Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.7
710 classificações
168 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por Elize

Jan 30, 2018

The instructors state in the beginning, that they put a lot of effort into making this course fun... And it was! The course provides an overview on history of emergence and treatment of infectious diseases as well as developments and future considerations for prevention and treatment. The information is explained very well and supported by very entertaining animations, which help to memorize the course material. The additional readings and videos provided each week were informative and offered increased understanding of each topic. This was the 8th course I completed on Coursera, and eventhough I enjoyed all, this the only one I rated with 5 stars. Enjoy!

por alexander z

Nov 02, 2016

it's so great to study this course with such a comprehensive discussion of epidemics.

por mohrah m a

Mar 18, 2018

it was a pleasure for me to be a participant in that course, it was so useful and tremendous

por deuzuita b d m

Mar 06, 2016

it is good

por Devdatta T

Feb 02, 2016

Great course

Complex terms simplified and explained well by all professors.

por Colin J C G

Aug 16, 2015

Well devilered, interesting and engaging.

10/10, would learn again!

por Gina B

Oct 19, 2015

Really enjoyed the course format, information presented and the videos were fantastic. The discussions were lively and interesting as well . Had a great time learning about what may be the next big disaster heading our way!

por Omar A

Jan 07, 2016

A very informative and well made course. A big thanks :)

por Saman J A

Jan 19, 2017

Loved it! Thank you so much! The case studies especially made it easier to understand and remember the diseases discussed.

por Wenyi L

Jan 08, 2016

保证信息传达的同时,还非常生动有趣,是相当不错的课程!非常感谢老师们。在国外当老师好酷啊,还可以当各种电视剧、电影和游戏的顾问。

por Bhagwan D A

Feb 15, 2017

Another good course on Epidemiology!

por Andrea N

Sep 22, 2015

Wonderfully informative, easy to understand and follow along. One of the most enjoyable courses I've taken through Coursera.

por Lilly H

Aug 19, 2017

Really enjoyed this course & learned a lot!

por Daniela V D

Nov 09, 2016

I loved it! there are no words to describe how much this course has complemented my college education and how has change the idea i had about infectious diseases. Now i wish to continue the study of the Neglected tropical diseases and apply that knowledge in my country and community. Thanks a lot.

por Catherine C

Oct 14, 2016

Great for beginners and a good review of the basics!

por Louise J D

Dec 01, 2015

I enjoyed taking this course so much. The professors and students were great. I look forward to taking additional courses on infectious diseases.

por Nivetha R

Dec 20, 2015

Highly Informative.... good detailing right from basic concepts...

por 차정민

Aug 30, 2015

It is the most needed class.

por hoor u a r

Jan 30, 2016

interesting course

por Sara K

Apr 28, 2017

Loved it!

por Uener R d S

Jun 03, 2017

It's a great and interesting course. I recommend.

por Anna I

Nov 05, 2015

Excellent class with a rich variety of instructors from multidisciplinary array of fields, lots of extra information and pretty much any question answered!

por Kateryn E

Aug 24, 2017

Very interesting course.

por Maria M

Jan 15, 2017

Really enjoyed the variety contained within this course - thank you!

por gaobinn@yahoo.com

Apr 05, 2017

neat course by nice team