Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,113 classificações
287 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 282 Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por SUYEON B

Aug 08, 2019

Thank you all of the pfrofessors

Before entering my MPH course, I could grasp the concept of infectious disease control from your course. Thak you!

por Edgar Y C O

Aug 20, 2018

The best course that I made. I like the class and the simply of concepts related with the dynamics of epidemic. I congratulate to Professors team.

por Louise J D

Dec 01, 2015

I enjoyed taking this course so much. The professors and students were great. I look forward to taking additional courses on infectious diseases.

por TYANN B

Sep 27, 2015

I really enjoyed this course and I will use this knowledge in my personal interests of the ecology of food and waterborne infectious disease.

por Tsveta D

May 23, 2020

Great course, providing a lot of valuable information about infectious diseases and keeping the student engaged during the learning process!

por SUHOTRO G

May 28, 2020

Learned a lot with respect to different aspects about infectious diseases which has helped to put in perspective about the latest disease

por Deanna C

Jun 01, 2020

Enjoyed the process of learning about infectious diseases with this class as it is currently in unison with our fight against Covid-19.

por Camila S R

Mar 24, 2019

I really enjoyed all the topics! Getting to the end wishing to have an opportunity to talk to you again. Congratulations to all of you!

por Solomon A

May 27, 2020

This course laid a good foundation in infectious diseases form me. Very useful information it contains. Really enjoyed every session.

por Omer K

Jan 17, 2019

an excellent learning experience it was

i am glad that i will utilize this learning at masters level of my studies

thank you so much !

por Bertan A

Mar 30, 2017

I took this course out of the blue but in the end I really enjoyed it. Excellent for learning the new trends in epidemiology.

por Andrea N

Sep 22, 2015

Wonderfully informative, easy to understand and follow along. One of the most enjoyable courses I've taken through Coursera.

por Saman J A

Jan 19, 2017

Loved it! Thank you so much! The case studies especially made it easier to understand and remember the diseases discussed.

por Ummulbaneen S

Apr 01, 2020

My first course on c Coursera and I absolutely loved it! looking forward to learning more on this educational platform.

por Ronald P

Jun 26, 2017

A wll-explained and interesting discussion of the problems of infectious diseases and our structures to deal with them.

por Stacey K

May 14, 2017

very enjoyable and informative. Should be taught at schools.

Thank you for fun and engaging additional reading links!

por Борис Ж

Aug 03, 2020

Потрясающе увлекательный курс! Хотелось бы чуть больше математики, но в целом - просто потрясающе.

Спасибо огромное.

por Michael N

Apr 23, 2020

Incredibly informative and extremely helpful in understanding the current COVID-19 pandemic from multiple angles.

por Pau F M

Apr 17, 2020

Great course! Very adviseable for everyone who is looking for courious information or further their knowdledge.

por Muhammad M

Sep 09, 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

por Jan C

Apr 12, 2020

Interesting topic, great teachers! I would be glad if there is something more courses prepared by this team.

por Ana S

Jan 14, 2016

Un curso muy completo y educativo, en el que aprendes fácilmente conceptos, que a priori, no son triviales.

por Sabrina S S

Sep 25, 2016

Much more than I expected! I'm in love with this area! This team is awesome!

This couse is Career Changing!

por Helen B

Apr 09, 2016

Excellent course - a great overview even for people new to the field. Great, entertaining lecture videos!