Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,184 classificações
304 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtrar por:

276 — 299 de 299 Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por Nithyassree M

Aug 01, 2020

This is an extremely informative, easy to understand course that I will recommend to anyone that is interested in learning about epidemiology.

por Dr. K L

Aug 13, 2020

It was an informative course where we can learn from basics to modern infections that are damaging the host.overall a very great course

por Ediri M

Apr 09, 2017

Really interesting course if you want to be more informed about the dynamics of global disease transmission and emergency responses

por Chris J

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent big picture overview of epidemics with very knowledgeable faculty bringing a wealth of expertise to the course.

por Dwayne P

Oct 11, 2017

Thank you for all the effort the team put in to make this course. It is an amazing course, learnt so.

por JOHN Q

Sep 09, 2015

Nice course and extremely we'll presented. Cood ideas and the presenters also did a great job.

por Wojciech W

Feb 02, 2019

Very interesting course with many wonderful information presented in funny and engaging way.

por Mark

Feb 12, 2017

Very thorough and comprehensive course--all lessons are in easily-understandable English

por Christof S

Apr 09, 2020

the course and lecturers are very good, the means of interaction is limited though.

por Anais S

Jun 21, 2016

Some of the lectures were a little dull but the information was fantastic!

por Darla C

Apr 11, 2020

A few spelling errors and minor bibs in videos but overall very good

por Ryan R

Jan 25, 2016

The test difficulty was a lot easier than the actual course content.

por Alicia U V

Sep 29, 2015

Really good material. Lectures are fun to watch and easy to follow.

por Brendan T

Sep 21, 2016

Great course, will def be looking for more like this.

por drashti s

Aug 26, 2020

nice to learning about diseases

por Maria F S B

Mar 18, 2020

I loved the Course.

por Ritvik S S

Oct 25, 2015

very intresting

por Antonio B

Jun 04, 2017

very usefull

por CARLOS A P M

Aug 18, 2018

excelent

por Peter D

Sep 09, 2015

Was an interesting course but, at least to me, seemed to lack relevant material I was hoping for. When Addressing the concepts of Ebola, SARS, or the concepts of anti-vaccination the content was vague. But overall I thought the course was very informative on the concepts of how infections can spread and how we can track the movements in order to help control infection rates. I will definitely be going back to rewatch some of these lectures in the future.

por Rune B

Oct 11, 2015

Interesting introduction to the topic. Would be beneficial if the course could be expanded and a formal certificate could be obtained providing credits or official points.

por Heather S

Dec 01, 2016

It was an interesting class though the scale of difficulty was very low. I would improve this course by adding more technicalities.

por Shannon N

May 13, 2020

Course requires some updating since it was made.

por SARA G M H

Apr 04, 2020

Excellent course