mohrah m a

Mar 18, 2018

it was a pleasure for me to be a participant in that course, it was so useful and tremendous

por Emmanuel S

May 30, 2020

Is a very recomendable course for both students and teachers interested in Diseases Ecology

por Sigrun J J E

Aug 17, 2015

The course is very interesting and the pace and language is very accessible to understand

por VISHAL R L

May 19, 2020

Excellent course!! Gives a brief knowledge on past, present and future of epidemiology.

por Kim R

May 12, 2020

Very interesting, thorough, and informative, especially in light of the COVID 19 times!

por Anastasia C

Jul 18, 2017

A wonderfully interesting course, with clear concise videos that explainm content well.

por Sandra C

Nov 10, 2015

it was a fantastic course!!. Could you do a course to learn statistical predictions????