Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,094 classificações
283 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 280 Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por David D

Apr 27, 2020

Great course! However I feel it is too basic. It would be great if you could create a more advanced version of it in which you include a bit more of the biological explanations of the phenomena you discuss along the course.

por Lorna M

Oct 20, 2015

Nice course. I sometimes wished the lectures had more in depth coverage of the material instead of so many "big picture" statements. But overall, the course was a nice overview of diseases. Thank you to the instructors!

por Mariana V

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic Course! great content and compelling presenters. It really opens your eyes to infectious diseases and all perspectives it braces, science, social aspects, biology, ecology. I recommend for bio/science folks.

por Dr.Suguna D

Oct 02, 2016

Of course, its a nice course but the calculations were little more for me to understand as I am a Medical doctor. I enjoyed the course. Thanks one and all for helping me to understand the course

por Viktor D

Apr 12, 2017

Very good, connected also to relatively recent outbreaks. Maybe some miniquiz/few question after each block would be nice to sum it up and help with preparing for quiz after whole week.

por Claire L M

May 03, 2020

Very interesting course that gives good basic knowledge on infectious diseases and epidemiology. Really enjoyed it and very relevant in the current context of COVID-19

Thank you!

por rydham g

Apr 30, 2020

The concepts are taught very well but felt that it was a bit superficial. They should go a bit deeper into each topic. Overall the course is very good

por Erik B

Jan 31, 2017

Pro: All topics seem to be covered, full overview of this field.

Con: Please, please, get rid of the childish drawings and get som serious artwork.

por Nithyassree

Aug 01, 2020

This is an extremely informative, easy to understand course that I will recommend to anyone that is interested in learning about epidemiology.

por Ediri M

Apr 09, 2017

Really interesting course if you want to be more informed about the dynamics of global disease transmission and emergency responses

por Chris J

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent big picture overview of epidemics with very knowledgeable faculty bringing a wealth of expertise to the course.

por Dwayne P

Oct 11, 2017

Thank you for all the effort the team put in to make this course. It is an amazing course, learnt so.

por JOHN Q

Sep 09, 2015

Nice course and extremely we'll presented. Cood ideas and the presenters also did a great job.

por Wojciech W

Feb 02, 2019

Very interesting course with many wonderful information presented in funny and engaging way.

por Mark

Feb 12, 2017

Very thorough and comprehensive course--all lessons are in easily-understandable English

por Christof S

Apr 09, 2020

the course and lecturers are very good, the means of interaction is limited though.

por Anais S

Jun 21, 2016

Some of the lectures were a little dull but the information was fantastic!

por Darla C

Apr 11, 2020

A few spelling errors and minor bibs in videos but overall very good

por Ryan R

Jan 25, 2016

The test difficulty was a lot easier than the actual course content.

por Alicia U V

Sep 29, 2015

Really good material. Lectures are fun to watch and easy to follow.

por Brendan T

Sep 21, 2016

Great course, will def be looking for more like this.

por Maria F S B

Mar 18, 2020

I loved the Course.

por Ritvik S S

Oct 25, 2015

very intresting

por Antonio B

Jun 04, 2017

very usefull

por CARLOS A P M

Aug 18, 2018

excelent