Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,316 classificações
332 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB
22 de Abr de 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN
11 de Abr de 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 326 Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por Bertan A

30 de Mar de 2017

I took this course out of the blue but in the end I really enjoyed it. Excellent for learning the new trends in epidemiology.

por Andrea N

22 de Set de 2015

Wonderfully informative, easy to understand and follow along. One of the most enjoyable courses I've taken through Coursera.

por Abhi B

7 de Abr de 2021

Very Thorough course. The content will be relevant and helpful in any day and age. I especially liked the Q and A modules.

por Saman J A

19 de Jan de 2017

Loved it! Thank you so much! The case studies especially made it easier to understand and remember the diseases discussed.

por Ummulbaneen S

1 de Abr de 2020

My first course on c Coursera and I absolutely loved it! looking forward to learning more on this educational platform.

por Ronald P

26 de Jun de 2017

A wll-explained and interesting discussion of the problems of infectious diseases and our structures to deal with them.

por DEMIAN I M P

13 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course, I cannot stop thinking, how would the course be built nowadays, facing the COVID19 global pandemic

por Stacey K

14 de Mai de 2017

very enjoyable and informative. Should be taught at schools.

Thank you for fun and engaging additional reading links!

por Борис Ж

21 de Ago de 2020

Потрясающе увлекательный курс! Хотелось бы чуть больше математики, но в целом - просто потрясающе.

Спасибо огромное.

por Michael N

22 de Abr de 2020

Incredibly informative and extremely helpful in understanding the current COVID-19 pandemic from multiple angles.

por Pau F

17 de Abr de 2020

Great course! Very adviseable for everyone who is looking for courious information or further their knowdledge.

por Muhammad M

9 de Set de 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

por Jan C

12 de Abr de 2020

Interesting topic, great teachers! I would be glad if there is something more courses prepared by this team.

por Ana S V

14 de Jan de 2016

Un curso muy completo y educativo, en el que aprendes fácilmente conceptos, que a priori, no son triviales.

por Sabrina S S

25 de Set de 2016

Much more than I expected! I'm in love with this area! This team is awesome!

This couse is Career Changing!

por Helen B

9 de Abr de 2016

Excellent course - a great overview even for people new to the field. Great, entertaining lecture videos!

por Daniela R F

8 de Mai de 2020

It's a really complete course, it helped me a lot understandign different things during COVID pandemia.

por April J S

8 de Mai de 2020

I really enjoyed this prophetic course. It makes me even more curious to do more study in epidemiology.

por Pietro G

13 de Jun de 2020

Very interesting, a good course for beginners that offers a fairly comprehensive view of the subject.

por Sagnika P

27 de Dez de 2019

The course was very thorough and gave a much better understanding of the the basics of epidemiology.

por Marc B F

31 de Mar de 2018

Very interesting, covering a great diversity of topics inside the epidemics field and easy to follow

por Miss S K W

24 de Jun de 2017

This course was amazing! Everything is explained so well and laid out in such an accessible format!

por Flecher F

26 de Mar de 2020

very insightful and well designed course. I've learned a lot and got more interested in the topic.

por Rebecca C

4 de Ago de 2017

Excellent approach and base to get deep into the area.

I am looking for more courses like this one!